We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly lacking in charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel seems to cater to large bus groups rather than individual travelers. It is walking distance from the village of Stratford-Upon-Avon, but in no way reflects the charm of the town. This could be a Holiday Inn in any small town in America.

The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The view from my room (165) overlooked a lawn in front of the hotel. I did notice a nice patio that overlooked the River Avon on the side of the hotel adjacent the bar, but no one appeared to use it. At approximately 2:30 am I was awakened by some drunken young men who may have been exiting the lobby bar of the hotel. They spent quite a long time talking outside the lobby and the windows of my room could not block their voices.

When I got ready to take a shower at 5:30 am, I realized that I had received absolutely no towels in my bathroom. I had to call to the desk and request towels. They were delivered in about ten minutes, albeit with no apology.

Should I visit Stratford-Upon-Avon again, I would try to find a hotel or inn that better reflected the charm of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauriedunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear lauriedunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased our convenient location suited your needs and equally happy you liked our comfortable beds. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the noise from our other guests and housekeeping services received during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and I will make sure that this will be looked into and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,954 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great central location. Very friendly welcoming staff. The room was very clean and spacious. Lovely view over the river. Had a drink and snacks in the bar downstairs , the bar staff were lovely. Car parking £5 for 24 hours. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a good hotel right in the centre of Stratford. Easy walking distance to theatres, restaurants and shops. Rooms comfortable and clean with nice shower. Breakfast buffet very good with lots of choices and freshly cooked pool and spa facilities looked good. Parking good and plenty of spaces, but an extra charge of £5 per night. overall a nice hotel to stay in and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for theatre view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Long Fathers Day weekend in Stratford upon Avon.
Two plays at the RSC , Julius Caesar and King John.
Superb performances by a very talented team.
The Holiday Inn provided a perfectly situated position both for the theatre and for visiting the Cotswolds.
Clean, qiuet with very helpful staff - thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: River views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandDeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for 1 night, with another couple. 5 minute walk into shopping area and restaurants. Super-sized double bed, clean bathroom, great choice for breakfast. Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vezwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very well appointed hotel in an excellent location close to the theatres and the river. Breakfast is a comprehensive buffet. Didn't realize it can come in the room price. Explains why a cup of tea looked very pricey on first visit. Parking not free but probably a bargain as it is convenient and may even beat local parking fees. Pleasant modern rooms as you would expect from a major chain. Good value overall if you book in advance. We have paid a lot more for less.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newagincourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel is located as you enter Stratford upon Avon. It's easy to find and car parking is available for £5. This is a good deal as car parking is expensive in Stratford. We left the car in the car park after check out and the hotel are ok about this.
Check in was good, nice friendly staff and welcoming. The hotel is an old building but looks like its had a recent revamp. We checked into our two executive rooms and one of them had faulty air conditioning. Telephoned reception and the service was first class. The maintenance guy turns up (he's worked at the hotel for years - always a good sign in my book) and fixed it.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are too many lovely places to eat in Stratford. We did have a drink by the river in the hotels bar and this was reasonably priced for a hotel.
Stratford centre is a beautiful 2 min walk away. I would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend to others. I am fussy and insist on good service and clean rooms ! This hotel was all of these things. There was also an indoor pool but I never used it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing