We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
LONDON
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“my stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

First a bit of a warning. Do not book breakfast and or dinner by email or phonebefore you go, .If you must eat at this hotel then book the breakfast/ dinner on the day otherwise regardless of only feeling you can manage a slice of toast and a cup of coffee you WILL be charges over £12 if you book on line prior to going and you will NOT recieve a discount.I repeat do not pre book dinner before you go by email or phone if you don't really want an evening dinner you will still be charge and beware of hidden charges, if you pre book before you arrive at the hotel there is a cost limit and going over appart from drinks of course you will be charged and it is not cheap .
Do not pay the extra £15 to upgrade to executive room, it looks a good bargain but the room although clean is tiny and although the bathroom was clean it too was tiny.
As for the friut, one red apple and one green apple and a chocolate bar, yes there was a settee but £15 per stay per person for two apples , bar of chocolate and a news paper is not exactly value for money.Total for two nights £258.for one person.
There are numerous place to eat in the town and the best part is the shop etc are only 3 mins walk away.and you can get a good breakfast/dinner but half the price of the hotel
For those less travelled and believe the rooms are just right then you haven't stopped at many hotels, yes clean and warm but value for money NO.
You may not think that a premier inn would be the best hotel to stay but I am pleased to see one is about to open a couple of minutes from the best western and those two minutes nearer to the shops, these hotels are basic rooms but all you will need, just take your own soap, most who are regular travellers usualy take their own toiletries any way.I have stayed in motels, B/B three, four and five star hotels in Europe and America , I have eaten in transport cafes and micheline starred restuarants, so I do think I know what i am talking about.
As a three star hotel the best western is fine, but be ware of these hidden extras and being charged for pre booked dinner and full breakfast price for toast and coffee.Eat out.
Reception although the desk is quite small and usualy only one on the desk is fine but two guests were complianing about something and the receptionist seemed to care less and as I was sitting in the lobby awaiting a taxi(which was late and cost more than a
black london cab) the receptionist kept on moaning about the guests concerns and brought in two other people with her conversation well in ear shot of myself and anyone else who was around at the time.

If you don't take notice of what I say then as they say its down to you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELREVIEWER006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I am sorry you felt the breakfast and dinner were not discounted, but when you pre-book dinner or breakfast as you did, you do save 20% over the rate we charge on the day making it worthwhile for most guests. However breakfast is a fixed package and allows you to eat as much as you wish for that price, whereas dinner gives you a £25 allowance against the menu cost. Our dinner prices are very similar to most local restaurant costs and we feel offer excellent value with all dishes prepared in house and freshly cooked to order.
The Executive room costs £15 per room extra (not per person) and offers additional facilities over the standard rooms and are a similar size to most modern hotel rooms in the UK.
Overall our pricing for the bedrooms and food reflects the local market and generally exceeds guests expectations and I am sorry you felt otherwise.
I am however very glad you felt the Hotel was clean and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Neil Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    679
    364
    127
    76
See reviews for
310
927
43
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Excellent Service and quick check in, stayed for three nights
Room we were given was first class, but only issue was the under floor heating, room was to hot, and twice phoned down, and told could not turn down or off, as would affect other rooms.
Going down for breakfast, were told they would move us rooms, to other part of hotel with no under floor heating, which they did once we were out for the day, and moved all our belongings to new room.
Breakfast = you could not ask for anything more, from cooked breakfast to selection of cooked meats, cakes, etc, and nothing was to much for the staff.
Free Parking was excellent, and could leave car, as only 5 min walk to shops and canal and places to eat, only thing to be aware is that most pubs etc all have the same menu, as all owend by greene king brewery.
Would recommend this hotel, and will be staying again if in Startford upon Avon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This hotel was conveniently located in Stratford-upon-Avon. The rooms were fairly small and the furniture looked like it was due for a face lift. The first room we were given had an overpowering smell of grease in it, presumably from a kitchen vent. We returned to the desk to ask for a different room and initially met with resistance, though when we persisted they did find another room for us. The second room we were given was pleasant and no smell. The front desk clerk seemed to be on her own taking phone calls and checking people in, which caused us to wait for quite a while as she handled a phone call from a person making a reservation.
The parking is ridiculous. I had read about it from other previous hotel guests so we were somewhat prepared. There is insufficient parking for the hotel guests, and yet there are signs all around offering to let non-guest park for a fee. Guests don't pay a fee, if they are fortunate enough to get a spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed with husband, and two young children in a family room. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly. booked in advance and got a fairly good deal and everything in Stratford is a 5 min walk away. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had our wedding here earlier this month, the ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening buffet and disco. Several of our guests as well as ourselves stayed overnight too.

The staff really looked after us making sure everything went to plan, including plans we had no prior knowledge of but that our guests had arranged for us as a surprise.

The food served for the wedding breakfast was fantastic, even my mother who is the fussiest eater on the planet enjoyed it. Well presented, well cooked and tasted great.

The evening buffet which we hadn't given much thought to was also excellent and seemed to vanish in minutes by our guests who were quick to return for seconds.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the hotel itself is just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the river Avon. Despite the close proximity to the town, our room was nice an quiet.

Finally, the breakfast choice was extensive with something to cater for all tastes.

Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzablinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This hotel is in an ideal location but really needs refurbishing which seems to be becoming a theme with a lot of Best Western hotels.

The room was a decent size and the bathroom was large. They were clean but old tiles and carpet etc just makes it feel a bit grotty.
It was quiet and although the shower was really old and couldn't be detached from the wall, it was powerful and there was pleny of hot water.

Our booking was on a room only basis, they offered us breakfast for an extra £14.95 per person but we just walked round the corner to The Encore where we had had a beautiful meal the night before. Although we didn't stay for dinner the menu did look nice.

I don't know if it was just a particularly busy night when we turned up but it is worth bearing in mind that parking is not guaranteed. They expect you to park in the nearby leisure centre which is £3 from 6pm to 8am but £20 for 24 hrs. I don't know if this regularly happens, it was quieter when we left. It was about 8:30pm when we got there and since we didn't know about the parking limitations they squeezed us in where there wasn't a parking space.

This hotel was OK, as long as your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, Hants
Level Contributor
139 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My partner & I have stayed here on many occasions but may well not again as our latest stay was a tad disappointing.

Our 1st problem was there were 2 separate weddings on & so there was no room to sit in the bar or anywhere else all afternoon and the noise from the disco resinated through our room until very late.

2nd problem was parking - Got blocked in for over and hour. The parking at this hotel is truly shocking!

3rd and final problem was with the breakfast - All lovely except could somebody teach the chef how to cook a runny poached egg!!!! After 2 attempts I gave up ordering it.

As this place isn't exactly cheap I would expect better

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing