We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, will be even better.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Stratford with family for one night in March.
The hotel is in an excellent location, right on the river, opposite the park and the main shopping area is a short walk across the road.
Huge car park onsite!
The downstairs of the hotel is lovely and only recently refurbished.
Hotel corridors are slightly dated but are set to be refurbished.
The rooms are standard Holiday Inn rooms, clean and spacious. Slightly outdated compared to the downstairs of the hotel but understand all rooms are in the process of being refurbished and set to be lovely.
Staff were brilliant, all very friendly and willing to assist with any request.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2010E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear 2010E,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel thus far…As you mentioned when everything is completed it will be truly stunning!!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy the town. There is ample parking space but there is a charge of £5 per night.
The check-in experience was not good and I waited around 20 minutes before someone finally checked me in.
The room was very clean and the bed was large and comfortable however the room was very warm and I did not sleep well.
Breakfast was ok but again the service was not good and a smile would be nice.
Check out was good and very efficient.
Would I come back again ? Maybe but there is a lot of competition in the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear ANDY K,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am happy to know that you like our great location. However, I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the inconsistency in the staff's service during breakfast and room temperature. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, public rooms recently refurbished to a high standard. A bonus is its locality close to everything such as the river, restaurants, shops etc. Also ample parking available.
Our room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant on one night which was a reasonably priced set meal with a glass of wine. Also there was a bonus of a heated indoor swimming pool and leisure centre that we used.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boby264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Bobby 264,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the new public areas to be to your liking it really does look fantastic!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for Headteachers conference. Excellent grounds, good location, check in efficient, public areas very clean and tidy, food in hotel good standard. Rooms adequate, large, furniture and decor looking a bit tired but perfectly adequate. Noise is an issue if you are a light sleeper, for instance, large ventilator in ceiling of each room gives direct noise access into next room- I have never seen this anywhere in the world. Also, massive gap under door allows sound from corridor I to room. I also heard snoring from next door! Wifi not fast enough and often requires a re- login. Apart from that, great.

Room Tip: Away from lifts for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Jackson850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear David Jackson850,

Delighted to see that you enjoy your stay with us whilst attending the recent head teachers conference, I have noted your comments reference the fan in your room for the future.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed here with friends for a weekend break. The rooms were clean and comfortable with large double beds. the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good.
The hotel is very close to all the main places to visit in the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodge011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Dodge011,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay here with us at the hotel, I was delighted to read your comments regarding the team and have ensured that they have been passed onto them.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Perfect location in the heart of Stratford. Very close to bars,restaurants, shops etc.
We stayed for one night with the kids. My two girls aged 3 and 8 loved the bunk bed (which we did not expect). Nice spacious room with a good bathroom and TV. We stayed in room 1004 and were initially not happy with the distance the room was from the lobby.It was at the rear of the hotel - the far end. However this worked in our favour as the swimming pool and small out side play area was at this end of the hotel. We were probably as close as you could get to these areas. We used the rear staircase to access the swimming pool within 60 seconds. There was a rear secured entrance which we used before check out to load the car with our luggage (wish i new this on check in)
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would certainly stay again.

The hotel lobby, bar and dining areas gave us the feel of being in a new hotel. We was impressed with the quality of the decour.
Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear AJS2329,

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the bunk beds and the leisure club/play area. The new areas of the hotel do feel very new and really fabulous when staying here.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Not a great looking hotel from the outside and the rooms are fairly dated too but it does exactly what you need for weekend in Stratford being close to the centre of town. The bar, restaurant and reception have all been recently revamped including a nice outside deck which I'm sure would be good for a wedding/conference (though not the outside bit in winter). Only negative is our room (1047) overlooked a lower roof and the roof top plant did make a bit too much noise at times.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PDWFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear PDWFire,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise level prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing