We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and unfussy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Stayed to go to the theatre. Enjoyed the relaxed atmoshere, good breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable room. Will book again for future theatre trips.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,111 - 2,117 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

My stay in this hotel was ruined by a big party in the ballroom.The music from the party was so loud that it could be heard in my room on the 2nd floor. This went on till 00-30am.
I complained to the manager and was compensated by them giving me the room and breakfast free. They also offered to move me to another hotel.

However - you need to know that the Holiday Inn in Straford-Upon-Avon are more interested in keeping people happy in the ballroom rather than providing a quiet break for hotel guests.

The fact that the hotel offered me compensation proves that the situation was very bad.
If you want a quiet relaxing break - do not choose this hotel.

Other bad points - the toilet paper is the thinnest I have ever encountered - I didn't know it could be made so thinly!
Also - the TV is an old fashioned square CRT set rather than LCD. The signal was bad giving a snowy picture.
Also - the "hot water" was luke warm rather than hot.

Very very average.!
Make your own mind up from my review!
If you want a quiet relaxing break - beware - you could be unlucky and stay when there is a party on in the ballroom.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We arrived at the hotel in early afternoon and quickly checked into an Executive King Size room on the 1st floor. The room was well furnished and had ample storage space.
A good selection of toiletries available in the bathroom.
The hotel is well situated in the centre of Stratford and just a 5 minute walk from all the shops and the home of William Sakespeare. The RSC theatre is also extremely close to the hotel. The hotel overlooks the river and trips on the river leave from the hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed dinner in the hotel Riverside restaurant which consisted of a self service carvery. The staff in the restaurant where very attentive and friendly.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stratford upon Avon.
Parking for hotel guests is charged at £5 per stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I was very disappointed by this hotel. I for one stay at Holiday Inn because I know I can expect the same level of comfort and quality no matter which one of their hotels I stay in, in any country. Unfortunately, these rooms look like they come straight from the 1960s. They are desperately in need of updating. The walls of the hallway need painting and pictures or simply replacing, as do the doors. The furniture is old, not antique, just old, and chipped and scratched and hideous. The carpest match the walls. If the hotel had been prepared to refund my money I would have taken one look at the room, turned around, checked out and gone elsewhere. It was not worth the £85 it cost me - I would not have paid £40 for it.
On the up side, the swimming pool looked good, albeit small, and the gym fully equipped. There is ample parking and it is in a central location so you can easily walk around Stratford.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePugHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Have stayed at this hotel several times and it appears to have gone downhill.
Room and toilet was dirty along with many communal areas, breakfast was poor (no fried eggs, scrappy bits of bacon, sloppy scrambled eggs).
Room was hot and when I attempted to open the window I found it was screwed shut!
It is a pity as I have enjoyed several better stays here but will stay elsewhere next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank currygobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Friendly staff,
Spotlessly clean rooms,
Stayed on dinner bed and breakfast,couldn't fault the food.Plenty of choice at dinner and Breakfast.
Location very easy to find!!!
Will be staying again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Larr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Should have not been suprised with how disappointing this hotel was when the GPS couldn't locate it. Location however is great two minuites to town and on the banks of the Avon. The most expensive hotel we have stayed in on this holiday and by far the worst. Has to ask for towels 3 times, bed was eventually made (sort of), glasses and mugs not washed, tea and coffee not replaced(petty things maybe but they should be done). Breakfast average but included in room rate. Shame because Strattford upon Avon is a delightful place full of friendly people and wonderful sights. Has dinner at The Thatched Inn and would recomment the place to anyone. Good homestyle food, friendly service and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing