We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We would like to say a big thank you to Holiday Inn stratford upon Avon, after we were given a room upgrade to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. A standard double had been booked, but after mentioning it was our anniversary, they very kindly upgrated us to an Executive room. We had a lovely stay with a really good breakfast in the morning.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorismorris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Like: Good location for the centre of town, which is a pleasant 5 minute walk.

Did Not Like: We had to pay £5.00 for parking which was not mentioned when we checked in. There’s no free WiFi which in my opinion, all good hotels should offer. King sized bed is actually 2 beds pushed together.
Too much chlorine in the pool/jacuzzi – had to leave early due to being overcome by the chlorine. Sauna was not working during our stay... it was one of the reasons why I booked the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xbisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear xbisou,

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered
with the jacuzzi.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

my husband ,my two daughters (6 and 10 years old) and me spent a night at this huge hotel with very long corridors. Our room was really big and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious too,but I found it a little bit dated, specially the bathroom fittings which were chipped.
Breakfast was not included in our rate but for a 15 pounds extra we four had a great breakfast.
The swimming pool was ideal for the kids, they really enjoyed it. The hotel is so close to the main streets in Stratford you can be there in a 5 minutes walk.
All in all a nice experience we´d like to repeat some day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gobearca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Arrived fri 2/3/12 car park plenty of spaces booked into room 3003 which was spacious and very clean , could do with a furniture upgrade tv old type picture quality terrible.not many people seemed to be staying in hotel on friday night easy to get served at the bar.Breakfast on sat morning excellent.Sat the hotel was holding a conference and it was very busy could not get served at the bar so decided to walk into town and have a drink,plenty of good bars and places to eat.Got back to the hotel about 1030pm went to the bar which was still very full after waiting for about 15 min to get served we decided to go to our room.That night the noise and laughter went on untill after 3.30am.Thank god it started to rain after that so the people must of gone inside as the noise stopped.The following morning i went to reception to told the hotel was very busy and people were only enjoying themselfs, but if i wanted to take the matter any further to take it up with the duty manager.( was i a not guest who was entitled to a good night sleep ) That morning we went to breakfast which was very busy but again excellent.The sunday night was very quiet as the hotel did not seem to have many guests.Mondays breakfast was again excellent only they were cleaning the carpet in one area as we were eating our breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOC1960PortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

JOC1960PortTalbot,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel itself was fine and rooms were clean, but the customer service was very good. I needed help printing something on my computer and people were very helpful rounding up a usb drive when I couldn't connect to the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This Holiday Inn is in a great location on the Avon just over the road from the glorious old town and Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Our room was quiet and had views of the river and boats. Breakfast was very good being a buffet on the restaurant which is next to the river. We were at a dinner function and the food there was good too. No mini-bar or safe in the room but a huge comfortable bed and a bathroom with a bath rather than a shower.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one but it was a long walk from reception. Worth it for us. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business. The hotel is very well situated for central Stratford-upon-Avon and the RSC Theatre. The large car park at £5 per night is good value.
The check in staff were quick, efficient & polite. My room had a massive king size bed and was adequately layed out. The bathroom was a decent size.
The hotel has its own pool & leisure club which is a nice extra, although the sauna was not working during my visit.
Breakfast, at £10 if not included in your room rate, was buffett style and of a good quality.
I would recommend this hotel and would use again next time I visit Stratford.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,045 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing