We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Good reception on arrival and allocation of room well away from lifts was fine, but pity it was near to a party room which fortunately finished at 12pm.
Room clean and overlooked garden area, but TV so outdated with a very poor visual picture.
Breakfast OK but very crowded and a bit like a canteen with no tablecloths and mugs without saucers and used spoons had to be put on the table. However position in town very good indeed,being close to the theatre and the shoppping area. Poor leaving experience as had booked and paid in advance for bed and breakfast but found a charge of £27 for breakfast + £ 5 for car park. Fortunately had confirmation of booking with me and could prove what the booking was. Don't mind the parking fee but reception should get their bookinks right.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnison44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear susan g,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. I’m sorry for the slight mix-up when you checked out, we work very hard to try and ensure mistakes like that don’t occur but as check out is an extremely busy time of day for us, sometimes errors occur.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Stratford upon Avon holiday inn is in a good location for site seeing.its close to all the fun.Right by the river side.pleasant environment especially in the summer.It's a little love nest.good for a family day away.Hotel is the usual holiday in standard but location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Gwenje,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of our hotel.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be perfect for a family day out or sightseeing. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Very welcoming reception. Lovely room. Did not have evening meal but superb breakfast. Close to river, theatre and town centre for shops. Definitely worth another visit (when I can afford the shops again).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Baz6,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed everything we have to offer to our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel was in fantastic location minutes from town centre parking was £5 all weekend breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice will definitely use this hotel again nothing negative to say at all and Stratford upon Avon is a great place to visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maynardmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Maynardmarie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will definitely use us again when you next visit this beautiful city.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This was our fourth time at this hotel in the last 10 years, prices have increased quite a lot, but location is just great.
Our room was a double, we paid in total £278 (with breakfast) plus £10 for parking for the Friday & Saturday night and couldn't believe you had to pay for Wi-Fi. About time this Holiday Inn came into the 21st century when basic hotels and B&B have it for free!!
The staff here are just brilliant, nothing is too much trouble.
Just a 2 minute walk away is the town with lovely shops, pubs, restaurants and of course Shakespeare's house and the RSC Theatre.
The double room we had was spacious, clean and had a lovely view of the river, but was surprised by the old looking TV, not a flat screen TV that hotels worldwide have now.
Breakfast is great, good selection of quality food to choose from.
There is a indoor pool guests can use, and on warm sunny days a great terrace overlooking the river to sit on while enjoying a drink from the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear BlackpoolMouse,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will return to us in the future. I will pass your kind words onto our staff as they work very hard to ensure that our guest’s stays are as comfortable as possible. We are about to start our television update to flat screen, Smart TV’s in all our rooms which will be a great improvement.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and i had stayed at this hotel previously and found it to be very good but standards seemed to have slipped. I asked for skimmed milk for my room and was told they did not have any! At breakfast i could not get a fresh cup of tea. All in all the staff were uninterested. The bathroom was in need of a good scrub. Location is brilliant and cost was average but probably would not stay here again. The local pubs were great for food and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Nicky G,

I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not go as planned, but thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to take your comments and pass them along to our team members when training in the future.

As I am not able to track your booking from the information on this website, if you would like to discuss your stay with me, please feel free to contact me on rm.histratford@qmh-hotel.com

Kind regards,

Simon Dearden
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

A holiday inn just like any holiday inn.
Could be anywhere.

Rooms good size, clean, quiet. Good value.

Breakfast plentiful.

Just no Shakespearean charm. Which is a bit of a pity given its location, but unsurprising given it's name.

Great pub nearby for meals.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevrah140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear kevrah140908,

Thank you for reviewing your stay for us.

I’m pleased to read your stay was satisfactory and you enjoyed our location. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing