We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nothing that we read on the hotel's web site was accurate. This hotel is badly in need of refurbishment. The decor is really very basic and rather worn. Though our room was not small, as others have described, it's decor was non-existent and did not provide a warm or welcoming feeling. Guests should be warned, by the way, that the hotel has no elevator, and we didn't see anyone available to get our luggage to the room. An older hotel can have charm . . . this one simply is old. Advance correspondance with the hotel was extremely gracious . . . which made the hotel's appearance all the more of a shock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gortwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review, not as positive as I would have liked, and sadly we cannot please everyone. Our public areas have been recently been refurbished, this includes the bar/ lounge areas, restaurant and drawing room. Our reception will be completed by mid July. We will be commencing on bathrooms shortly. We are unable to install a lift as we are a listed property. As you will see from many of our reviews the hotel is often described as friendly offering great service.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    664
    353
    122
    74
See reviews for
301
911
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Good points were, we got a decent deal, and the building in parts has character, unfortunately the bad points outweigh. The room was tired and dated, the bed so uncomfortable it was only surpassed by the noise of the generator next to it. The room information stated how to use the air con but when I went to reception to say it wasn't working I was told the room didn't have air con and they would speak to the manager (never heard anything more). We booked afternoon tea and were the only people having it but we were seated at the hottest table with the sun blazing through the window making it so uncomfortable while staff busied themselves around us preparing for evening dinner, although the waiter was lovely (the nicest one we came across). There was one waitress at morning breakfast redoing her pony tail at the mirror in the dining room, not very hygienic flicking long hair around food and tables! The breakfast was barely cooked and eggs had to be sent back on two occasions to be cooked, everyone cottoned on and asked for bacon and sausage to be well done in order for it to be cooked. The dinner we had was edible but certainly not a standard you would expect from the hotel advertisements. Throughout our stay (3 nights) the staff made no conversation, maybe down to the fact english is not their first language, but they are abrupt and sometimes rude. There is no atmosphere in this hotel at all and after dinner the bar is full of people playing cards and dominos. You cannot beat the position of the hotel for convenience and unlike other reviewers I didn't mind paying for the car park but we won't return until rooms/beds/food have been improved and staff attitude sorted with customer services training.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, I take on board all reviews whether negative or positive and will be addressing you points. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed just one night at the hotel. Location and breakfast was good but our room was so very small with far too much furniture and so very, very warm! It had a sash window which when we tried to open it more than the 6inches, it dropped and shut completely. The towel rail came on in the bathroom when the light was on and because the roomwas so small it became unbearable. We removed the thick quilt from its cover and tried to sleep under that! When we complained the next morning we were told there was a fan in the wardrobe (which was not obvious). Maybe they should have set it up in the room. So we suggest if you are put in room 207, ask for another room-we regret not making a fuss when we checked in, a lesson learnt!

Room Tip: Not room 207!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am very sorry that you found your room uncomfortable due to the warm weather.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Positives - staff are friendly and helpful, lobby and bar are nicely decorated, close to theatre and river and car park is very cheap.
Negatives - room was small, it needed a face lift and we could hear people arguing all night, turning on taps etc - the walls are thin!
We got the hotel through an good price deal but is certainly not worth a full price stay.

Room Tip: Okay for a cheap overnight theatre break stay if you can get a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review I will pass your thanks to all of our staff. I take on board your comments. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

There are things to like about this hotel, it's an interesting building and it's close to the theatre. However, there are downsides as well. The obvious one is that though the hotel has an early dinner for those going to a play, they serve it very slowly. We just managed to get through ours, after a bit of prompting, but 2 couples walked out without their dessert. The staff do tell you you can prebook the dessert and have it once you get back but they seem to assume you'll do that anyway and that's too late for us. Also, they forgot to order the taxi we'd asked for.

The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, being three houses knocked into one. There's no lift and the stairs are narrow, steep and twisty without actually having character. (Apparently there are rooms suitable for wheelchair users.) The room was pleasant but noisy because of the main road. However, there was an efficient fan to deal with the heat. There is also plenty of parking, though they do charge by the day for that.

Altogether, we might go back but only if we were offered a very good deal.

Room Tip: A room at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will be looking into all of your comments.
KInd Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blighty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights for a ladies masonic weekend, evening meal was a served in the ballroom, was so disappointed vegetable not cooked, pork portions were small, no apple sauce, no crackling . Only two people serving so had to wait for a long time to be served. Room adequate just bear essentials no air conditioning, room very hot. One could feel the bed springs needs a top cover, did not sleep at all well. Hatted the idea of having to pay £6 for parking, said it was to cover staff costs. Will not be back nor can I recommend it.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlightyMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments whilst yours are somewhat negative, never the less I appreciate you doing so. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for your disappointment and hold our hands up and say we got it wrong this time. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked this hotel as it looked like it was a great central location for our family visit to Stratford. Unfortunately before we went my husband managed to break his leg and so I had to contact the hotel to ask for an accessible room which they advised was no problem. Upon arrival we found our accessible room had 4 steps to get to which is difficult to manage in a wheelchair! We also found that at around 5.50am each morning we were woken up by staff wheeling trolleys of laundry passed our window. We had to keep the windows open as the room was stuffy and no air conditioning. The room facilities were adequate. I spoke to the receptionist to arrange breakfast for the following day and have never been treated in such a rude manner. She was very terse and it was obviously too much trouble for her to respond in a polite and professional manner! The breakfast buffet was fine, the cooked breakfast was disappointing - the beans were congealed, the bacon very fatty and the sausage had a lump of gristle in it. Also a glass of wine in the bar was £6.50. The location is very good but after my experience in this hotel I will not be booking with Best Western again.

Room Tip: Room 166 is stuffy and noisy and not wheelchair accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnsdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I will be looking into all of your comments.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing