We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Break away”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Spent 2 nights here with mother and auntie (2 rooms) Very comfortable and clean. Staff friendly. We did not eat at the hotel so cant comment on that, but restaurant looked very nice. Hotel very conveniently situated for town centre and very easy to find. Good that we had parking and didnt have to worry about the car.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieCooper543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Very pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and I will pass on your kind comments to the all of the staff. Please keep an eye on our website for the many future events we have planned at the Grosvenor for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    692
    373
    134
    83
See reviews for
317
948
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here as a family with two kids, 5 & 10 in October 2012. I always want to stay centrally and no more so than in Stratford, but often find this is too expensive to do. On this occasion, we managed to get 2 nights for a reasonable price probably because it was a Thursday & Friday just BEFORE half term. Taking into account the breakfast and being freed of any worry or cost to park the car, this was even better value. No more than a couple of minutes walk and you are right in the heart of Stratford, I love a good location! Not only that, but the hotel itself is a warm and homely building, the room was fine and the big bonus was the breakfast. What a pleasant change to have a meal, appropriately portioned, but also cooked perfectly, to be served to your table. With the "cold" items laid out buffet style so that an element of filling your boots remained, this was just the right balance between the two more so because the quality of both was really high. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDJDCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Grosvenor. The staff all work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and will appreciate your kind comments. WE will be running many offers over the forth coming months perhaps we will see you again soon.
Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

went here for lunch on a groupon offer. overall, i was very impressed with the hotel, the staff, the food, and the restaurant.
the restaurant is very nicely furnished and decorated. the tables are well spread out and not on top of each other. there is a nice bright conservatory. the soft furnishings are very nice - it all looks quite opulent, but to be fair, it is a best western, so the overall impression was very good but i suspect not that high value.
the staff were very friendly especially our polish waiter . i didnt get his name, but he was very attentive polite and friendly.
the hotel likewise seems well furnished - the reception area is very impressive and the gents was very well finished and spotlessly clean.
the food was good - i had a caesar salad starter my friend had a ham terrine - theres a lot of that about at the moment !!! - then i had pan fried salmon served with crushed new potatoes and puy lentils, and my friend had neck of lamb which was said to be excellent. it certainly looked lean. my salmon was a bit dry and i suspect it was actually oven baked not pan fried...but...it was very tasty and quite dark which led me to suspect it was of good quality - not grey and fatty like a lot of farmed salmon.
so all in all, very impressed. but was the two course set lunch really £22 per person ??? because if so i suspect thats why there were only 2 other diners in for lunch that day. which is a shame as its a comfortable hotel serving decent food, that is well presented by friendly staff, and it deserves to be busier.....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to really review our restaurant. I will most certainly be passing on your comments to the Chef and his team and to all our waiting staff. We will be running a full restaurant calendar of events for 2013, which you will be able to view very shortly on our website.
Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just spent the weekend here. Great value for money. Centrally located to the town. Nice to be able to park car and leave it there for the duration of our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good quality rooms. Had continental breakfast - great value at £9.50 - very wide choice and certainly couldn't have got a full english down as well. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimpy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We try our upmost to ensure all our guests receive great value and great service during their stay with us, so it is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully I will be welcoming you back to the Grosvenor in the very near future. Our website will be very shortly showing the hotels events calendar for 2013.
Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I had to attend a works conference and could have booked into the Holiday Inn but decided this was cosier. Unlike other reviewers, I have to say that the staff are a credit to the hotel. They look smart, speak well and are extremely helpful. Our room was in the newer extension at the back and we have no complaints about it. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the river, theatre, shops etc. We did not have dinner but the breakfast was one of the nicest I have ever been served in any hotel. My wife usually eats a continental breakfast but when she saw my cooked breakfast she couldn't resist ordering one for herself. I should have taken a note of his name but the staff member on duty that day was a real gentleman. Lovely conservatory environment for breakfast. All in all, we wished we had been able to stay longer.Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to all the staff.

Forgot to mention that there is a leisure centre and pool just 2 minutes walk from hotel and guests get free use of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buchanan135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I booked a last minute break (late rooms) at a bargain price - £65 bed and breakfast. We arrived early and the receptionist was rather blunt simply saying no room would be available until 2pm. So we elected to leave our luggage and set off for town. Even that was a chore for the receptionist. The location is great - you can walk to all corners of Stratford from the hotel.
Next morning breakfast was very busy and once again the 2 young staff were probably stressed, but were not very friendly. Scrambled eggs were a little tasteless. On checkout the English receptionist was very friendly and courteous. It would have made such a difference if all the staff had been the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123mward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We thought this would be just an economical hotel but the position and comfort and services belied the price. We were fortunate to find a parking space in the hotel carpark by turning up early. The staff were polite,very friendly and professional. The highlight was the very reasonably priced breakfast which was excellent. We liked the position of the hotel best as it was so close the canals and the walking tour from the RSC frontage. Prefered it to hotels more central to town with the inherent traffic noise of those places. Well done Best Western

Room Tip: People warn of the limited carparking but there are car parks across the road and if timed properly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,775 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing