We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuffy rooms but good price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stuffy rooms but good price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here over night recently and compared to other places we have stayed in the past it just didn't cut it.. To start with we got into our room and were pleased with the bed size and comfort, plonked our bags down and went to put the TV on.. then discovered we had no remote control. So I we had to go down to reception to ask for one- to be fair- they were quick at finding us a working one. My biggest pet hate about this hotel was the heat!! it was so stuffy.. No air conditioning, tiny window, I was sweating the entire time. The bathroom was a decent size with a bath and shower and the room came with a sofa and wardrobe. Just to top off my night of not being able to sleep because of the heat, they decided to have a fire drill at 6am. Was not impressed. I know such things are essential but a little later would not have hurt. On the whole, comfort wise, this place is average despite the beds being lovely to sleep on! Great if you want to be close to the city center and don't mind a stuffy room! On the upside, it was cheap so can you really complain?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if possible as front bedrooms face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAABOOMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us, sadly because we are a Listed building, we are unable to install air conditioning in all our rooms. So sorry that your TV remote was not in your room on arrival, please that it was resolved quickly. the fire alarm going off is not usual at this hour a fire glass was accidently broken , thus starting the alarm, my apologies.,

Thank you for choosing the Grosvenor Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    655
    351
    118
    71
See reviews for
297
901
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a single night to see Stratford, the location of the hotel is great and right in the centre of town. Family room was clean enough although a bit dated. Only problem was, the rooms are advertised as air conditioned and it is not often that you need it in England but at the moment you do, our room was baking hot, the air conditioning was a small fan and the window. If you opened the window you got all the road noise, with it shut and the secondary double glazing you did not but this meant that you cooked ! The car parking is also, interesting, we had to come back twice in the morning of arrival to find a space which meant we had to pay in local car parks until we could get in the hotel one, then they charge you £3, bit of a cheek really, all they have to do is take your car reg and residents should be able to park for free.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Portchester-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us, sadly because we are a Listed building, we are unable to install air conditioning in all our rooms. Parking is a little tight, but is only reserved for residents and you can leave your car all day on your day of departure to finish wondering through Stratford for free.

Thank you for choosing the Grosvenor Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Best Western is in a ideal place for doing everything, eating drinking shopping and site seeing,
Super breakfast to keep you going, friendly staff, clean room, asked for a fan and got one, shame not a nice view from window, but soon got over that, don't live in the room, to much to do.
We managed to park ok and paid £3 a day, it was worth it, close to walk to Shakespeare theatres and homes, we went to the Attic theatre, and the performance of a midsummers night dream was brilliant, loved it, Plenty of pubs and places to eat, and quite reasonable in price. we liked the Rose and crown, red Lion, Lazy Cow, not there long enough to try all, I do hear the Best Western does a good afternoon tea, we didn't get around to it, Boat ride on Avon, 40 mins £5 a adult a lovely ride, enjoyed it, but we did have super weather, whole experience was super, and will be back very soon to do what we didn't have time to do this time, loved the friendliness where ever we went.

Room Tip: no tip , we did ask for nice view as it was our 39th anniversary, but not a nice view in 232 but roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillhking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Grosvenor Hotel, I am very pleased to that you enjoyed your stay with us. Stratford does have a lot to offer. We are finding that our afternoon tea is becoming very popular, perhaps when you return we can book you in.

Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is placed ideally for going to the Theatre or just generally roaming about Stratford.
The breakfast served is of not a bad standard, the room my friend and I had had no air conditioning and was on the ground floor with limited window opening so the room was a bit hot but otherwise ok. Parking at the hotel can be a problem especially with a 4*4 vehicle. One evening we returned and getting the room key was chaotic, no staff on reception and a huge queue.
Would use the hotel again but would ask for air con even if it cost a few extra pounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paratanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us, its great to see that it was a pleasant experience. I have noted your comments and will be looking into them.

Thank you for choosing Grosvenor Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
327 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good, clean hotel. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Comfprtable rooms. A short walk down the canal from the centre of everything. Breakfast was the highlight of the visit -- a great full English. Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Grosvenor hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass your comments on to our breakfast team

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked the afternoon tea, and found it excellent value for money. There was a very good variety of sandwich fillings (and they were able to cater for dietary needs - fish allergy/kosher/no pork), and you not only get a selection of cakes, pastries, strawberries and cream, but two scones each as well. Although we ordered the "luxury" tea (with chocolate fountain) we were so full we just couldn't manage it - and the staff kindly took it off the bill. You are offered unlimited pots of tea from their selection (coffee is extra), and the staff are efficient and friendly.

The only downside is the hotel's car park - in a car larger than a hatchback it is extremely difficult to manoeuvre, made even more tricky when the car park is busy (don't even think about driving "round the corner" to see if there is more space behind - there isn't!!) However, everything is so central, you can park in the town centre and stroll.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Yep car parking is a little tight, but the tea hopefully makes up for it.!!!

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in an executive room,the hotel is very central & only a 5 minute walk to the river.Our room was very comfortable & very clean,we loved having air con.The only bad thing we found is that the room should have complimentary apples & we didn't even have one.The staff were friendly & helpful & let us leave the car at the hotel for a couple of hours after we had signed out so we could do some more sightseeing.We would visit this hotel again & recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SASHA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grosvenor Hotel and taking the time to review your stay. It is great to see that you stay with us was enjoyable and the service you received was excellent. We value your feedback and will use it to constantly improve and develop the service and experience we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing