We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and good facilities”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked this hotel as a bed for the night as we were attending a function nearby. We didn't have high expectations so were really surprised when we realised it was in a fantastic location right on the river. It was a beautiful sunny day so we sat at one of the many tables on the terrace by the river and enjoyed the view. Unfortunately the service at the bar was very slow and quite haphazard and even though they were busy because of the weather it had been forecast so they could have planned. My husband checked in and said that was equally slow (it took him 40 minutes) but in fairness check out was very speedy and efficient. Rooms were a good size and although our view was of the roof and air conditioning unit the room had everything we needed for our stay. Whilst car parking is £5 the car park is huge which is a real advantage in Stratford. All in all for what we wanted this was a very good hotel and very convenient for walking into the town for shops, bars and theatres. If I was back in Stratford on a sunny day I'd go to the hotel terrace for a drink as its nicer than most of the venues in town and less crowded.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a river view then do so. All the rest will have pretty nondescript views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    909
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
398
935
49
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

First class hotel , Superb Breakfast , Together with a Fantastic evening meal, Hotel staff did everything possible to make our stay superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here 22nd April 2012, check in was ok but found it hard to understand the receptionist as her English was very poor. The room was miles away or seemed that when we eventually arrived there could of done with some help with the luggage but was not offered. I wantedto use the wi fi to get some directions and was told to pay £5. Check out was a nightmare with one queue for people checking in for a conference and people checking out of their rooms. Then when we got to the desk we was told we had to pay for the privelige of parking in their own car park.
My advice... go to one of the nicer hotels like legacy falcon where you get treated like a person and not a number.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggie_d_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Biggie_d_69,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. I'm sorry you felt the parking and internet fees were hidden charges, as this information is readily available when making reservations at our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is ideally suited for visiting Stratford, with just a short walk from the hotel into town. Room was lovely, had family room with three double beds. Breakfast was perfect, in large open space restaurant. Came for the 1/2 marathon weekend, but severe weather meant this was curtailed. Small swimming pool, and jacuzzi but OK if not too crowded.
Will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlcadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

we were going to see the Tempest at the RSC. Booked into the hotel at an advantagious rate of £60, Ab fab! swim in the pool soak in the jacuzzi large well appointed room short walk to the theatre phenomenal breakfast . brilliant service from the staff - sincerely helpful many thanks for making our holiday fantastic

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here this weekend for a business occassion, the room was nice, all the meals we had were of a good standard, the only thing that is really disappointing was the lack of any view of the river from the room. We were on the first floor and looked towards the river but the view was totally obscured by the roof of the dining room and its facia. I am not sure that the people on the 2nd floor had a view either, its a bit of a swizz when all the pictures give you an impression of overlooking the water. I must say in its defence that the dining room has a good view of the garden. It is also a perfect place to stay if you want to wander around Stratford, it is only a few steps to the centre of town. We would come back and stay here under our own steam and spend some more time in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights; night one we booked a table in the restuarant for 8.15pm no problem said the desk clerk. We paid the full price but were offered a very restricted salad bar as an earlier sitting had used most of it up and was not topped up.
Our room was situated directly above the kitchen area and we had to suffer the very noisy extract fans which sounded like a lorry engine reving up directly outside our window, this started at 5.30am and woke us up, we could not sleep after that.
I would not recommend eating at the hotel and to double check that the location of the room is nowhere near to the kitchen area.
Not good value for the prices we were charged.

Room Tip: Check the room location, some are very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear George C,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the noise from our extract fan and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received in our restaurant. We do value our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I hope you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing