We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and quaint.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Part of a tour package, this Holiday Inn was a nice and pleasant place to stay. It is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn but the city of Stratford just gives it a little more "quaintness". Restaurant was good and the breakfast was superb. Lots of different shops surrounding the hotel and beautiful buildings. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear MamaBear63

I’m very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Tour.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Within a short walking distance of Town Centre. Close to the river and park. Friendly staff and very good restaurant. Long corridors to reach some of the rooms. The riverside terrace is a great place for an evening drink with friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RajanJamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RajanJamuna

Thank You for your glowing comments with regards to our staff, location and Lovely new Terrace Patio. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Birthday weekend with friends. Rooms were very clean, food was fantastic and staff extremely helpful, pleasant and very attentive. Weather was so nice we took advantage of the beautiful decked area and had lunch - it was a delight. It's very close to the centre, with lots of different shops & beautiful old buildings. I would very much recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorsuch2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Gorsuch2578

Thank you very much for recommendation of our hotel, I’m very glad you enjoyed your stay in particular our new Terrace Patio. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. We were on a touring and spent a couple of days in Stratford. This hotel has recently undergone substantial refurbishment at over £1m we were told. The room was clean and spacious as is usual for Holiday Inns. As Reward Club Members we were given Free Parking, free paper each day, and free Wifi. As membership is free this is quite a perk as we found at another Holiday Inn we were charged £11 per day for Wifi. Food, as usual, was good especially the breakfast which I must admit is a great draw for me. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AADick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear AADick

Thank You for your review and Thank you very much for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. The benefits of the programme are indeed very pleasing with us being able to offer our guest free WIFI, parking and newspaper. All the staff look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've been using this hotel for years in conjunction with visits to the RSC. It fits the bill perfectly - only a stone's throw from the theatres and a nice, albeit rather small pool for a refreshing swim if you do a matinee and evening performance, New public areas are v impressive, staff always courteous and helpful. Room amenities good. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Noise from ventilation plant on roof servicing spa can be a bit noisy, but doesn't operate early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Paul R

It’s fantastic to hear that you continually return to our hotel and will continue to do so. Thank you very much for your kind review.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This large hotel has been recently renovated and looks fantastic! The bar areas (lounge and sport) are modern but full of character and all the public areas are interesting to look around. The gardens/outdoor lounge areas are ideal for summer evenings and the rooms are furnished and cleaned to a high standard. The location is ideal for anyone visiting the area as it is a short walk over the canal to the town. Breakfast was also excellent. I had a few minor niggles with staff such as not having towels in the room a few times and then having to ask reception repeatedly to send them up but these were nothing in the scheme of things. We also attended a function during our stay which catered a 5 course meal for 500 guests and the service was great - food was high quality and hot. What more could you ask for?? I will be back with my family soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Nicole L
Our newly refurbished areas of the hotel are indeed fantastic, I’m very glad you had the opportunity to enjoy them. We look forward to welcoming your back to the hotel with your family soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed her for a weekend break in May.
Room very clean, staff friendly and helpful, excellent location within walking distance of town centre and places of interest. Lovely terrace area by the river and leisure facilities were fine.
We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package and received excellent service from the manager of the restaurant when one of our party did not like the set meal options. They provided an alternative option at no extra cost and continually checked we were happy with the service, we couldn't fault them. Plenty of choice at buffet breakfast
Only negatives were, we found the beds extremely firm (even thoughI like a firm bed), shower was a dribble of water but hot and we could hear passing traffic in our room which woke us up early.
Overall would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear ecsc
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the service you received in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,842 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing