We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby rooms - local Premier Inn much nicer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shabby rooms - local Premier Inn much nicer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel and one in the waterside premier inn a few miles away.

This Holiday Inn was dated and in need of a refurb. Bar and restaurant was nice but restaurant service not so good with the waiter managing to spill drink over us.

For a four star hotel this was poor.

In comparison I stayed the night in the Premier inn the night before. It was modern, comfortable and great service and cheaper.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EssexOakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear EssexOakley,

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us, whilst I was surprised that you compared us to the local Premier Inn, I have noted your comments for the future. In terms of the waiter spilling a drink on you, I`m sure that this was an accident and the member of staff was most sorry that it happened.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    859
    380
    110
    50
See reviews for
378
861
47
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

As a Priority Club member, I find I come across mixed standards of Holiday Inn Hotels.

This one was on the poorer side but I cansee it is a work in progress. The foyer and public areas have obviously been refurbished and are impressive but the corridors are tired and marked and need work. Air conditioning in room was OK as was the room, no fridge and no in-room safe. Firm beds and pillows.

We had a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant.

I think this will be a lovely hotel once it is fully refurbished as Stratford on Avon is a wonderful area and the public areas of the hotel are delightful to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatscott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear GreatScott24,

Thank you for your feedback.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back in the future to see what our hotel will offer soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last christmas and since then has had a refurb in the bar and restaurant and I must say it looked really good. This visit was a short stay and served its purpose, the room was clean and breakfast good. A little disappointed that wifi is not free, which I don't understand as so many places offer it free now.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Simon B,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Attended a conference at the Holiday Inn. My room was clean and functional, nothing grand, but adequate. The only disappointments were firstly that the bed sheet was too small for the bed and didn't cover the mattress at the top where the pillows were. Secondly, in the bathroom there was only a very slight dribble of cold water from the tap, it seemed to dispense only hot water and the shower was hopeless
The refurbishment of the conference areas has been tastefully done and provided a nice environment
The best thing, which really was noticeable compared with last year, was the quality of the food. The conference dinner was superb - I could not fault it. Breakfast was also good and the lunch on the second day was also excellent. Well done Holiday Inn for the best conference catering I have experienced

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Traveller2611,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found that we had improved since your last stay. I’m delighted that you found our meals are excellent and of the highest quality. I will

be sure to send you kind words onto our restaurant team. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Free wifi?? NO SIR NOT EVEN IN THE LOBBY!!!!!!!!!!!!
You can, however have it for £20 for 2 days.
That attitude spoils a distinctly average hotel - such a shame to treat your guests in such a mercenary way.
Yes you guessed - we are NOT going back!

(we are used to free wifi even in Holiday Inn Express!!)

PS Pots of tea only on request at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulofSplott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear PaulofSplott,

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us due to the lack of free WiFi. The Gold and Elite members of our IHG Rewards Club will benefit from free WiFi for the duration of their stay and we hope to make this available for everyone in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the front, this hotel has a bland brick facade with little to recommend its architectural style but at the back, it's another story altogether with a new, light and edgy extension providing lounge and dining areas, patios and landscaped gardens overlooking the river. Room 2060 was spacious with a boring outlook over the roof but it was quite adequate with a bath and good water pressure. The parking is plentiful for 5.00 a day (ask nicely and they may waiver that). The breakfast was self-serve but offered a great range. A short walk to all the sights and very convenient. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear PollardHackett,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything from our recent refurbishment and breakfast to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Recently visited the HI Stratford for a work conference. The new refurbished downstairs is really nice with a lovely area to sit outside on the decking and enjoy drinks. All the rooms my colleagues were in were still very dated, not a lot has changed here. Breakfast was good, although they ran out (and didn't replenish) 15 minutes before close which was frustrating.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Ben P,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I am sorry we stop replenishing 15 minutes prior to the closure of breakfast but this is to minimalise the risk of waste. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing