We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, but...”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I can't help but agree with comments that the hotel is 'tired'. It is clearly in need of the same refresh that other hotels have enjoyed...that said, though, it could not be better situated to enjoy Stratford, and the staff were all very peasant and helpful so I wouldn't write it off completely!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear katyoxford,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were all pleasant throughout your visit.

Although there have been views expressed that the hotel is tired in appearance, I feel that the services and facilities we provide make up for the traditional feel about the hotel.

We will be going through a refurbishment within the next three years with our televisions being updated first later this year.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    942
    417
    127
    59
See reviews for
422
994
50
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is ideally located within minutes of the town and right on the River Avon. My room was very large indeed, really clean and whilst a little dated it was fine. The bed was huge with a selection of different pillows to choose from and lovely crisp clean sheets. The bathroom was fine with an excellent shower, very powerful with plenty of hot water.

The grounds are lovely, and comfortable and pleasant outside area with plenty of seating. All communal area's are in good order. The prices on the bar menu and room service menu are reasonable. The wine list is a fair price too.

There is a vending machine in the lobby for those items you may have forgotten. Check in and check out were both swift and easy. Breakfast was very good, I was attending a conference and the dinner was also fine.

It really is so central you can just walk across the road to the most picturesque part of the lake where beautiful swans, ducks and geese are plentiful. Lots of well preserved houseboats line the river, statues and gardens make the walk most enjoyable.

I will without a doubt return to this hotel so that I can see more of Stratford upon Avon. Tax from Birmingham airport was £92 and worth every penny!

All staff I came across were very polite, helpful and appeared to enjoy their work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear bessieb,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us across the board.

I’m glad you enjoyed your meals with us too; we strive to achieve the highest possible standard for our guests.

Location is one of the most important aspects about a hotel and we are very lucky to be situated near central Stratford and be surrounded by such beautiful scenery.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the The Stratford for the weekend on a B&B basis. We arrived a hour before check in and are room was ready. Our room was spotlessly clean with lovely decor. Bed was comfortably, my only grip was pillows were to hard for my liking but my partner slept well.
Breakfast was self service and a good choice, staff on hand should you need them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England-Grew up Largo, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is an old hotel which IHG have obviously bought and completely renovated and turned into a Holiday Inn. They have done a really good job and it's far nicer than it used to be years ago.

Rooms are comfortable but very small. Beds are about as comfortable as you can get.

In terms of location you can't get better as it's a few hundred yards to the centre of Stratford and the river.

I didn't eat in the restaurant so couldn't comment but I had room service and it was great food and service was fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Nick B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that the appearance of our hotel impressed you, we are very proud of our building.

I am glad your bed was comfortable and that you enjoyed the food from room service.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Comfy bed and large quiet room with lovely bathroom..Set next to river Avon. enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffet style. loved the indoor pool and whirlpool.
Town of Stratford Upon Avon 5minutes walk from Hotel. No traffic in quaint down town ;with many shops and restaurants . Visited Shakespeare birth place with beautiful garden.Enjoyed river Avon cruise right outside the hotel.saw lots of ducks and Swans Went for a long walk along river behind the hotel. Short walk to the Theatre. and to Holy Trinity church. Staff were very attentive.We never needed to use our car the 3days we were in Stratford upon Avon .
Very good price at $80 for room with breakfast if booked 6weeks ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room with full bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear sirterry,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our idyllic location, it is often one of the main areas we are complimented on.

I am happy that your room, food and our staff were all satisfactory, I have passed your compliments on to the staff.

I hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy even more of what Stratford upon Avon has to offer it’s visitors.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

An ideal location for sightseeing with good parking. We were on the 3rd floor ( room a little dated but clean air con worked a treat during the recent hot spell,
Breakfast and dinner very good A special mention to the Food and beverage manager Sri Neelala who supervised his team with miltary precision. All staff were very friendly and most helpful
Prices Do your homework the same room can vary in cost considerably

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carysfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear carysfort,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford.

I am very happy to read such a glowing review of our hotel. I have passed your kind words to our Food & Beverage Manager and to our staff for all being helpful and friendly.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel has obviously been around a while. The building isn't the most attractive from the outside, but it is set in a lovely section of Stratford with waterside tables and dining.

The reception is stunning, and really looks the part. The staff are great and were very responsive. I spent around 5 weeks in the hotel on and off, they were friendly, helpful and responsive.

The reception quickly fades when you get in to the corridors headed for your room. The corridors go on for ever and have tired look, that is somewhat depressing. The rooms are clean, tidy, and comfortable, but carry on the tired look. The TV is a conventional CRT screen. All the rooms have air-conditioning, but in half the rooms I stayed in it didn't actually cool the room, and even when it did a lot of the time it rattled and squeaked so much I had to turn it off to sleep. The executive rooms seemed to have the best air-conditioning, low noise and worked effectively. A lot of the windows didn't appear to shut completely, with a gap around the edge letting in noise and air, fortunately the hotel is well set back from the road so there is minimal noise from outside. The showers were powerful and maintained a perfectly stable temperature.

Over all this is a nice hotel, if they could just fix the aircon and make the windows shut it would have made the stay a lot more pleasant. A referb is in order... but it is still a nice clean hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, and you can open the windows to have the wind blow through. Executive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trikkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Trikkitt,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford.

I’m pleased to read that your room was clean, tidy and comfortable and that our staff were always responsive and helpful.

I am sorry that the air conditioning affected your quality of sleep, if you could email your name, room number and date of stay to rm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com I will ensure that someone from maintenance checks all the air con units out.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing