We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Short Break”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hotel staff were friendly and made the stay enjoyable. Only let down was the room. It was dated and the bed was too big for the room which meant little space for me and my 3 year old son. Great area outdoors for my little one to play and was next to the river. They have a great play area for the children, however it is out of view and there are no chairs nearby for you to relax whilst your children play. Food was very good and a great menu for the kids. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. We were looking forward to using the pool but due to an incident in the morning the pool was closed for 24 hours for cleaning.

I would return but would ask for a better room as judging by the pictures they certainly have better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the centre of the hotel, not on the end such as 3079.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaBarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear CarlaBarrett,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us though your room appeared to be too small for yours and your son’s needs.

Our play area is very popular amongst the guests children as it gives them a chance to get outside and have fun like children should. Thank you for your comments about needing seats, we will look into that.

I hope you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    923
    401
    116
    56
See reviews for
406
956
50
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very nicely located, right next to the Stratford-Upon-Avon river, the hotel is 7 minutes walk from Shakespeare's house.

The hotel has good parking space and good rooms. The service is average.
The hotel mainly aims at people checking in for a day and can be very un-entertaining for people wanting to stay on for an extended stay basis. The TV hardly shows any entertaining channel, and there's almost no activity in the neighbourhood that can keep you engaged.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Sanjay_GT,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the location of our hotel, it is in a beautiful area.

Typically Stratford has a very relaxed atmosphere, but if you are seeking entertainment we have a variety of leaflets in the hotel reception containing information on attractions nearby.

As stated in previous responses, the televisions in all the rooms will soon be updated with flat screens that include Freeview.

I hope you return to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This sixties looking hotel is a bit deceptive, bland on the outside but very welcoming inside, I found the staff helpful and friendly, the hotel is sited right next to the river and central to the town centre which makes it perfect. Remember the £5 parking charge but also that everywhere in Stratford charges £4-5 to park all day. My room was clean and comfortable so no complaints there. Shame Wifi was a bit expensive !

Room Tip: Make sure your close the lift or you could have a long walk to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingTheDreamGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear KEVINM67,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your room was to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stike on trent
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few times in the past but have decided not to go back as it is not as it was a couple of years back.
Overall expensive as cleanliness was not up to standard, Bathroom was in need of a good scrub on door and paintwork. Lack of toiletries provided. Just 1 tiny shampoo and 1 tiny foam bath between 2 people. Decor and paintwork in bedroom also grubby and in need of re doing.

Great position in Stratford thou and breakfast plentiful and lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Laura l,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am sorry to read that you won’t be returning to us in the future. I can assure you that the hotel will be going through a very thorough update within the next few years and it would be lovely to see you return.

If you would like to discuss any issues you had with the hotel, such as cleanliness, please email rm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com with your name, room number and date of stay as I would like the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Simon Dearden
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location of the hotel couldn't be better for those with a car and do not want to deal with driving through an old city full of narrow one-way streets and pedestrians - it is right on the edge of the city and a pleasant 3 minute walk will take you into the city and all the attractions. The hotel has a big parking lot with lots of spaces. Check-in took a while - we booked a family room thru the Holiday Inn website but somehow they ran out. However, they gave us two connecting doubles instead, and both rooms were simple but very spacious. Breakfast was excellent and the view of Avon was very lovely from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twodiamondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear twodiamondmom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and even though there was a mistake at check-in I’m glad it was resolved and you could enjoy your stay.

I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we always want to make sure our guests go out full and happy when exploring Stratford.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have stayed here twice before and once again the hotel didnt disappoint. It is in a lovely location on the banks of,the river. You can sit outside and watch the world go by, very tranquil. The hotel is close to the town centre and Shakespeare town properties. The rooms are ample size for a short break. You do have to pay for the parking though. The breakfast is well organised and good selection of food which was lovely. Would definately stay there again.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank elaine61gcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear elaine61gcg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sitting by the river and just letting the world go by really is relaxing isn’t it?

I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Check in very good and speedy, room ok not spotless but clean, ring from a bath plug in the corner of the bathroom but a new one fitted to the bath, carpets were flat in walking areas could have done with a refresh,dinner carvery, was acceptable but not 4* hotel standard, Beef underdone not even rare in the centre Chef very helpful and cooked again, this made it tough vegetables limited but what was there was of good quality and plenty of it.
Staff in restaurant exceptionable friendly and this made the other guests extremely friendly.
Bar staff good and friendly to children.
Breakfast ok and plentiful of reasonable quality.
We had a room that an extract started and stopped just below, this did not cause a problem in the night but if you wanted an afternoon nap this would be problematic.
location of the Hotel is good and some good walks around
This Hotel charges for car parking which is not shown as it should be as I booked this room on the telephone and I was not informed, this effects the rate you pay and so is an underhanded method of increasing the room rate in my opinion, I would not have booked this room as there were similar in the locality for a similar rate with free parking hence cheaper overall cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear dlhdon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday inn Stratford upon Avon.

I am pleased to read that you thought of us as a good hotel and our staff were helpful and good with our guests.

In regard to our carpets, the hotel will be getting a full update within the next few years. As per my email message to you, my apologies once again that you were not made aware of the car parking fee at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Simon Dearden
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing