We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to stay in Stratford” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Place to stay in Stratford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is placed ideally for going to the Theatre or just generally roaming about Stratford.
The breakfast served is of not a bad standard, the room my friend and I had had no air conditioning and was on the ground floor with limited window opening so the room was a bit hot but otherwise ok. Parking at the hotel can be a problem especially with a 4*4 vehicle. One evening we returned and getting the room key was chaotic, no staff on reception and a huge queue.
Would use the hotel again but would ask for air con even if it cost a few extra pounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paratanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us, its great to see that it was a pleasant experience. I have noted your comments and will be looking into them.

Thank you for choosing Grosvenor Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    652
    350
    118
    71
See reviews for
297
897
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
327 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good, clean hotel. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Comfprtable rooms. A short walk down the canal from the centre of everything. Breakfast was the highlight of the visit -- a great full English. Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Grosvenor hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass your comments on to our breakfast team

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked the afternoon tea, and found it excellent value for money. There was a very good variety of sandwich fillings (and they were able to cater for dietary needs - fish allergy/kosher/no pork), and you not only get a selection of cakes, pastries, strawberries and cream, but two scones each as well. Although we ordered the "luxury" tea (with chocolate fountain) we were so full we just couldn't manage it - and the staff kindly took it off the bill. You are offered unlimited pots of tea from their selection (coffee is extra), and the staff are efficient and friendly.

The only downside is the hotel's car park - in a car larger than a hatchback it is extremely difficult to manoeuvre, made even more tricky when the car park is busy (don't even think about driving "round the corner" to see if there is more space behind - there isn't!!) However, everything is so central, you can park in the town centre and stroll.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Yep car parking is a little tight, but the tea hopefully makes up for it.!!!

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in an executive room,the hotel is very central & only a 5 minute walk to the river.Our room was very comfortable & very clean,we loved having air con.The only bad thing we found is that the room should have complimentary apples & we didn't even have one.The staff were friendly & helpful & let us leave the car at the hotel for a couple of hours after we had signed out so we could do some more sightseeing.We would visit this hotel again & recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SASHA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grosvenor Hotel and taking the time to review your stay. It is great to see that you stay with us was enjoyable and the service you received was excellent. We value your feedback and will use it to constantly improve and develop the service and experience we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location for Stratford's sights. However, I couldn't recommend the hotel itself. Parking is limited and costs. If you can't get a space you have to park in a public car park. Not a problem unless you have lots of luggage or the weather is poor. Staff are friendly and welcoming but the room was very poor. A very small room and very hot too. The carpet was old and grimy, the fittings in the room were tatty. The bathroom was very poor. Cramped and smelly, the extractor was noisy and the door was cut two inches short so the ever-present damp smell reaches the main room. The tiles were grimy and one was cracked, the grout was mouldy in places, the shower head was so scaled the water dribbled out and the toilet cistern was wedged away from the wall by a plank of rough wood. Because the bathroom was so narrow, you almost step into the toilet when getting out of the shower! Breakfast was nice and the free wifi is useful. The hotel needs a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorntonWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am sorry to learn that you stay with us has been anything less than perfect, please accept my apologies. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this allows us to identify any issues and work to constantly improve our hotel. Over the next year we will be staring bathroom refurbishment.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on a stopover to our holidays. A good location central to Stratford for seeing around the town. We often stay in Best Westerns but this was a bit disappointing. The room was very small for a double and a tortuous route from reception to get to it. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening - not an inspiring menu (chain restaurant style). Bar is a bit nondescript as a place to relax for a nightcap as well
Breakfast however was really good as were the staff at breakfast - very helpful and friendly.
Note - car parking is limited and you have to pay for the privilege - what's that all about when you've already paid for a room ??

Room Tip: Our room was in the modern extension and very small - try for a room in the old original building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am sorry to learn that you stay with us not as pleasant as it may have been, please accept my apologies. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and I will be looking into all areas so as to improve things moving forward.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here a bit of a road trip to visit other places.

Hotel is in a very good location in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon, close to the Royal Shake sphere Company.

Hotel is a bit tired in places, parking on site but is limited, rooms are clean but bathrooms could do with updating.

Some rooms have Air Conditioning ours didn't and we did not have fans. Temp outside was around 36-28 degrees.

Did not eat in the hotel had breakfast in a nice cafe and had an evening meal in the Red Lion pud across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Air Conditioning of at least a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing