We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - except for car parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    690
    373
    134
    83
See reviews for
316
947
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall the room was ok but needs a bit of tlc. We paid for an executive room and got room 108. I wouldn't recommend bothering paying for more if you're given this room. If I had been there more than 1 night I would have asked to be moved. The room is right next to the stairs up to the 1st floor, a main through door, the bar and a cleaning/ kitchen area. Not very glamorous and very noisy. A shame as my partner and I went away to get a good nights sleep and rest and we didn't get it here. These things are important. It was the first time we had been away since our baby was born last august. Being shoved under the stairs/ next to the cleaning area didn't make me feel special or a valued customer. Breakfast was tasty, but extremely tiny and over priced. Parking is a nightmare on site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Anne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments I will be looking into them. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a weekend in August when all the guesthouses and b&bs of Stratford were already fully booked.
-way overpriced and impersonal.
-uncomfortable bed with a synthetic duvet that was not even a little bit plump and a very soft mattress that left my back aching the next day.
-the bath tub was so small that it was a bit exaggerated to call it a bath, I'd rather call it an inconvenient shower with a clamy shower curtain that will attack you.
- despite a ridiculously expensive price, there was no biscuits in the room and only some cheap tea and coffee, no shower hats (not that I have a particular interest in shower hats but for the price... you'd expect a little SOMETHING!).
- breakfast was no better: pouring cheap orange juice from concentrate into fancy jugs does not make it fresh, there were no baked beans with the full English breakfast, my poached egg was hard boiled and the coffee tasted stale.
-We felt slightly uneasy when we found a bible in one of the drawers. We do not appreciate trying to be evangelised like that. (How about you kept a stash of bibles at reception and gave one out to people who actually wanted one?)
-All in all, it's an OK hotel... for £40 a night max. £130 is waaaay exaggerated!

On the plus side, staff were really nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice et A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but all comments are accepted and actioned.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This afternoon my mother and I visited for afternoon tea and it couldn't have been better. Firstly, the waiter set a table for us that was easier for my mother to get to and it was no trouble for him to do so. The tea was beautiful, great selection of very fresh sandwiches and lovely selection of cakes and scones. Plenty of choice of teas, beautifully served and replenished when needed. Excellent staff who just couldn't be faulted and all at a very sensible price. We will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
So very please to see you enjoyed your afternoon tea so much. I will ensure that both the Chef and Mark are told how much you enjoyed your afternoon. See you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, Middx,United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just like to say that we have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is clean, food is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is in an excellent location, few minutes walk from the town centre. Only drawback is if you have a room on the front, then the main road can be noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but do overlook the car park. Unfortunately this hotel does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for kind review, It is greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Grosvenor, hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Quite nice food. Breakfast was nice. Room was ok but bathroom was in need of a refit. We ordered room service which was better than the meal in the restaurant. Parking cramped on places. A little expensive for what it was overall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review all comments are greatly appreciated. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Tea is served in beautiful light and airy drawing room. Fabulous choice of leaf teas, and no problems about having a second pot. Finger sandwiches, egg & cress, smoked salmon, cheddar & tomato, cucumber & soft cheese. Two mini scones with clotted cream and jam, mini tartlets, sponge cake, macaroons, blancmange AND then a chocolate fondue with mini doughnuts, fresh strawberries and marshmallows. just too much to eat. And a glass of fizzy white wine.
Excellent service. Definitely felt looked after and that we were valued guests.
Simply lovely.

Room Tip: didn't sleep here, just had the afternoon tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a lovely review, many thanks. Our Chef puts a great deal of care in to his afternoon teas. I will ensure that he is made aware. See you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing