We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very conveniently located for the theatre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located for the theatre.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Have stayed 3 times now and not been disappointed. Easy parking and just across the road to the theatre. Lovely outdoor area beside the river. Good breakfast. Rooms clean and have everything you need. Service seems good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiehappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear yorkiehappybunny,

Thank you for your review of your stay with our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we’ve never disappointed you. Our location is picturesque, especially our outside seating area by the river and I hope you managed to enjoy it.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    939
    412
    123
    59
See reviews for
416
988
50
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Holiday Inn Stratford over the long-weekend Saturday 25th & Sunday 26th August as we took in the "Bollywood" production of "Much Ado About Nothing" at the Courtyard Theatre and generally immersed ourselves in all things Shakesperian. The Hotel was all in all a convenient base; it certainly wins no prizes for architecture, ambiance or character and has all of the innate hallmarks of a "convention centre" which would make the perfect setting for a travelling salesman's conference. There are only X2 lifts at one end of a meandering set of long corridors, which means that there is a bit of a route march to get to the rooms at the far end of the building (we were in 3040) which took an age to get to once we got out at the 3rd Floor lift.. The rooms are clean and (if facing the river ...the odd numbered rooms) quite picturesque; if like us, you have been allocated an even numbered room, then the views are less green and bucolic as we overlooked the car-park with only a few trees then to soften the scene. The bar staff were courteous, if a bit stiff and starchy; the breakfast though was very good, well presented, with excellent service attached. Overall as a base alone, not a bad place to stay but just a bit souless, detached and not really in tune with the general feeling of charm, history and warmth which the rest of Stratford had to offer

Room Tip: Try to get an odd numbered room ...the lower number the better ...That way you have less far to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Cooperkingdom,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Stratford upon Avon for your Shakespearian weekend and found us to be comfortable and our staff polite.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The location is terrific - a short walk from the RSC theater and town. The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. The down side - the rooms are large and clean but need upgrading. The technology is ancient - the TV was barely adequate and the wireless internet was slow.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear AFusco,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon and particularly your kind comments regarding the reception staff.

We will shortly be starting the television replacement project where all are rooms will have new smart flat screen tv’s.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We loveStratford and this hotel is so convenient, we paid £62 per night for a family room including breakfast. The rooms are adequate, my daughter moaned a bit about the sofa bed, but for the price and location I think it is really good value

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnsdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear dnsdq,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave feedback on your stay with our hotel.

I’m really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value for money. I hope you had the chance to enjoy Stratford while you were with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Good hotel in excellent location. Public areas are clean spacious and fitting 4 star accommodation. Unfortunately it appears that cost cutting measures are in place in the guest areas. The showers have little or no power, the towels were heavily stained and although shampoo was provided there was no conditioner. Tea tray did not have biscuits. I'm sorry but i have stayed in 2 star which provide these at a£30 a night let alone £100 plus. On the good side excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff; again though £5 a night to park! Little things that giggle and spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katymc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Katymc226,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location. I am sorry that some little details spoiled what should have been a perfect stay. I will take note of your comments and ensure they are acted upon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to go to the theatre and to visit relatives nearby. We chose it because of the location and the plentiful car parking, and got a good price of £80 per night for a double room and breakfast by booking 3 weeks in advance through the Holiday Inn website.

The nicest thing about the hotel is the riverside garden and terrace, very pleasant to sit in with a glass of wine if the weather is good. The restaurant staff at breakfast time were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast itself was decent although exorbitantly priced at £14.95 if you were paying for it separately.

Our room was clean and reasonably comfortable although distinctly tired, and both the decor and the furnishings really needed refreshing. We wondered if you would get a better room if you were on a different rate. There was the usual gripe for hotels of this type, of very expensive internet access which we therefore did not use.

We felt we got what we paid for, and everything worked efficiently. We probably would stay there again if we got a decent rate, but it's not a hotel to be enthusiastic about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Anne123,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with the hotel.

I am pleased to read that our staffs were friendly and you enjoyed your stay and our location.
We are looking at refurbishing our rooms starting with replacing the televisions within the next few months with new flat screen smart tv’s.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel is very central, walking distance from the high street, with beautiful chops and little winding streets. You can also walk to the Swan Theatre and the Courtyard Theatre and many other sites related to Shakespeare. The boats and park are across the road so you donot need a car once you are here.
The hotel staff are, on the whole very friendly and helpful, although I was a bit disappointed that the receptionist we asked did not know where the Courtyard Theatre was and did not offer to find out.
The restaurant was very good. As Muslims, we were delighted to find that some of the meat served was halal so we could enjoy the carvery. The chef was so obliging and catered to the needs of our party, including one rather particular member of our family.
The pool is rather small but the children enjoyed it.
The best part of the day was sitting outside on the fabulously comfy garden furniture of an evening, overlooking the river and enjoying the views and a drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMU99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear DMU99,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review about your stay with our hotel.

I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we catered for everyone’s needs so you were able to enjoy everything we have to offer.

I hope to see you all again soon.

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing