We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked through our corporate agent and stayed one night in May 2013. The agent hadn't sent through my Priority Club details and there were no executive rooms left, but that's not the fault of the hotel. The room was fine anyway - larger than many with a king size bed and adequate bathroom.

It's a shame they charge for the privilege of parking on site, but that's a minor niggle.

A colleague and I had dinner in the bar. Mine went back to finish cooking, but it was all dealt with nicely by the bar staff and, when it came back, the food was basic but good. And it wasn't excessively expensive like some hotels.

I was first in the queue for breakfast, and a good job too. A tour was leaving that morning and everyone came down at 7am meaning it was quite busy. However the self service buffet was replenished and there were no issues.

All in all, this was a good stay and I am sure I will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Brightone2,

Thank you for taking spending time on a review.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    891
    390
    113
    50
See reviews for
393
913
48
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We attended the BITA Ball at this Holiday Inn,the service and food were very good.However,the rooms were dated and nothing special they need refurbishment. For the room rate charged there should be A/C and thicker walls.We booked an exec.room but we were greeted with a letter saying they were overbooked!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lifts or you will walk a long way to your room it is a big hotel over only 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Gerry J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel was lovely...definately will be back...nothing to much trouble...the room was large and spacious...we had an executive facing the theatre which we had requested....we were allowed to keep the car in the carpark until we were ready to leave stratford which was excellent as it was Bank Holiday monday and there was a vintage car rally on around the town...

Room Tip: we had one facing the theatre...as I wasnt sure what you would see facing the river as there were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Jasper59,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and of a high standard with excellent team members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huon, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This would have to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Overpriced, the room as very average for the costs, the fridge did not work and
they could not fix it.
The bar downstairs did not have much in the way of varieties, so was very disappointed thinking that this was an Internatioanl Hotel.
The only highlight was a staff member, who tidied up in the breakfast area, who was so kind to the visitors and so helpful- He was the one thing that made out stay bearable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannechris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Joannechris0,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to restore your faith in Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon and would appreciate it if you would email me on gm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay. I am pleased, however, to read that a particular team member stood out and they reflected the service you will receive with us.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here in a quick bank holiday break with my partner and the location is superb . Parking is easy and plentiful and only a £5 a stay. Cheap for Stratford. Hotel bar stayed open until 1:30am as it was busy even though its stated hours were 22:30. Staff very very helpful and couldn't do enough. Overall at £64 for a king size bedded room I don't think you could getter better value for money in Stratford. Don't forget to try the hotels lovely terrace overlooking the river.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Sifowles,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We booked a room for 2 adults and our 2 children for one night so that we could have a weekend break in Stratford. The hotel was very pleasant, clean, and the staff were very helpful throughout. The location is great as it's very near the town centre and the RSC theatre - we wre able to check into the hotel early before going to a matinee at the theatre. We didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel - we walked to a restaurant (lots within easy walking distance) - but we had breakfast which was very good - standard fare but lots of it, and they cooked me some poached eggs on request, no problem at all. The swimming pool is fine, very warm, if a bit small, and there is a small jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room all at no additional cost. Parking cost £5 for the whole weekend which wasn't bad as I think parking is at a premium in Stratford. All in all we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Howard F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that we were the perfect base for exploring Stratford. I am happy that you found no issues with breakfast and enjoyed everything you experienced in our hotel. I hope to welcome you in the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we found our room was not ready despite the 3pm guarantee, having to sit around waiting was not ideal having travelled a considerable distance. When we eventually were allocated a room we had to get the bedding changed as it was heavily stained, our friends also had to do the same as the duvet had fragments of hair over it. In the communal areas of the hotel a large bridge tournament was beginning which meant a lot of activity setting up all conference rooms, not particularly relaxing!!!

Staff were pleasant and dealt with any issues promptly.
Would not return!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comcare25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Comcare25,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am very sorry to read that you had an issue with your room but I’m happy our team members were pleasant and efficient in solving the problem. We regularly have larger events in the hotel due to the fact that although we are in a leisure destination, we also have large conference and event areas. The Midlands is usually a popular destination for conferences for national companies and associations. We feel that we can combine both types of guests well and my team is well prepared to deal with this. What is not acceptable is to find rooms which are not totally ready for arriving guests, whether this is for the arrival time or for the cleanliness in the room.

I would like to reiterate my sincere apologies for this. It is not our usual standard and I do hope that my reassurances will not deter your from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing