We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Super Stratford”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Visited for the inlaws anniversary with family.

Great location by the river and easy walk to the pubs and sights.

Reception nice, bar nice. Outside seating area great. Small kids play area.

Rooms good but some areas look tired and in need of decoration.

Parking is extra!!

Breakfast plentiful for the charge.

Multi lingual staff. Some better than others. Most pleasant enough.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padimsddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    909
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
397
935
49
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

While touring England, my husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night.
Our hotel room was typical Holiday Inn. The room was very clean with a wide selection of pillows. The decor could use some updating.
We had the old time TV not flat screen. The staff was very helpful. Internet is free for the first 30 minutes in the lobby. You have to pay for Internet service after that. The grounds are very nice. There are restaurants, shopping and attractions within walking distance.
We had the dinner buffet which had an extensive selection. The staff was very attentive.
We thought the food was very good. The breakfast buffet was also very good.
The only negative I could list is that tour buses use this hotel. The hotel handled the tours very well. If visiting this area again, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The good:
- large hotel with substantial public areas
- plenty of car parking
- good facilities
- stayed in an executive room which was very well equipped

The bad:
- expensive wifi
- loud and very annoying rattling noise from the air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heighington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

It’s a very pleasant place to stay in a great location, walking distance to great bars shops and restaurants. Also there are river trips that board right at the side of the hotel.

I was given an Exec room on the first floor with a huge super king size bed, and I was pleasantly surprised to receive some complimentary water, chocolate and orange juice plus there were bath robes and slippers.

The pillows on the bed were a little squeeky, must have been over starched or something, but the room had extra ones in the wardrobe and they were perfect!

The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good a lots of choice and although busy the staff coped really well so no bottle necks.

The only downside was the price of the Internet £15 for 24 hours I think is too high

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I've stayed here several times before on business and the hotel is fine, typical Holiday Inn really except one thing, the food!!!

3 times i've eaten in the restaurant and 3 times i've been disapointed! Although by far the worst time was a carvey. The meat was overcooked, the potatoes were solid, all in all i described this meal to the manager as discuisting and refused to pay, as i didn't eat it! A little while later, the "restaurant manager" phoned my room to ask why i didn't like my meal, i told him but this was very difficlut to explain as his English was very poor. So even after i explained how disapointed i was with this £25, yes £25!!! carvery, explaining that it was so bad i couldn't eat it and that it should have been EXTREMLY good for £25 as the average price of a cavery meal anywhere would be £10 - £15 if that! He had the cheek to offer me a discount on the meal i didn't eat because of its poor quality, incredible. At this point i told him that there had better not be any charge for this "meal" and would certailny not be paying anything for it at all! at that point he just said ok and hung up the phone.

The other 2 occations i dined in here, the food only just passed for average, but when you are tired and its late after a long journey!!!

The rest of the hotel is fine, desk staff are nice and helpful. It's also very busy due to its ideal location in Stratford, so its not the quietest of hotels in the communal areas.

Room Tip: Hotel is fine, but beware the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed here for 1 night as my company was having its annual work conference. This is a large Holiday Inn and there were plenty of car parking spaces available especially given the size of the hotel.
Friendly staff at check in and even though lots of people were arriving at the same time I was checked in within 10 minutes.
Room was nice... and I was fortunate enough to get an executive room which had a seating area over by the window.

A little dated in terms of the decor and the fittings (no flatscreen tv, old hifi system etc) but it was clean and pleasant enough. There was some complimentary juice, chocolate and water. Nice bathroom which looked like it had been done reasonably recently.
A nice touch was the pillow menu with a choice of 5 or so pillow types.

Bed was v. comfy and was big (looked like 2 singles pushed together) so no complaints.

As I didn't pay for it I am not sure if the room upgrade was worth it as I didn't know what the difference in cost was.

Communal areas clean and tidy although a little dated in places.

Staff polite and helpful.

The main function room had good lighting and was nice inside. The food was pretty decent although it was reminiscent of food where they are catering for large volumes of people at the same time but no complaints.

Whilst I didn't get time to visit Stratford Upon Avon this hotel is only a very short walk to town so would be more than suitable for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My wife & I stayed here over the Easter weekend. The hotel is situated next to the river with a cruise boat service operating from their grounds. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave advice about the best time to eat in the restaurant as there were coach tours staying at the hotel too. Although busy, it never really felt busy which meant that we could relax with our two young girls.
We booked a family room and were pleasantly suprised to find a double bed with two rollaway beds, one being tucked round the corner which gave it a seperate room feel which was ideal.
There is a nice sized pool and the gym was well equipped (not that we used it) There was even a childrens play area outside which was brilliant.
Breakfast and dinner were great, both buffets but everything was fresh (including the roast joints which isn't usually the case on buffets)
They also have a fantastic seating area outside, overlooking the river which in the summer would be amazing. We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_hugill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing