We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still falling short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Still falling short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Found a rate on the Internet which made the hotel cheaper than last time I visited. The staff seemed mostly friendly and efficient. At check in there was a man who simply could not be bothered to concentrate. He twice interrrupted the check in to take calls, he took 3 times as long as the check in next to us. He got the order for morning papers completely wrong.
In the room the TV was c1985. It had a list of channels several of which no longer operated e.g. BBC with teletext. They boasted 17 channels but had 10. THe loo seat was one that came crashing down just whe you didn't want it to happen.
One lift was out of action for a day and one of the breakfast coffeee machines for all 3 days causing a long queue.
I think them charging £5 for the privilege of parlking at their hotel is wrong for guests. Givent eh location it is reasonable to protect the car park with a barrier but guests should not have to pay. It is just another way of extracting money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    876
    387
    112
    50
See reviews for
390
883
47
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn in Stratford on Avon. The room was spacious and clean (although quite a treck to get to!!). Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel was wonderfully situated and the surroundings were beautiful. It was so nice to sit and have breakfast and watch the swans and ducks with their young chicks in the water. Try the boat trip from the hotel and if you can go for a meal on the Countess of Evesham. A wonderful way to spend an evening sailing up the Avon whilst enjoying a beautiful meal. I will certainly be back again. Thank you Holliday Inn.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the negative comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniOStocktononTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hotel is easy to find and located in an excellent location which is easy to walk to the centre of Stratford.

Check-in was simple and was quick.

Rooms, stayed in a basic double. Be prepared for a bit of a walk, as distance from lift to rooms is quite a trek.

Room itself was basic, but clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries available. Nice view of the carpark

Spa and pool. This was the biggest dissapointment, very small pool, which is fine if only used by a handful of guests however the worst spas I have been in are always the ones that are also open to the public. The towels you are given, very small and thin and I would not use to wash my face at home. If there is more than one person in the pool you are unable to swim at all.

Could not rate the sauna as it was jam packed so couldn't fit in. Overall was not worth the walk down several corridors and flights of stairs to get to.

Location. This is the best aspect of the hotel and it was really convenient to see all of stratford. It was only £5 to park there and when you get your card to exit the carpark, this can be used all day. So you can continue to see Stratford of you wished. We had breakfast at the Golden Bee (Wetherspoons) - so can't rate the breakfast and then travelled to Warwick Castle for the day.

Overall a good clean hotel that is not badly priced for the centre of Stratford, but don't go there expecting high four or five star standards.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maginot26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights. First the good news. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Royal Shakespeare Company if you are intending to see a play there.
Now the bad news. The walls are paper-thin and we were woken up on the first night at 2 a.m. by the people in the next room shouting! We were given another room on the 3rd floor (top) for our second night which was bigger and nicer. However, there was drumming music from a bar nearby until 11 a.m.
The standard of food was not good. Food at dinner was bland and uninteresting. Breakfast was quite ordinary too with non-stop "musac" playing.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NOOshie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

My wife and I occupied two rooms for two nights taking advantage of a cheap offer. We have done this many times, sometimes taking our Grand Daughter and we always enjoy the experience.
The location, carpark and staff are all excellent. The bedrooms and public areas very clean and pleasant.
Niggles. The TVs are as antiquted as the programmes on offer. Only two channels provided subtitles, which I require. After the digital switchover their old black boxes will have to be replaced but I feel that a 4 star hotel should have done this already
The hotel can be very noisy as all doors. ie rooms and wardrobes, always close with a loud bang which because of the rather thin walls can be irritating.
The toilets are tiny ('Nuff said)
The food is overpriced which is ridiculous in a town like Stratford which provides many good value eateries.
We had planned to make more visits but in future we will also look at the newly opened Premier across the road. where the decor is gleaming and the staff very friendly. They also provide Freeview multiple channels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We were offered a room with a view of a car park and a flat roof decorated with cigarette ends. The room had recently been decorated in very cheap, peeling furniture and orange colours that reminded me of a caravan from the 70s. The brown bed divan was not covered and the there was an unattractive mustard thin throw on the bed. Net curtains stained and dirty marks on surfaces and carpet. Moved to a room with partial view of the river but same orange/ mustard theme. Cheap toiletries and no bottled water or biscuits and a kettle that could not be plugged in where it was positioned in the room. The manager at breakfast unwelcoming , other members of staff cheerful and personable. Breakfast was good, lots of choice. The ground floor of hotel looks 4 star, other levels need decorating. Had to pay £5 to use hotel car park.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell000088888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Bad Points
1)Booking was made for a king size bedroom - was allocated a std. double.
2)It was a warm evening, and the bedroom AC did not work, opened the window only to find located directly outside was a loud fan. No help offered.
3)No cold water available in the room.
4)Walls are thin - you could hear the guests next door.
5)The cleaners/maids are shoddy, asked for room to e made up and changed, found that nothing was changed, only straightened out, toiletries were not even replaced.
6)You have to pay for parking at £5.00 per day (this is on top of paying £120 per night)
7)THIS IS NOT A HIGH CLASS HOTEL.

Good
1)On arrival, reception staff were friendly.
2)Breakfast was good (the other half wasnt in the mood to come down, the waiting staff offered room service at no extra cost - bonus.
3)Good location

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing