We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Riverside Terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visited yesterday afternoon with friends from Ireland. I have been to this hotel a few times and it has always been good, but I have to say that the refurbed bar and terrace is absolutely stunning. We spent a lovely couple of hours sat on the contemporary designed terrace on the sun enjoying the riverside views. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stratford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Stratford4

Our new Terrace Patio is indeed stunning and ideal to enjoy the sun shine, I’m very glad you enjoyed it.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,536 - 1,542 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only my second time at a holiday inn. Bedrooms adequate but comfy, bathroom a little tired but OK. Public area, bat and terrace are really lovely and feel very special. We did not eat here so can't comment. But the staff here as at the other holiday inn I have stayed at were so lovely, friendly, cheerful and helpful without being over the top, they really made the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alirea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Alirea

It’s always lovely to hear that our guests find our staff so friendly and helpful and are able to ensure you enjoy your stay. I hope you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night this week. Ample car parking available - the hotel is large and does seem to have sufficient parking. Probably due to all the conferences etc they hold.
Lobby area really is lovely and not what you'd expect to see in a Holiday Inn. Marble and excellent lighting everywhere.
Check in was easy, the receptionist was incredibly helpful and the two ladies did help me with directions ready fir the following morning - I was even provided with a small map, on which she highlighted the roads needed. That was really appreciated.
The hotel is currently undergoing renovation and there were decorators on my floor, but you couldn't smell paint at all in my room. They were very careful to keep telling me where the wet pain was so I didn't brush against it. My room was good. Not refurbished as yet but was large, clean with a good bathroom. Bed was comfy and as always, with a choice of pillows.
I didn't eat in the restaurant but ordered room service. Again the chap on the phone was very helpful. It arrived when he said it would and the lady who brought it couldn't have been more pleasant. Food was fab and to have a nan meal, dessert, alcoholic drink and the tray charge for less than £25 is impressive. There was a deal I could see advertised for the restaurant for two to eat for £29.99 but as it was just me this wasn't possible!!!
Breakfast was good with all the usual fare available. Only one niggle was the help yourself coffee machine which tended to have a continuous queue so I didn't bother and had juice instead.
Check out again was simple and quick and the directions I had been given the evening before were spot on.
Would I stay here again - definitely, and yes I would recommend it too.

Room Tip: For a very quiet night, ask not to be above the ball room. I overlooked its flat roof and could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walesholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear walesholidayaddict

I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the hotel facilities fantastic and all our team members very efficient and knowledge able. I will make sure your comments with regards to the coffee machines at breakfast are passed on to the Food and Beverage Manager so see if there is a way for us to ease the queues. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just stayed at the holiday inn with our daughter what a memorable experience it was the
staff are so helpful and friendly we struck up a rapport with Adrian and Luuk in the terrace bar
they were a credit to the team. Having said that all the staff were great and couldnt do enough to
help you. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean the bed was huge and has spoilt us, our
bed at home is tiny by comparison. The food was delicious and we really loved the self service
breakfast and the variety of food available. The hotel is so convenient for walking into the town centre only 5 minutes yet didnt hear any traffic noise lovely outlook onto the river frontage.
Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Yvonne c

Thank you very much for your review, I be sure to share your comments with the team and especially to Adrian and Luuk who really are a credit to our food and beverage team. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were concerned after reading the recent review regarding access at the Holiday Inn but need not have been worried.
We have stayed here every year for the last 6 years when visiting Stratford and have always found the team throughout the hotel polite, cheery and helpful. We have seen the recent upgrades to the restaurant, terrace and public areas - all of which are excellent. They are now reworking the entrance which obviously causes clients slight inconvenience.

During our recent 2 night stay the alternative arrangements as experienced by our wheelchair user could not have been better. There were 9 available blue badge parking bays, the signs at the entrance clearly showed the route with paved access to a slightly ramped doorway accessing the side of reception. There was a clearly marked bell to ring for assistance and reception asked us if there was anything else they could do for the duration of our stay.

We find it hard to see why this hotel is ranked only 19 out of 28 in Stratford. The new areas are now 5 star, the breakfasts are superb and even when we have stayed at the same time as other conferences this has never detracted from the service or enjoyment. The hotel location is delightful, being alongside the river and quiet, being across a green from the main Stratford town centre.

The only reason not to award this hotel 5 stars is the fact that the bedrooms are now a little worn, although still clean and comfortable. I am sure that these will be refurbed in due course.We will definitely return on our next Stratford visit. This is a quality hotel with a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Philip S

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel and for your kind comments with regards to our refurbished areas. We do our best to ensure any refurbishment work we have at the hotel has minimal disruptions to our guests stay and I was thrilled to read that our reception team were keen to offer their assistance to you. We hope you continue to stay with us in the future

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very close to everything in Stratford and some refurbishment going on. The swimming pool was closed and was disappointing as no advance notification was given when booking.Car park £5 per day extra ... So all in all an expensive hotel for what you got... Hence three stars.
Very nice bar and seating by river..... Quiet when we were there.
Be very crowded when conference are on.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank oscar933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Oscar933,

I’m sorry that you didn’t realise the swimming pool would have some maintenance work going on during your stay, however this was posted on our website. However I was glad to hear you found our central location ideal for your needs. We hope to see you again soon so you can take advantage of our swimming pool which is now fully operational.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Not a looker from the outside, but the Holiday Inn in Stratford makes up for it inside with a great restaurant, lovely terraced bar and excellent location.

Rooms are standard quality, and staff very pleasant and friendly.

All in all impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay again.

£15 for wifi though, in this day and age? Ridiculous. Holiday Inn need to revisit this policy across all their hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jcellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear jcellis,

I was glad to ready you would like to return to us in the future and that you have enjoyed your recent stay. With regards to the WIFI charges, if you are an IHG Rewards club member WIFI is complimentary as one of the benefits, if you are not a member I urge that you sign up to take advantage of all the other great benefits of the scheme.

Kind Regards
Peter Byard
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,924 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,868 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing