We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome, nice clean exec room. Air con didn't work but it was fixed very quickly when we reported it. We asked for a sheet as the duvet would have been too hot and this was quickly provided. Really soft bed so not a very comfortable night which is a shame as the room was quite cool. We had a really lovely cooked breakfast and the service was great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Great to see you had such an enjoyable weekend, I will pass on your kind comments to all involved, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    679
    364
    127
    76
See reviews for
310
927
43
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A really nice hotel, with loads of character dating from the Georgian/Victorian era. Excellent breakfast, plenty of choice. The staff were friendly, the rooms well furnished, but we stayed in warm weather and the bedrooms really could have done with air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review, very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. This year has been particularly warm and whilst we supply fans in every room, the style and age of our building sadly does not allow for us to install AC in all rooms. We do have a number of rooms that are air conditioned. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I cannot say enough good about the Best Western Grosvenor Hotel. This was my second stay on the property, and it lasted from Thursday, May 29th until Sunday, June 1st. (I first stayed here the year before.) My first floor room was fantastic. It was perfectly sized for one person and the décor was warm and inviting. When I wasn't out and about exploring Stratford-upon-Avon or catching a play at the RSC complex, I was reading novels to my heart's content in the cozy space. The bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was well-appointed with all the best amenities. The hotel staff were awesome. I was particularly impressed with their willingness to schedule a cab for me upon my arrival at the Stratford-upon-Avon train station from London. As an American without cell phone service in the UK, it was really nice to not have to worry about how in the heck I was going to make my way across town. The BW Grosvenor is also perfectly situated for walking trips around Stratford. Both the Royal Shakespeare Company theatres and the center of town itself were less than a 10 minute walk away. So very convenient for those who do not wish to drive about after arriving. Do enjoy!

Room Tip: My 1st floor (I think folks in the UK may refer to this as the ground floor) room was at the very ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests and all of us here at the Grosvenor greatly appreciate, you taking the time to post your review. Can we expect to see you again next year?. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Grosvenor for a weekend of Shakespeare at the RSC. Very good location about 5 mins max walk into town..plenty of parking and staff very friendly.had a basic double but very clean and decent size

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review, greatly appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea at the Grosvenor Hotel. This was a birthday treat which was purchased via LivingSocial. The receptionist was very helpful and directed us to the Garden Room for our tea, the staff were welcoming with nothing being too much trouble, the tea itself was fabulous and seemed never ending. We were not rushed in any way. I would recommend the afternoon tea to everyone, it would be a perfect ending to a day out in Stratford-Upon-Avon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandie941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
So very pleased you enjoyed your afternoon with us, Please tell all your fiends. See you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rooms are small but fairly comfortable, however showering is a nightmare if you weigh more than 7 stone as the shower curtain is set six inches in from the edge of the bath tub,meaning you are fighting off the shower curtain all the time you are showering.

We had a meal deal included in our weekend package. The evening meal was OK, but portions were fairly small, and the meal was rather spoiled by a very smelly man at the next table (obviously not the hotels fault!)

Breakfast on Saturday was OK, but on Sunday it was a total shambles. There had been a wedding on Saturday and obviously many of the guests had stayed over. It took 15 minutes for a table to be found for us, despite several tables being empty but dirty, and despite being asked if we wanted tea or coffee none was forthcoming until I reminded a member of staff. No one came to take our order for breakfast, until I managed to attract a waitresses attention. Basically they didn't seem able to cope with the number of patrons.

Car parking on site at £3 per day, but would advise getting there early as there aren't many spaces.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post you comments, I will most definitely take them on board.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second experience having afternoon tea and both were enjoyable. There was a good selection of treats and the staff were helpful and friendly (e.g. providing a cushion for our three year old to help him reach the table better). It's easier and cheaper to book direct (or through the afternoon tea website) rather than using a voucher. The best bit is the location as we could leave the car whilst we went for a walk to feed the ducks/go shopping.

They could do with adding a proper nappy bin in the baby changing room rather than just having a small bin as I changed our baby three times that day and the bin hadn't been emptied at all!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Buzzyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review, our Afternoon Teas are very popular and great value. Your nappy tip
is a good idea. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing