We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night at the Theatre”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel is based in a great location for Restaurants and the RSC Theatre. Bar is a bit tied in decorations - and very bright lights - i.e little atmosphere. Rooms to the usual standards from HI. Noisy at the back near the airconditioning machines on the roof - but at least not on all night - did not come on till 8:15

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    906
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
396
933
49
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst attending a conference, really pleasant and helpful staff and nice room. Ate at the hotel on the first night, no complaints, and breakfasts really good. My only comment should anyone from Holiday Inn be reading my review, flat screen TV's with more than 4 channels would be a good addition. Overall though if you're looking for a nice, friendly place to stay whilst visiting Stratford-upon-Avon you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie220270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Charlie 220270

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are extremely pleased that you found our facilities and service to be of a very good standard and I would like to thank you for your kind words. With regards to the television, I would like to share with you that we are in the process of renegotiating our current contract with the TV suppliers and this will mean that we will get flatscreen TV's with a wider choice of channels. We should be in a position to have these in place during 2012.

Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you soon to our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Stratford Upon Avon, a handy 6 minutes walk to the Royal Shakespeare theatre. The staff are warm and friendly and a lovely large foyer greets you. Rooms are spacious, very clean and the beds are very comfortable. I have stayed at this hotel and it has got better with age. The food is excellent and fresh, great choice of food both in the evening and for breakfast. Good sized pubic areas. Reasonable price for a central location. We have already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotts-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Scotts-reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are very proud to see this review, particularly regarding your observation around the fact that you find our performance to have become better over the years, a true testament that the hard work my Heads of Department put into the continuous training and reviewing of the standards if paying off.

I can see from your review that you may have already booked your next stay with us so please contact us with the date and reservation number and send these to res.histratford@qmh-hotels.com so that we can make sure that we allocate the same room for you. Please state your name and date of booking together with a mention of your Tripadvisor review and we will take care of all the necessary arrangements.

Once again thank you for your kind reviw and we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHYL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

As a Platinum member this is by far the best Holiday Inn we have stayed at for a long while.Good central location, friendly staff who seem to be on their toes to make sure your stay is pleasant. Water, Juice and chocolate in the room was a nice touch especially for our grandaughter. The Spa was a bonus with a pool,steam room,jacuzzi and sauna this will be on our shopping list in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyderweb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear spyderweb61,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are always delighted to receive very complimentary reviews like yours and we pride ourselves that we get it right, particularly with very loyal Platinum Priority Club members like yourself.

I am glad that your grandaughter enjoyed the goodies as I have three kids and I know that they also enjoy the little treats they didn't expect, when staying in hotels.

Thank you once again for your valued custom and we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was a super find,within easy reach of the RSC and the town.Set on the river Avon and canal junction it is ideally located for a stop over,we infact stayed two nights.The suite was generously proportionedwith kingsize bed etc .The staff were more than helpful,allways happy and smiley!The breakfast was to die for...more than two moredays we probbably would have.great value for money and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we took pot luck,but feel the staff would repond if it was not to your liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quilter48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear quilter48,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are always delighted to receive very complimentary reviews like yours and we pride ourselves to provide every guest with excellent levels of service.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and that you enjoyed our room facilities.

Thank you once again for your valued custom and should you have any future accommodation needs for Stratford upon Avon please do not hesitate to look us up.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
495 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed one night in Feb 2012 on business. Large hotel, with very large car park. Fee of £5 per night to use - I;m sure this could (and should) be waived for residents but isn't.

Hotel not that attractive from outside but inside things improve. Large modern open plan reception, bar and restaurant areas pleasant.

Room was fine, large king size bed was very comfortable, room decor was fine but TV is an old small screened model - this worked, and picture quality was acceptable but surely by now flat screen TV's should be installed in hotels.

Water pressure in wash basin tap was almost non existent, but shower worked fine with nice strong jet of water.

Hotel is located very close to city centre, 5 minute walk over bridge. On a previous visit in Summer 2010, the outside bar area was wonderful, lawns stretch down to the river, with tables and chairs I spent a lovely peaceful summers evening with a couple of pints, my book, the river alongside with moored long boats and traffic noise blocked out by the hotel itself (sadly could not repeat this experience in February).

Sauna and Steam Rooms plus pool and multigym are available. Sauna, steam and pool were fine, clean, well looked after,

Big let down was breakfast - eaten at 08:15. Hot food on a serve yourself buffet basis, but the food had clearly been left for a considerable time.

Scrambled egg was disgusting, dry and tasteless. In the 30 mins I was in the restaurant for breakfast this was not replaced, every 10 mins or so the "chef" on duty simply stirred it to break up the large chunks which had coalesced since he had last stirred it.

The hash browns were soft and soggy, even the bacon had little taste and was very dry.

Limited choice of cereal, small amount of fruit, 2 small plates of cold meat and a very limited cheese selection comprised the non hot food selection.

So overall I do like this hotel, but the appalling breakfast brings it down to a 3 star rating from me this time

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear DesdinovaUK,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are always delighted to receive reviews like yours as this will help us to continually monitor our standards and levels of service.

I was dissapointed to read that you didn't enjoy our breakfast as we work very hard to make the first meal of the day a special one as this meal in a lot of instances is the last meal taken in our property. We get so many good reviews regarding our breakfast offering and therefore we obviously didn't get it totally right for you and your comments will give us some areas of focus.

We pride ourselves that we work hard to get it right for our guests and I was delighted to read that you found the spa and our outside facilities to be ok, eventhough you weren't able to use them on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your valued custom and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My partner and I stopped at this hotel in February 2012 and we found the hotel to be located perfectly in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon along the river, there were plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. When arriving do not be put off by first impressions as the building itself looks outdated and pretty hideous, however once inside it is a good, smart hotel. We checked in but were slightly disappointed that we had to pay £5.00 to park in the hotels own car-park [would rather they hid this price in the room fee!]. Our room was spacious and clean, had a king size bed too which was very comfortable. The view from our hotel room was of the dining hall roof which was again hideous on the eye but the shower was excellent which made everything ok. The nights sleep was perfect and the morning breakfast was well worth the money, it worked out at £7.50 per person and was good quality food of which there was plenty. All in all had a good experience with this hotel, minus the car-park charge, so would stay there again and would recommend to anybody visiting the town.

Room Tip: Try asking for one overlooking the river Avon but I believe these are few and far between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear LukeyDee,

Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We pride ourselves for the hard work my team puts in to deliver the quality and the service our customers have become acustomed to over the years. I must agree with you that the exterior of the building is not the one of the most beautiful buildings you can find in Stratford upon Avon as we are blessed with beautiful historic architecture, however we transform ourselves once you are inside the hotel and enjoying our extensive facilities and the beautiful riverside garden.

With respect to the car-park, I can see your point, however, due to the restricted pay as you go car parking facilities within Stratford upon Avon, we need the barier and CCTV installation we have on the carpark at the hotel. Without controlled access, we could find ourselves in the situation where there would be no spaces left for residents. We charge £5.00 per stay regardless of how many nights and this charge goes towards the maintenance of the entry and exit system.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing