We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On Sunday I had pre booked 3 rooms at stratford grosvener hotel on arrival we had just had a phone call from our friends in wales saying they would not be able to come as Margaret was. Poorly when she woke up Sunday morning, so on arrival we informed the receptionist but of course she said as I had already paid she could not refund the one room, quite sad really as to me I felt a little let down by the hotel especially as we spent quite a bit of cash on meals and drink, I know rules are rules but in this instant would have thought common sense might prevail, however in did know the rules and maybe you could contact me, yours Bryan jackson

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments, I will most certainly take them on board for the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We only went for the afternoon tea, and the hotel is in a great location. The reception staff were great, shame the same cant be said about our waiter. He was rude, talked over us and it took 4 times of reminding just to be brought a drink! The manager sorted it out but we were there as a large group for a special occasion and his attitude just wasn't acceptable.
BUT the sandwiches were nice (not a great selection though) and the cakes were ok. It was expensive for what it was, and there are so many other tea shops that will probably be much better, I'd recommend trying those!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Laura_DFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

. I am extremely disappointed that your afternoon tea was not an enjoyable experience; we pride ourselves on offering possibly one of the best afternoon teas in Stratford as many of our previous reviews highlight. My apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Arrived 14:20 on 4th April 2014 and there were quiet a few booking in for some sort of wedding or conference, but we were dealt with in a few minutes and with ten minutes of arring were in our room.

We had room 211 which is a small basic room, bed, couple of side units, a small wardrobe [no could get get to Narnia in this one either], and the television; bathroom and shower also. This room is situated on the side of the building and underneath is the car park, staff entrance and a few small noiseless fans.

We had a good nights kip, television worked fine, as did the ketteln and the nice array of hot drinks available on the tray one could brew. On arrival the room was clean and tidy.

Bad sides: There seemed to be some sort of 'vibrating' noise that kept coming and going, was not to bad, and after circa 21:00 it disappeared altogether until circa 06:00 this morning [5th April]. The shower worked fine but there is a twisty knob thing atthced which was a bit loose and needed tightening up - I think it work the plug. I would have given full marks but for these two minor problems.

There is a £3 parking fee, but what is £3 when in all of the Best Westerns I have stayed in in Canada and America charge $20+ a night, so £3 was cheap.

Departing was done within a coule of minutes

Note: This hotel is situated on a one way system so dependent on the road you enter Stratford on, then you may find your self being on The Magic Roundabout for a couple of trips until you figure out the stupid road lane markings.

You are within a ten minute walk to Shakespears birthplace, another ten or so to the church where he is buried, and within a coule of minutes to the RSC and canal area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJoanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for posting your comments they are all greatly appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights from 24th March. Room lovely, staff most helpful. Only downside was the chicken dish served on the first night was inedible for at least four people in the group. The maître d got in a strop when we complained about the badly cooked meal. Meat looked undercooked and there was blood from it on my plate. We went to bed hungry although he offered to have the meal cooked again for us. The hotel, however, made sure our meals on the following two nights were up to the standard expected and, in fact, the pork main course served on the last night was absolutely delicious. Thank you, Grosvenor Hotel, for making amends and thanks to the rest of your staff for looking after us so well throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lattedrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thankyou for your comments, I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your first nights evening meal, but very pleased to see that we made amen’s and you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel is very close to the centre of Stratford and as with most Best Westerns it is good, clean and welcoming.....even if there was a fairly noisy wedding on that day.....

Some may complain that it is not 5 star....but like all Best Westerns - it doesn't set out to be that.

Good quality and dependable at a reasonable price - what more do you want??

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard195418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review, your comments are greatly appreciated and spot on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My sis and I took mother to Stratford on avon for her 80th birthday treat. the hotel was perfect for our needs and mothers. The hotel is very near the high street so perfectly placed, the rooms are clean & tidy, the staff are lovely and the brekkie was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review, it is greatly appreciated by all of us. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our second year at this hotel for Mothers day afternoon tea.

on arrival I did notice that it was not as busy as our previous visit.

The room we were dining in was tired even though it seemed to have been decorated since last year.The wall paper was coming away from the walls and the chairs were not as comfortable.

We chose our tea lots of varietys to try and the first teapot I had was nice..
the 2nd pot was weak as if the tea bags had been re used.

The menu arrives and I could see the sandwich choice had been cut down.. there was salmon which im not that keen on and didnt seem we could swap one for another.

Afternoon tea arrived on lovely stands .. well sandwiches had been made a while before and were dry.. more sandwiches would have been nice less cakes..

Some of the cakes had no taste and we even left some!

Chocolate fondue was nice but would have been nice with different fruits not just banana..
marshmallows were very nice however coverd in thick warm chocolate.

Think next year will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Very sorry to hear that you did not find your afternoon tea vist as enjoyable as last year. I will be looking into all of your comments. Once again my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £52 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing