We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My new wife and stopped here for our Honeymoon and it was everything we could ask for....
It was close to the centre
Clean
Professional
Excellent facilities
Great breakfast
Great riverside terrace bar

We had only one slight issue when we arrived, but the way they dealt with it means they still get the full 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Lowe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Chris_Lowe_13

Its lovely to hear you choose our hotel for your Honeymoon and found everything to your liking and that our staff were able to resolve issues with efficiency. Congratulations on your Marriage and we hope you return to us soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Pro: Superb riverside position centrally in Stratford. Walk to everything and boat rides from your doorstep. Lovely seating area in hotel by river for drinks etc. Comfortable beds, good sized room. Reasonable priced DBB. Fish and chips really good (and big)! Has swimming pool although we didn't use it so I can't comment on that.

Con: Unable to open the window (did have AC). Fan in bathroom didn't work but they moved us on request. Wireless signal too poor to use in bedrooms but fine downstairs. Holiday inn breakfasts are okay but not amazing!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Maryanne M

Thank you for your review I’m very glad your enjoyed our location and our dinner menu. Unfortunately some of our bedroom window’s do not open for Health and Safety reasons, however I am very glad we were able to move your room so you were able to have an open window and working bathroom fan. With Regards to the WIFI we are investigating why the WIFI signal is poor in some areas of the hotel and hope to have the issue resolved in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When everyone - whether they are on the front desk, in the restaurant or pushing a laundry trolley - takes the trouble to wish you a "good morning" etc. AND they all sound as though they mean it, you know you are in a well run hotel. This hotel is in the centre of tourism and yet the quality was far higher than we had expected - and our dinner in a private room had the ambience and the quality of food and staff that you would expect from somewhere far more expensive. Add the outside terraces and proximity to the river (and to the RSC and the Shakespeare Memorial Trust) and you have a hotel that deserves to succeed - and will get much repeat business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Michael H

Thank You so much for your kind comments regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on our genuine customer service and I’m very glad that all our staff were able to greet you personal. We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Part of a tour package, this Holiday Inn was a nice and pleasant place to stay. It is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn but the city of Stratford just gives it a little more "quaintness". Restaurant was good and the breakfast was superb. Lots of different shops surrounding the hotel and beautiful buildings. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear MamaBear63

I’m very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Tour.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Within a short walking distance of Town Centre. Close to the river and park. Friendly staff and very good restaurant. Long corridors to reach some of the rooms. The riverside terrace is a great place for an evening drink with friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RajanJamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RajanJamuna

Thank You for your glowing comments with regards to our staff, location and Lovely new Terrace Patio. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Birthday weekend with friends. Rooms were very clean, food was fantastic and staff extremely helpful, pleasant and very attentive. Weather was so nice we took advantage of the beautiful decked area and had lunch - it was a delight. It's very close to the centre, with lots of different shops & beautiful old buildings. I would very much recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorsuch2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Gorsuch2578

Thank you very much for recommendation of our hotel, I’m very glad you enjoyed your stay in particular our new Terrace Patio. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. We were on a touring and spent a couple of days in Stratford. This hotel has recently undergone substantial refurbishment at over £1m we were told. The room was clean and spacious as is usual for Holiday Inns. As Reward Club Members we were given Free Parking, free paper each day, and free Wifi. As membership is free this is quite a perk as we found at another Holiday Inn we were charged £11 per day for Wifi. Food, as usual, was good especially the breakfast which I must admit is a great draw for me. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AADick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear AADick

Thank You for your review and Thank you very much for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. The benefits of the programme are indeed very pleasing with us being able to offer our guest free WIFI, parking and newspaper. All the staff look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Hopkins
Acting Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,843 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing