We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE WEEKEND AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NICE WEEKEND AWAY”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, public rooms recently refurbished to a high standard. A bonus is its locality close to everything such as the river, restaurants, shops etc. Also ample parking available.
Our room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant on one night which was a reasonably priced set meal with a glass of wine. Also there was a bonus of a heated indoor swimming pool and leisure centre that we used.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boby264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Bobby 264,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the new public areas to be to your liking it really does look fantastic!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    906
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
396
933
49
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for Headteachers conference. Excellent grounds, good location, check in efficient, public areas very clean and tidy, food in hotel good standard. Rooms adequate, large, furniture and decor looking a bit tired but perfectly adequate. Noise is an issue if you are a light sleeper, for instance, large ventilator in ceiling of each room gives direct noise access into next room- I have never seen this anywhere in the world. Also, massive gap under door allows sound from corridor I to room. I also heard snoring from next door! Wifi not fast enough and often requires a re- login. Apart from that, great.

Room Tip: Away from lifts for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Jackson850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear David Jackson850,

Delighted to see that you enjoy your stay with us whilst attending the recent head teachers conference, I have noted your comments reference the fan in your room for the future.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed here with friends for a weekend break. The rooms were clean and comfortable with large double beds. the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good.
The hotel is very close to all the main places to visit in the town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodge011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Dodge011,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay here with us at the hotel, I was delighted to read your comments regarding the team and have ensured that they have been passed onto them.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Perfect location in the heart of Stratford. Very close to bars,restaurants, shops etc.
We stayed for one night with the kids. My two girls aged 3 and 8 loved the bunk bed (which we did not expect). Nice spacious room with a good bathroom and TV. We stayed in room 1004 and were initially not happy with the distance the room was from the lobby.It was at the rear of the hotel - the far end. However this worked in our favour as the swimming pool and small out side play area was at this end of the hotel. We were probably as close as you could get to these areas. We used the rear staircase to access the swimming pool within 60 seconds. There was a rear secured entrance which we used before check out to load the car with our luggage (wish i new this on check in)
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would certainly stay again.

The hotel lobby, bar and dining areas gave us the feel of being in a new hotel. We was impressed with the quality of the decour.
Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear AJS2329,

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the bunk beds and the leisure club/play area. The new areas of the hotel do feel very new and really fabulous when staying here.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Not a great looking hotel from the outside and the rooms are fairly dated too but it does exactly what you need for weekend in Stratford being close to the centre of town. The bar, restaurant and reception have all been recently revamped including a nice outside deck which I'm sure would be good for a wedding/conference (though not the outside bit in winter). Only negative is our room (1047) overlooked a lower roof and the roof top plant did make a bit too much noise at times.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PDWFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear PDWFire,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise level prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel in February. Positives - great location, good food and facilities and location. My room however was another matter. Very tired and in need of refurbishment. I had a 2 ft 6 inch single bed, no top sheet with a quilt with no overhang at all. Result was a poor nights sleep, when I complained I was told that hotel was busy so nothing could be done. Not good enough folks - take a lesson from Premier Inn, there I would have gotten a refund.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear MickReynolds,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you encountered did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've stayed here on a few occasions over the years. It's highly convenient being no more than 5 minutes from the theatre, canals, town centre, etc, and that has made the hotel lazy in the past, just catering for mass tourism and the conference trade. However, it's a lovely location with views over the canals. So it is good to see that the hotel has refurbished its public areas and this has been well done. However, they haven't given priority to the bedrooms, which are still dingy and scruffy. My bath was slow to fill and the shower even worse - no water pressure and quite unpleasant. The toilet paper is among the thinnest I've ever come across! Of course, prices have risen to reflect the refurbishment and so expect to pay £5.20 for a bottle of bitter. Breakfast is average - buffet style - and there are much better choices in Stratford for an evening meal. The gym is fine but the pool is far too small to swim comfortably. So, still far to go for this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Roskers,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you were satisfied with our convenient location. We apologize for the disappointment you had with the condition of our facilities and the breakfast you had. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing