We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really great place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would highly recommend the hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, it is well decorated with a relaxed continental feel. We had the good fortune of some lovely weather and enjoyed sitting on the riverside terrace (bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel). All the staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in us. We eat twice in the restaurant and the food was good quality whilst good value too. The hotel has a gym and spa. We stayed in an executive room and this was again spotless, comfortable and well maintained with a 2 metre bed. The hotel is centrally located so just 5 minutes walk from the centre. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Mark B,

Wow what a fantastic review of the hotel and your stay, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will ensure that this feedback is passed on to all those concerned.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    942
    417
    127
    59
See reviews for
422
994
50
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Did I stay in the same hotel as others? For £130 a night I though we would have a nice room. But 'not run down' appeared to be an optional extra. The room was very run down - I always thought it odd people who took photos of hotel rooms .... please see the photos.

The Bar - very clever Holiday Inn at having draught beer on sale at £6.50 a pint. It was my fault though as I should have gone round the corner to see the prices displayed.

Breakfast - queued to get in. Wait. Queued about ten minutes for the single coffee machine (the other one was not working). More Wait. No food in trays. More Wait. Some turned up. Cold. More Wait. More Wait. More Wait. Still waiting - perhaps you would like to post my cooked breakfast to me. It did not turn up.

You had the money for three rooms from me. I feel ripped off. I will never go to a holiday inn again. Rubbish.

Room tip - stay at the Premier Inn - it is much much nicer.


However......the view out of the window of the flat roof and the multi storey carpark opposite did give us something to take our minds off things.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank _TA_Hotel_User_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear _TA_Hotel_User_,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although not an inspiring building on the outside, once inside - WOW! The contemporary interior design is very attractive and the public spaces are generous and well laid out. The bedrooms are also generously sized, very comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The on-site car parking is good too. The hotel is an ideal base to explore the town or to visit the RSC, which is a few minutes walk away across parkland.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the river and canal sides are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Crosby Family,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the new public areas to be to your liking it really does look fantastic and is a real hidden gem compared to the outside. That said we are currently having some refurbishment work done on the outside to bring it in line with the rest of the ground floor.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Stratford with family for one night in March.
The hotel is in an excellent location, right on the river, opposite the park and the main shopping area is a short walk across the road.
Huge car park onsite!
The downstairs of the hotel is lovely and only recently refurbished.
Hotel corridors are slightly dated but are set to be refurbished.
The rooms are standard Holiday Inn rooms, clean and spacious. Slightly outdated compared to the downstairs of the hotel but understand all rooms are in the process of being refurbished and set to be lovely.
Staff were brilliant, all very friendly and willing to assist with any request.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear 2010E,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel thus far…As you mentioned when everything is completed it will be truly stunning!!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKS
Level 6 Contributor
1,015 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy the town. There is ample parking space but there is a charge of £5 per night.
The check-in experience was not good and I waited around 20 minutes before someone finally checked me in.
The room was very clean and the bed was large and comfortable however the room was very warm and I did not sleep well.
Breakfast was ok but again the service was not good and a smile would be nice.
Check out was good and very efficient.
Would I come back again ? Maybe but there is a lot of competition in the town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear ANDY K,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am happy to know that you like our great location. However, I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the inconsistency in the staff's service during breakfast and room temperature. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, public rooms recently refurbished to a high standard. A bonus is its locality close to everything such as the river, restaurants, shops etc. Also ample parking available.
Our room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant on one night which was a reasonably priced set meal with a glass of wine. Also there was a bonus of a heated indoor swimming pool and leisure centre that we used.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boby264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Bobby 264,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the new public areas to be to your liking it really does look fantastic!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for Headteachers conference. Excellent grounds, good location, check in efficient, public areas very clean and tidy, food in hotel good standard. Rooms adequate, large, furniture and decor looking a bit tired but perfectly adequate. Noise is an issue if you are a light sleeper, for instance, large ventilator in ceiling of each room gives direct noise access into next room- I have never seen this anywhere in the world. Also, massive gap under door allows sound from corridor I to room. I also heard snoring from next door! Wifi not fast enough and often requires a re- login. Apart from that, great.

Room Tip: Away from lifts for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Jackson850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear David Jackson850,

Delighted to see that you enjoy your stay with us whilst attending the recent head teachers conference, I have noted your comments reference the fan in your room for the future.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing