We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location for Stratford's sights. However, I couldn't recommend the hotel itself. Parking is limited and costs. If you can't get a space you have to park in a public car park. Not a problem unless you have lots of luggage or the weather is poor. Staff are friendly and welcoming but the room was very poor. A very small room and very hot too. The carpet was old and grimy, the fittings in the room were tatty. The bathroom was very poor. Cramped and smelly, the extractor was noisy and the door was cut two inches short so the ever-present damp smell reaches the main room. The tiles were grimy and one was cracked, the grout was mouldy in places, the shower head was so scaled the water dribbled out and the toilet cistern was wedged away from the wall by a plank of rough wood. Because the bathroom was so narrow, you almost step into the toilet when getting out of the shower! Breakfast was nice and the free wifi is useful. The hotel needs a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThorntonWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am sorry to learn that you stay with us has been anything less than perfect, please accept my apologies. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this allows us to identify any issues and work to constantly improve our hotel. Over the next year we will be staring bathroom refurbishment.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on a stopover to our holidays. A good location central to Stratford for seeing around the town. We often stay in Best Westerns but this was a bit disappointing. The room was very small for a double and a tortuous route from reception to get to it. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening - not an inspiring menu (chain restaurant style). Bar is a bit nondescript as a place to relax for a nightcap as well
Breakfast however was really good as were the staff at breakfast - very helpful and friendly.
Note - car parking is limited and you have to pay for the privilege - what's that all about when you've already paid for a room ??

Room Tip: Our room was in the modern extension and very small - try for a room in the old original building...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am sorry to learn that you stay with us not as pleasant as it may have been, please accept my apologies. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and I will be looking into all areas so as to improve things moving forward.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here a bit of a road trip to visit other places.

Hotel is in a very good location in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon, close to the Royal Shake sphere Company.

Hotel is a bit tired in places, parking on site but is limited, rooms are clean but bathrooms could do with updating.

Some rooms have Air Conditioning ours didn't and we did not have fans. Temp outside was around 36-28 degrees.

Did not eat in the hotel had breakfast in a nice cafe and had an evening meal in the Red Lion pud across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Air Conditioning of at least a fan
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Although we had stayed in an air conditioned room it was not cold enough. We had to use an elecric fan as well to keep the room cool.The chair under the desk was filthy and had not been cleaned.Unfortunley we did not notice this untill late in the evening when we went to sit down to drink our coffee. We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on this,

We wanted to suport the indepandant small local businesses in Stratford upon Avon and found a wonderfull local restaurant called Spoonfuls in Shrieves walk,sheep street, next to weatherspoons.We had a very enjoyable breakfast , I had a poached egg on buttered toast and my husband had Bacon with Fried Egg Bap . all local produce and at a very good price !! I would recomend having breakfast here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAP214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Visited Stratford upon Avon with my mum for 1 night during a real heat wave with 30 degrees C during the day and 20 at night time.

Overall, I found the hotel quite run down, especially bathroom with black tile joints, toilet flush not working properly & and extraction fan which did not take any of the stem away.

The training receptionist at check in could not read in the system that the rooms has already been paid for and wanted to authorise my card for payment.. I understand the learning process, it is just not very nice to have to explain you have already paid. At the check out, FOH manager wanted to charge us for parking - even though on the room card I filled in with check in there was no car option ticked and I did not include reg no ...

Breakfast though was sufficient, everything seemed fresh and tasty. restaurant staff were very polite and friendly.

I'm leaving the last to the end... We were allocated in a ground floor twin room. Windows in the rooms were our worst nightmare,a s they were an old type, where you could only lift a top part of the window. Which basically meant there was no air flow in the room at all (except when I opened the door to a hallway having other guests peeking into our room whilst passing).

For those who need air to breathe, and need cooling down after long day of waling around town in the heat, I advise to pay for premium rooms to have air conditioning, otherwise you may feel worse than in prison. Big Shame no extra fan provided, as this could have made it so much more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: in the summer choose a room with air conditioning
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I took my girlfriend there in July for afternoon tea the waiter who greeted us was very polite and helpful sorry cant remember his name, he showed us to our table & took our order, the food was lovely plenty to eat and very fresh tasting, the only concern I would voice is half way through our meal another waiter took over a foreign sounding gentleman and although at first was very helpful he never took away our used plates which you need when eating sandwiches and pastries, because of the various food types & didn't return to see if we required anything else until we had finished our meal whereas, the waiter tending the tables opposite regularly asked the customers if they wanted anything else and also bought clean plates and cutlery throughout the meal. the only slight on a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satch4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Some friends recommended their afternoon tea, so we tried it. It was FAB!
Very pleasant service, nothing too much trouble, e.g. change of tea if didn't like the one picked. Good variety of sandwiches and little cakes, choice of scones with everything you could want to go with them. We spent a very pleasant and relaxing couple of hours there and would recommend it to anyone. Choc fondue followed, but really we were full from the under £10 menu. Go try it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,765 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing