We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISIT FIR. IRRHDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“VISIT FIR. IRRHDAY”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked a table in the restaurant for my birthday today. Although there is a car park it was very small and chaotic.....couldn't park. Tried to exit only to find the exit was blocked by a member of staff!! Jumped out of the car and went to Reception and explained we couldn't get out of the car park, but attitude of Receptionist was not good.

The atmosphere in hotel was ok and the garden dining room was pleasant. We were disappointed with the menu to be honest. We ordered soup to start that was delicious. However to our horror the main courses were served on big wooden boards, similar to a bread board. I had place which quite frankly was very bland. Served on,y with 4 new potatoes and a couple of broccoli spears. My husband had steak, but it was dry and very little of it. Deserts selection was very limited. I had rice pudding which was ok and my husband ended up with cheese and crackers.

If only they could get the menu right and serve on china instead of wood it would make all the difference. Boards in a out are bad enough but not expected in a hotel. Food goes cold,they are not, in our opinion as hygienic as China and must be very heavy and I practical to the waiting staff.

Come on Grosvenor you can do a lot better than that surely!

Room Tip: Check the menu before you sit down........lots of better places to eat in Stratford upon Avon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIDENT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I will off course look into all your points.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    692
    375
    134
    83
See reviews for
317
950
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff seemed to not understand what I said. I had to repeat myself many times and often gave up trying to explain. We did not feel comfortable in this hotel. They also seemed to be too busy to deal with my concerns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank mseg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I will be looking into your concerns, but it is very unusual that I receive any negative comments, regarding our staff.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have just arrived back from a delightful weekend at Stratford Upon Avon. The Grosvenor hotel is in a good location and the attractions are just a 10 minute walk away. The staff were friendly and rooms were clean but a little tired looking. The room was very hot in the night and we had to open the window.

Be warned the parking is on a first come first served basis. We were lucky to get a space, however there were some very angry guests who hadn't got a space.

There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but it would have been nice to have hot chocolate and some biscuits.

All in all we had a lovely time staying at this hotel and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyAppleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I will ensure all our staff are thanked. We do advertise on all our websites and within our reservation paperwork that we do have limited parking.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have stayed at a lot of Best western Hotels & usually have a superior room but none available this time so the room we had was very small & in need of decorating but it was at the back of the hotel & was very quiet which was good, the breakfast was great & the staff very good would stay again but try for a superior room next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank SamNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very friendly staff very help full, food was excellent, room were very nice,and the beds not bad at all.and in walking distance to the town.we were there for 4 night. and the wfi worked in the room as well that was great did,et have to go to the foyer to use the internet

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinerix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for kind review, I will pass on your comments to our staff.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night, overall I was very satisfied, room was nice, staff very friendly, great location within walking distance of Royal Shakespeare Theatre, on site car parking charged at £3 a day. Minus points, no baked beans on the breakfast which I can never understand as they are such a cheap item and make a massive difference, drinks in bar very expensive but there is a nice pub over the road which is reasonable. Summing up, I would recommend staying here and would definately stay again but would not drink in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review, your points are appreciated and actioned. Hope fully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night and will not be returning or recommending it for the following reasons:the room was too hot even with a fan on,the bed was too soft and there was no sheet only an uncomfortable duvet,the kettle cord did not reach the plug,the shower was extremely weak.
The breakfast was an Insult and surely the hotel management know it,the reasons that the breakfast was an insult are:the coffee was not hot,the croissants were a joke where did they get them they were the size of a twenty pence piece!,the mushrooms were out of a tin,the toast should have been served instead of having to go and wait with others for a toast machine and the "scrambled egg" was Nasty and Offensive it was grey,watery and tasted foul.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sadly I can do nothing with regards to the weather being particularly hot, we do are upmost to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as we can, which is why provide a fan in every room. Our duvets are the are the standard duvet that many hotels through out the country use,. The cords on the kettles are secured in the base, when you wish to use them you only have to unwind it to the correct length. I am very sorry that you where not satisfied with your breakfast. It should of course been served correctly to you the first time, but if you had brought it to our attention at the time, it would have been corrected. In many hotels toast is served from the help our self buffet, we are no different.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing