We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Booked for it's central location and the price of the 2 night B&B deal, we weren't expecting too much. However although the outside is very plain, the inside was a pleasant surprise, bright open modern reception area, friendly staff good size clean rooms with comfortable beds. Breakfast was really good standard. Location is excellent for the river, theatres and town centre.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear SteveAndKaySurrey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us including your meals and our location.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    891
    390
    113
    50
See reviews for
394
913
48
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have been a few times and with Holiday Inn you know what to expect. good Service Good Beds and rooms spot on. Our evening meal was perfect and we was well looked after by curtious staff attentive with out being over bearing.

well satified customer. Well done holiday inn , I also read reports on TV they are expanding through out the world as they know for a chain hotel how to get it right.

Room Tip: Ask more to be more near by the lift as we found it a long walk to our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester12girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear manchester12girl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We always strive to deliver the best possible standards of service to our guests and by your review, I am proud that we achieved that.

I have passed your kind words about our staff onto them and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We went to Stratford Upon Avon for the World Shakespeare Festival. When viewing the pictures of the different hotels I noticed the 60's no nonsense design and somehow thought to give that hotel a try as older hotels normally have better locations and have a more generous lay out. We were not disappointed. The location on the river with a splendid garden meant that we had a great few hours after exploring the town and going to the theater.
The rooms are basic but decent. Breakfast a joy. Most of all the friendly staff got our accolades.
For less than GBP 100 you get a lot.
There is also a well equipped gym & a small pool.

Room Tip: Try a room that has a high floor number as the corridors are l o n g
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvw1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear jvw1965,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for the World Shakespeare Festival. We are surrounded by some utterly stunning scenes and I am very pleased you managed to spend time enjoying them.

I have sent you kind words about our staff and the breakfast onto everyone at the hotel, and I am very pleased that you found us to be good value for money.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed 3rd till 8th August 2012, paid extra for executive room. Upon arival, a little early, reception staff were abrupt , were told Come back later, not invited to wait in lounge or on patio. Outside patio great location, When we went to room, no bathrobes, bottled water , or toiletries as per website booking, this corrected upon complaint & on subsequent days , Faulty light in bathroom, strobing , cold water tap to washbasin did not dispence cold water properly, only trickled, fungus behind bath taps. Bed as big as yorkshire but linnen tired & old looking , room needs redecorating, wallpaper torn in places. All in all not the 4 star upgrade we expected. Breakfast at £10 each dissapointig, eggs like bullets, cold coffee, toaster only toasted one side, wifeonly had continental but were charged full £10, not good value.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere if you want 4 star with upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear MattG33,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your quality of stay with us. I can only apologise for the way our reception staff acted and I am looking into this particular incident as we usually receive rave reviews about our staff.

If you could email me on rm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay, I will send someone from maintenance to look at the water pressure and light in your bathroom.

Also if you wish to discuss any issues you had further please don’t hesitate in emailing me on the address above.

Kind regards,

Simon Dearden
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Great town location by the river Avon. This is a modern hotel with good facilities and clean rooms. The buffet breakfast is excellent, but we had the evening meal on the first night and were disappointed not to receive waiter(ess) service and a choice from a menu instead of from a buffet counter. However the gammon joint, roast potatoes and particularly the gravy were exceptional (we complimented the chef) The wi-fi service cost £7 per day so didn't bother and went to local pub where it was free!! The parking was £5 per day but the central location in Stratford balanced that out. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Corb77,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay with us and the location of the hotel. We strive to achieve the highest possible standards for our guests and I am pleased that your comments on the cleanliness of the rooms and food reflect this.

In regards to our WiFi prices, we do offer complimentary 30 minuet WiFi access in our lounge area and would be more than happy to furnish you with the appropriate vouchers should you visit the hotel again in the future

I hope to see you in the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Tired rooms and towels with holes in! We visited this hotel 2 years ago during the winter and loved it. Perfect location coupled with a room with a good view so we thought "why not go back and enjoy the setting in the sunshine?" What a let down. We were greeted with a "welcome back" from the reception clerk who booked us in, making us feel like they appreciated the fact that we had returned. When we got to the room however we didnt feel very welcomed! There was scaffolding outside the window, so we asked to move. We were moved to the other side of the corridor overlooking what i believe to be the swimminng pool or restaurant. Although we were disappointed with such an ugly view we just thought that was the luck of the draw. We were woken promptly at 8am the next morning by what sounded like huge fans, so noisy you couldn't sleep through it. Again we complained and were moved to the 3rd floor. What I don't understand is why they would have considered that an acceptable move. 2 nights and 3 different rooms. Came away for a relaxing weekend and went home feeling stressed!

Room Tip: Take your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear cookie3_11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am sorry that you were relocated during your stay which left you feeling stressed when you wanted to relax.

If you would like to discuss your issues further, please do not hesitate to email rm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay, we would only be too happy to discuss them further.

Once again, I’m extremely sorry that you did not experience the level of comfort and relaxation that you should have while staying with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

Kind regards,

Simon Dearden
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

You know what you get with Holiday Inn. It's a little tired and there are the inevitable extras to pay for; in my case parking at £5 a day and wi-fi at £10 for 24 hours. The room is fine and has air-con although it's a large hotel and the rooms can be some way from reception and a long way to carry bags. The location is excellent, right in the middle of Stratford and in stumbling distance of Shakespeare's birthplace. Because of this I didn't eat in the hotel but eat in the nearby pubs and restaurants, which provide more choice and better value than the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HostMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Ian T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and how close we are to some of England’s most historic buildings.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing