We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a simple hotel, wonderfully located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Holiday Inn in central Stratford is the ideal place for visiting this beautiful historic town. It is large but fortunately has only two floors, so it does not spoil the skyline of Stratford. The rooms are basic and certainly not beautiful, but they serve the purpose. It has a large and reasonably cheap car park - a very important feature for where it is - and it is priced reasonably. Good value.

Room Tip: rooms on the fron have a view over the river and the theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,030 - 2,036 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you have stayed in a Holiday Inn before then you will know what to expect - everything clean, tidy and efficient but with a complete lack of character.

The building is straight out of the usual corporate design folder but, unusually for the chain, is in a superb location in the middle of Stratford. The shops and theatre are literally a five minute walk away and there is a great riverside terrace and garden to relax in.

I couldn't fault the staff, our room or the food. The breakfast is, predictably, a buffet but is a cut above most of its type, with a very good selection of hot and cold items.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay and I would return without hesitation but there are a couple of niggles. They charge for both car parking and internet access as extras - why do these rip-off fees only occur in this country? They should be included in the room rate as they are in the USA.

By the way, it definitely pays to join their loyalty program even if you don't stay at a Holiday Inn very often. Apart from small perks such as a free daily newspaper you will probably get a room upgrade at the first stay after registering. Their points scheme is one of the best and it is very easy to rack up enough for a free stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMOTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel is pretty much what you would expect from Holiday Inn; huge ugly building (very long walk to our room), predictably bland and characterless. However, all is redeemed by the setting and location which could not be better - right next to the river, lovely terrace restaurant with garden and a short stroll from town. Added to that the hotel has a large car park (extra charge), so very convenient (especially as parking in Stratford is difficult). All the staff we met during our stay were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Only one real gripe, sound proofing to adjacent bedroom was non existent (may have been due to inter-connecting door).

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms without inter-connecting doors for better sound-proofing, if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Judy B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you had an overall great experience during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked this hotel as a bed for the night as we were attending a function nearby. We didn't have high expectations so were really surprised when we realised it was in a fantastic location right on the river. It was a beautiful sunny day so we sat at one of the many tables on the terrace by the river and enjoyed the view. Unfortunately the service at the bar was very slow and quite haphazard and even though they were busy because of the weather it had been forecast so they could have planned. My husband checked in and said that was equally slow (it took him 40 minutes) but in fairness check out was very speedy and efficient. Rooms were a good size and although our view was of the roof and air conditioning unit the room had everything we needed for our stay. Whilst car parking is £5 the car park is huge which is a real advantage in Stratford. All in all for what we wanted this was a very good hotel and very convenient for walking into the town for shops, bars and theatres. If I was back in Stratford on a sunny day I'd go to the hotel terrace for a drink as its nicer than most of the venues in town and less crowded.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a river view then do so. All the rest will have pretty nondescript views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

First class hotel , Superb Breakfast , Together with a Fantastic evening meal, Hotel staff did everything possible to make our stay superb.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here 22nd April 2012, check in was ok but found it hard to understand the receptionist as her English was very poor. The room was miles away or seemed that when we eventually arrived there could of done with some help with the luggage but was not offered. I wantedto use the wi fi to get some directions and was told to pay £5. Check out was a nightmare with one queue for people checking in for a conference and people checking out of their rooms. Then when we got to the desk we was told we had to pay for the privelige of parking in their own car park.
My advice... go to one of the nicer hotels like legacy falcon where you get treated like a person and not a number.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggie_d_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Biggie_d_69,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. I'm sorry you felt the parking and internet fees were hidden charges, as this information is readily available when making reservations at our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is ideally suited for visiting Stratford, with just a short walk from the hotel into town. Room was lovely, had family room with three double beds. Breakfast was perfect, in large open space restaurant. Came for the 1/2 marathon weekend, but severe weather meant this was curtailed. Small swimming pool, and jacuzzi but OK if not too crowded.
Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlcadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,041 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing