We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location for town centre”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night for a works party that we were having in town. The hotel is conveniently located and is within easy walking distance of town. Taxis are reasonably priced, only £4 back at 2.00am. There's a large car park (£5 extra) but easy to find and park in.

The rooms are spacious and fairly comfortable for a nights stay (pillows were hard but you can change them to soft ones!) The nights team were lovely when we came in, extremely friendly even at 3am. Easy to order food/drinks at reception.

Would definitely stay again if I was visiting the area. Great hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    909
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
398
935
49
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a typical "boxy" hotel catering to bus-tours, short-stay travelers and conferences from our observations. The parking charge was a surprise given that the regular room price in late May 2012 was surprisingly steep for a very little added-value room.

We're Brits vacationing from the U.S. with our U.S. son-in-law travelling with our daughter and 18-month old. He was VERY happy that "finally it was place where everything was familiar"! American's should find it just like a U.S. hotel...

Plusses:
1. VERY close to everything.
2. Rooms on the North/East side are very quiet once the park clears.
3. A/C was actually unobtrusive until cranked up.
4. Comfortable beds - coming from a memory-foam mattress, this was a very pleasant surprise and made for a good night's sleep.
5. Plenty of parking.

Negatives:
1. The TV's are OLD and in room movies are all pay-per (should be complimentary given $$$ room rates).
2. You get one "free" parking slot per day - 5 quid a day otherwise. Our validated ticket was gulped by the auto-barrier so it really was a one-admittance a day thing.
3. Plastic cups.
4. No refrigerator.
5. Characterless.
6. Go to BHS (about 400 yards away, very walkable) for a good, much cheaper, breakfast! The Hotel breakfast rate is scandalous.

Room Tip: Request a room on the North or East side - away from the busy Warwick Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Two nights at this hotel. Very easy parking for rental car in hotel grounds. Restaurant service left a bit to be desired but lovely restaurants are within walking distance of hotel in the fabulously old and fascinating little village of Statford-upon-avon. Hotel was easy to find with the Navman.
Rooms were spacious and clean. No laundry for guests in hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is large Hotel in a prime location and as such could be so much better. Considering the large number of overseas guests I was surprised at the lack of attention to detail. The room I was allocated was in need of some decoration and considering it was an executive room the little niceties such as a bottle of water and some biscuits available on arrival have been now been stopped. The food we were served for lunch was extremely limited in choice and was not particularly appetising. Drinks are expensive such as £10 for a large gin and tonic, it was no surprise that the waterside seating areas were devoid of residents on what was a lovely day. Internet access and parking are also on top of the room rate which is high anyway due to the hotels location and obvious demand from overseas guests. The SPA pool is tiny and is only really a plunge pool, there is a Sauna and a steam room both of which were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WM-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear WM-Travel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

the room was not cleaned until late afternoon. and had to ask for clean towels .We stayed in the executive rooms we never got free water or dressing gowns and the heating never worked. staff on the front desk unfriendly and bed uncomfortable

Room Tip: make sure you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear linda l,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is my regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues with housekeeping, the heating, and the front desk staff. We do appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good food. comfortable beds. could just walk in to town to all sites. Bar meals and drinks rather expensive. had meal in restaurant
in our deal and that was good. Not too happy about paying £5 a day parkin, i feel should be included.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186356Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A functional hotel which was not the most inspiring building in the centre of Stratfird, but for a business trip arriving late and departing early was more then sufficient for my needs on this trip.

A quiet and comfortable hotel with a spacious clean room. Check-in was quickly and efficiently processed. Room service was served promptly after ordering. The room had a great view of the river which was an added bonus.

Breakfast in the morning was self service - not the most exciting selection but adequate none-the-less.

Checkout and taxi bookings were handled in a prompt and friendly manner too.

Travelling on business I would stay here again as it is very convenient for the centre of town and a quick taxi ride to the railway station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotborderstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing