We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleeping in a sauna!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed just one night at the hotel. Location and breakfast was good but our room was so very small with far too much furniture and so very, very warm! It had a sash window which when we tried to open it more than the 6inches, it dropped and shut completely. The towel rail came on in the bathroom when the light was on and because the roomwas so small it became unbearable. We removed the thick quilt from its cover and tried to sleep under that! When we complained the next morning we were told there was a fan in the wardrobe (which was not obvious). Maybe they should have set it up in the room. So we suggest if you are put in room 207, ask for another room-we regret not making a fuss when we checked in, a lesson learnt!

Room Tip: Not room 207!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I am very sorry that you found your room uncomfortable due to the warm weather.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Positives - staff are friendly and helpful, lobby and bar are nicely decorated, close to theatre and river and car park is very cheap.
Negatives - room was small, it needed a face lift and we could hear people arguing all night, turning on taps etc - the walls are thin!
We got the hotel through an good price deal but is certainly not worth a full price stay.

Room Tip: Okay for a cheap overnight theatre break stay if you can get a deal.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review I will pass your thanks to all of our staff. I take on board your comments. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

There are things to like about this hotel, it's an interesting building and it's close to the theatre. However, there are downsides as well. The obvious one is that though the hotel has an early dinner for those going to a play, they serve it very slowly. We just managed to get through ours, after a bit of prompting, but 2 couples walked out without their dessert. The staff do tell you you can prebook the dessert and have it once you get back but they seem to assume you'll do that anyway and that's too late for us. Also, they forgot to order the taxi we'd asked for.

The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, being three houses knocked into one. There's no lift and the stairs are narrow, steep and twisty without actually having character. (Apparently there are rooms suitable for wheelchair users.) The room was pleasant but noisy because of the main road. However, there was an efficient fan to deal with the heat. There is also plenty of parking, though they do charge by the day for that.

Altogether, we might go back but only if we were offered a very good deal.

Room Tip: A room at the back might be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will be looking into all of your comments.
KInd Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights for a ladies masonic weekend, evening meal was a served in the ballroom, was so disappointed vegetable not cooked, pork portions were small, no apple sauce, no crackling . Only two people serving so had to wait for a long time to be served. Room adequate just bear essentials no air conditioning, room very hot. One could feel the bed springs needs a top cover, did not sleep at all well. Hatted the idea of having to pay £6 for parking, said it was to cover staff costs. Will not be back nor can I recommend it.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlightyMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments whilst yours are somewhat negative, never the less I appreciate you doing so. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for your disappointment and hold our hands up and say we got it wrong this time. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked this hotel as it looked like it was a great central location for our family visit to Stratford. Unfortunately before we went my husband managed to break his leg and so I had to contact the hotel to ask for an accessible room which they advised was no problem. Upon arrival we found our accessible room had 4 steps to get to which is difficult to manage in a wheelchair! We also found that at around 5.50am each morning we were woken up by staff wheeling trolleys of laundry passed our window. We had to keep the windows open as the room was stuffy and no air conditioning. The room facilities were adequate. I spoke to the receptionist to arrange breakfast for the following day and have never been treated in such a rude manner. She was very terse and it was obviously too much trouble for her to respond in a polite and professional manner! The breakfast buffet was fine, the cooked breakfast was disappointing - the beans were congealed, the bacon very fatty and the sausage had a lump of gristle in it. Also a glass of wine in the bar was £6.50. The location is very good but after my experience in this hotel I will not be booking with Best Western again.

Room Tip: Room 166 is stuffy and noisy and not wheelchair accessible
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnsdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I will be looking into all of your comments.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. First choice was one of the two Premier Inns but both full. Paid £116 for room only (no breakfast). First think to be 'told' on arriving was that if we book the breakfast NOW it will be £5.80 per person. If not pre-booked and decide on the morning it will cost you £16.00 per person! Great customer relations!!! We didn't bother with either and had a splendid breakfast in the town for less than half the price.
The room so tiny and very hot, even with the windows open. Then on checking out wanted £3.00 for the parking! (Ouch!) With most hotels of this type, it is tired and in need of a referb.
Only stay here when you really cannot get into the more modern, and considerably less expensive, more comfortable Premier Inn.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank gonromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I appreciate all comments that are posted and will be reviewing yours in some detail.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I didn't stay there but it was very pleasant for afternoon tea. A nice selection of finger sandwiches, cakes and small scones, together with a chocolate dipping fondue. That's not to forget your choice of teas! Well worth it for £13.50 plus a glass of bubbly if you choose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevandjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Our Afternoon Teas are becoming ever popular and I really appreciate your kind comments. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing