We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for exploring Stratford upon Avon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Stratford upon Avon.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is currently undergoing external (and some internal) renovations. The entrance nearest the reception is currently closed however do not let this concern you, the hotel is perfectly located by a small off-shoot of the river. My Fiancée and I enjoyed a few drinks on the decking by the gas heaters as we watched a Herron sittign in a tree opposite.

The first room we were allocated (1006) was spacious and clean but situated a long way from the lifts. We also had the misfortune of being next to family with a rather loud child who was obviously excited to be stopping in a hotel. Our room and theirs had an interconnecting door which offered very little in the way of sound-proofing but the hotel were understanding and very helpful and moved us the following day.

The second room we had (2043) was much the same as the first as you’d expect; Tidy, clean, spacious and this time not located quite so far from the lift. The view from the room left little to be desired (the roof of the restaurant) but I wasn't there for the view. There was some slight extractor fan noise from the kitchen but nothing that bothered us.

The facilities at this hotel are VERY good. The food (we only ate in the bar, not the restaurant) was excellent and what we saw of the other meals people were having also looked nice. The pizza looked amazing! Drinks were reasonably priced; we were paying around £12 for a pint of Stella Artois and a DOUBLE Tia Maria with Diet Coke.

The spa/pool area was small but the gym equipment looked very modern. (We didn’t use it, only the Sauna, Pool and Jacuzzi). The Steam room was out of order but I did notice a sign saying the Spa and Pool facility will be closed for 2 weeks due to refurbishment. I think only the Spa facilities are being refurbished but the pool will be closed for safety reasons during this time. Sorry, I don’t remember the exact dates, might be worth checking with the hotel if you are stopping in the next month or so.

Stratford itself is only a stone’s throw away from the rear exit and if we were going to visit again we’d certainly stop in this hotel again.

There was plenty of parking, but it is not free as some other reviewers have said. It’s £5 per 24 hours. You must pay at reception on the day you leave, if you pay at the machines you’ll be charged £15 a day!

Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The barman remembered my drinks preference which is always the sign of good staff.

We booked our 3 night stay a few months in advance through booking.com and paid £250. We checked the hotel’s website the week before we left and saw the same stay was £350 so it pays to shop around and plan ahead if you can.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the further the walk from the lift. Even number rooms seem to face out, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TygerCheex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TygerCheex
What a fantastic review, Thank You very much for your kind comments about the hotel. I was sorry to hear we had to move your room on your second day but am very glad that the team were helpful in moving you to a quieter room. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    906
    394
    115
    53
See reviews for
396
933
49
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The entrance, reception ,bar and restaurant are all beautifully done...and immaculate. We ate in the restaurant at night and the food was very nice and very reasonable..and as it was my fathers birthday the staff were all very accommodating..nothing was too much trouble...Our room was nice and spacious, the kids loved the swimming pool and the hotel is only five mins walk from the town centre...would definitely stay again :0)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jason T
Thank You for your generous comments regarding our hotel and staff. I do hope your father enjoyed his birthday at the hotel.
We look forward to your next stay with us

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here on a business trip for one night so didn't get to explore much of the hotel except the reception, bar, restaurant and my room.
Reception and the entire downstairs area of the hotel is really nice. Obviouvsly going through some remodelling and modernisation work and it looks great with the marble floors and contemporary bar area.
My room was a bit of a let down compared to the first impressions i was given from the reception area.
Basic but clean and with all the required facilities you could ask for.
Comfortable bed but a small tv and no bottled water in the room which i believe should be in every hotel room you stay in regardless of the membership level you hold with the hotel chain.
Had breakfast in the hotel which was nice and was plenty of choice.
Would stay here again on business but would look for something a bit more comfortable for a stay with the family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandango86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Pbeck86
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our refurbished reception, bar and restaurant. I have taken note of your comments about the comfort of the rooms for future refurbishments.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a nice little one night break to this glorious city. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast but as we were travelling with our family and a young child we decided a hotel may have more to offer in the way of pool and play area. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had the third floor overlooking the river. However our room had an irritating constant noise which sounded like a generator. It was ok in the day but once I turned out he light for a well earned sleep the noise drove me to distraction . I tried to ignore it but its like an itch you cannot scratch and just became too much for me. Also alongside this was the constant hum of the lift mechanism which added to my irritability. So , much to my husbands annoyance, I rang reception and explained the issues. The receptionist was fantastic and immediately appeared with another key to a quieter room down the hall. This was acceptable although the bed was smaller. We left our belongings in original room as it was getting late and we were both tired.
That was unfortunate but resolved.
Breakfast was lovely. Plentiful and fresh. Self service.
The pool was adequate for children. Pool Towels were small and rough. But we didn't have to take our own or launder them.

The outside terrace area was thoughtfully designed and furnished for a riverside retreat. All the public areas were nice and all staff were very helpful and polite.

Parking was easy. Small charge.
All in all a nice hotel . Excellent location near to all local attractions and amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by lifts. Very noisy if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Saffron11
Thank You for your comments about our hotel, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay. I sorry to hear that you had noise issues with your room, I would like to assure you that the issue has now been resolved by our maintenance team. However I am delighted that your receptionist was efficient with find a new room for you to sleep in to resolve the issue.
I do hope you will consider us for your future visits to Stratford upon Avon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent Easter weekend at this hotel and what a gem. The staff were wonderful and the hotel was looking fantastic. They have refurbished the ground floor and the patio are by the river and it looks fabulous. So very welcoming, clean and fresh. Great to have a cup of tea by the river, sit around the outside fire pit or just relax in one of their funky chairs. Would definately stay again.
We used the pool which was small but great for a relaxing swim, suana and steam.
Great Chef at breakfast who makes lovely poached eggs!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Pat R
Thank you for your generous comments regarding our ground floor refurbishment and staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Chef.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A very relaxing, delightful stay. Very impressive entrance and reception area, with lovely dinning and bar area, with beautiful outdoor sitting area overlooking the river. The only fault was that breakfast time was VERY hectic. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msharonhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Msharonhiggs
Thank You for your comments regarding our newly refurbished ground floor. Unfortunately breakfast can get very busy at peak times, however I am delighted you found the staff pleasant while you waited.
We hope you welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a lovely 2 night break at the Holiday Inn in Stratford. The location is great. The hotel is fab - the bedroom was spacious, the breakfast was great (good selection of food), the staff were lovely, the foyer was really nice to sit in, and the bar staff were lovely. I will definitely go back. The only complaints that I have are that the pool area was small and there were lots of kids in there (it was pretty crowded) and there were no in-room movies, only freeview TV channels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAvK, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear MAMurray
Thank You for your comments about the hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel.
We are due to have some refurbishment work carried out in the Club Moativation which should improve the area you commented on.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Assistant Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing