We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired but being modernised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Stretton-On-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bit tired but being modernised”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very good public areas but rooms very tired . It is fair to say they are refurbishing now so it should get better.
Nice outdoor areas overlooking the river, but they are rather "trendy" and will date badly
Attended for a function of nearly 300 and found excellent food and heavens above a few decent English bottled beers amidst the normal hotel lager fizz rubbish..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldbutsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Baldbutsexy,

Thank You for your comments regarding the hotel and our refurbished ground floor and outside terrace areas. I’m glad you enjoyed your function at the hotel and found the food and drinks available excellent. I have noted you comments about the rooms for when we refurbish them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards

Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    891
    390
    113
    50
See reviews for
393
912
48
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very pleasant hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The room was great and the interior design of the hotel was amazing! Really impressed! Staff all said hello and were very friendly and it was in a great location. A great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Adam C

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our new hotel design amazing. Thank You for commenting on how friendly all our staff are, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel is under major renovation, but we were not disturbed by it. All staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was pretty good, too.
Very good outlook over the river, the bar and restaurant areas are very nice....free parking for residents, too, which makes a change.
My bedroom was a little soulless but had a new mattress, and improved bathroom, was clean and quiet.
The fitting around the sink was boxed in and it was easy to bash yourself getting in and out of the shower.... And some of the corridors to the bedroom looked a bit weary.
Overall, for the location and room rate paid, a very satisfied guest, we are returning in two weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatwickchap.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Gatwick Chap,

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and the team following your stay here with us, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and indeed Stratford upon Avon as a location. I have passed your glowing comments on to the team here at the hotel as they do love to receive praise from our customers.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in 2 weeks!

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in the Holiday Inn one Saturday evening as we were attending an awards dinner. The location is right in the heart of this historic city, plenty of free parking available. Rooms were large though the corridors go on for miles. Our room had a great view of the river. Breakfast was great and staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Get one not too far from the lift otherwise you will have a long walk ahead of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay and attendance of the awards dinner here at the hotel, I will ensure your feedback reaches the team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would highly recommend the hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, it is well decorated with a relaxed continental feel. We had the good fortune of some lovely weather and enjoyed sitting on the riverside terrace (bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel). All the staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in us. We eat twice in the restaurant and the food was good quality whilst good value too. The hotel has a gym and spa. We stayed in an executive room and this was again spotless, comfortable and well maintained with a 2 metre bed. The hotel is centrally located so just 5 minutes walk from the centre. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Mark B,

Wow what a fantastic review of the hotel and your stay, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will ensure that this feedback is passed on to all those concerned.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Did I stay in the same hotel as others? For £130 a night I though we would have a nice room. But 'not run down' appeared to be an optional extra. The room was very run down - I always thought it odd people who took photos of hotel rooms .... please see the photos.

The Bar - very clever Holiday Inn at having draught beer on sale at £6.50 a pint. It was my fault though as I should have gone round the corner to see the prices displayed.

Breakfast - queued to get in. Wait. Queued about ten minutes for the single coffee machine (the other one was not working). More Wait. No food in trays. More Wait. Some turned up. Cold. More Wait. More Wait. More Wait. Still waiting - perhaps you would like to post my cooked breakfast to me. It did not turn up.

You had the money for three rooms from me. I feel ripped off. I will never go to a holiday inn again. Rubbish.

Room tip - stay at the Premier Inn - it is much much nicer.


However......the view out of the window of the flat roof and the multi storey carpark opposite did give us something to take our minds off things.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank _TA_Hotel_User_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear _TA_Hotel_User_,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although not an inspiring building on the outside, once inside - WOW! The contemporary interior design is very attractive and the public spaces are generous and well laid out. The bedrooms are also generously sized, very comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The on-site car parking is good too. The hotel is an ideal base to explore the town or to visit the RSC, which is a few minutes walk away across parkland.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the river and canal sides are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Crosby Family,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the new public areas to be to your liking it really does look fantastic and is a real hidden gem compared to the outside. That said we are currently having some refurbishment work done on the outside to bring it in line with the rest of the ground floor.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Byard
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing