We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is our first stay at the hotel for three years and since then they have finished their renovations.

I was really pleased to see that they have increased the number of disabled badge car park places.

Check-in went smoothly and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful especially when I needed to know where the nearest Walk In Centre was.

Since the last time we stayed here they have completely refurbished the bedrooms and they're lovely. The bathroom was spotless. The bedroom furniture wasn't dark and dingy like the last time. If I had to criticize the bedroom it would be for two reasons. The TV was quite big and bulky - most hotels have now gone for flat screen TV's, and there wasn't any biscuits in the hospitality tray. Picky I know but you do get both of these things in budget hotels.

Other than breakfast we didn't eat in the restaurant. However at the time of our stay they were offering a really good deal should you wished to dine in their restaurant (we're not a big fan of carverys so went to the Red Lion over the road...). Breakfast was splendid and very fresh. Again if you were staying room only they had a great deal for Breakfast.

They have a large bar and lounge and the bar prices were on the high side but that's standard for hotels. However on arrival we were given a book of discount vouchers for the bar and restaurant which softened the blow of the high prices a little.

Because of the location of the hotel being next to the river and the extensive grounds they have, the hotel was plagued with little flies which was extremely irritating. Instead of having a relaxing drink in the lounge, we spent our time wafting the flies away and had to leave two drinks because of flies landing in them (not nice...). We weren't the only ones to find this annoying. One couple did complain but was told it was just one of those things.

Although there is a car parking charge of £5 per stay, given it's central location, I think that was very good value.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, though next time we might stay a little later or earlier in the year to avoid the pesky flies....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizzywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

I would heartily recommend the hotel, we had a lovely time there. The location is ideal, remarkably central and right next to the river (although we didn't have a very good view from our room, one of the only slight negatives). The service was exceptionally good everywhere, the pool area was fine for a quick dip and steam etc and the room facilities were great. I thought the breakfast was fantastic, a huge selection of generally decent food (although I agree with an earlier reviewer about the scrambled egg, that was only one of about a hundred dishes available) and we also ate in the bar on 2 evenings - very welcoming with small children and decent food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This hotel has restored my faith in the Holiday Inn brand – a brand with which I had had some bad experiences during 2008 but have stayed here several times during 2009 and never been disappointed. The hotel is located centrally in Stratford.
Receptionists are efficient and I have never been kept waiting at check-in or check-out. One oddity was that on one occasion I was asked to pay the room charge up front which seemed odd as I am a Priority Club member, they have a credit card number on file and could have just asked for the customary swipe for pre-authorisation. Other times I have just been checked in using the credit card number on my Priority Club profile. Watch out however as they automatically add car parking charges to you bill and if you don’t have a car with you then you need to ask for these to be refunded.
Rooms are a good size and have all usual facilities. They have both air conditioning and windows which open a reasonable way so you can cool/heat the room as you prefer.
There is a reasonably sized swimming pool for a hotel.
The restaurant is really good serving a buffet style carvery menu in the evenings. There is a real good choice of meals including roasts; the price includes three courses and coffee. I now book dinner, bed & breakfast rates – as this is one hotel where I definitely want to eat in. Service at dinner and breakfast is excellent. I have also had room service on previous stays when I have needed to keep working, and that too has been good quality, well presented and efficiently served.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed for one night, 20 June for a small family reunion. Suited us perfectly. A few steps from the town centre, and very clean and comfortable rooms. Had a lovely evening out, would have liked to have stayed longer in the bar chatting but the shutters went up at 1am. Would have thought a four star hotel could have the bar stay open for residents. We would have liked to stay up chatting for longer as not seen each other in ages.

Only gripe I can think of is that the bar manager (Terrace Bar) was very aloof, and lots of staff standing around chatting when clearly there were customers waiting to be served.

Breakfast was fine, but took a while to locate butter for the toast, milk was missing for the cereal, and coffee produced by the machine was terrible. The whole process was very DIY.

Other than these gripes a good stay and an excellent location. Enjoyed sitting on the terrace of Cox's Yard, just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warbosayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We’d stayed at this hotel before (when it was a Moat House) on our very first trip to what has become a favourite part of the world for us – on that occasion I was running in the Shakespeare marathon (I recall the rooms being very comfortable) – this time around we were repatriating my partner’s daughter from her student accommodation at Birmingham university back to the comforts of home back in Kent. We usually try and stay at the Shakespeare or the rather tired Thistle as we prefer the locations of these hotels but both were full.

The hotel is conveniently situated for all that this charming town has to offer with plentiful parking available (£5.00 surcharge). In addition to the usual facilities there is a small swimming pool and a gym.

We checked in after a brief skirmish around the shops (my partner had forgotten to bring her underwear and I’d managed not to bring any socks). The young lady on reception was charming and very helpful – almost too helpful in giving out advice and directions (and local restaurant recommendations etc) to the couple at the head of an ever increasing and frustrated queue. To our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a suite consisting of a lounge/dining room and large separate bedroom – very bright airy and spacious. If we’d known we would have invited some friends around and thrown a party.

After an evening on the town (a brief pub crawl followed by dinner) we tottered wearily back for a comfortable night’s sleep in the huge bed - next morning we made full use of both bathrooms before heading down to the busy restaurant for breakfast.

Breakfast proved to be a labour intensive affair – wide buffet selection available including make your own tea/ coffee and toast etc – no sooner was my backside planted on the chair and I was back up again to fetch or carry something back to the table. I wouldn’t mind too much but the coffee machine managed to dispense possibly the worst cup of coffee I’ve ever tasted and the staff seemed to be very slow replenishing the buffet allowing certain items to run down to zero. Also the quality of some of the items was not especially good (particularly the rubbery scrambled egg) – motorway service stations serve up fresher, hotter more palatable fare.

Overall a short, comfortable and relaxing stay – it has the feeling of being a well run hotel where the staff try to please - we’d be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

4 nights break booked at the very last minute so had to pay top whack to get a NON-smoking room - hence the "value" comment. Perfect location with all the attractions within easy walking distance and more or less on the level. Found all the staff superb - friendly and helpful. Having read some of the previous comments either the breakfasts were better when I was there or I've got low expectations!!! They were as good as I've had in any 4* hotel - I was served coffee and, frankly, I'd rather do my toast and have it when I want it, rather than have it go cold. Found the room and lounge comfortable and enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. The only downside was that the evening carvery was variable in both quantity and quality - hence my not giving 5* overall.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This hotel is in a prime location right in the centre of Stratford upon Avon; five minutes' walk to the RSC, shops and a wide range of restaurants.
There's plenty of car parking, which costs residents just £5 for the duration of their stay, come and go as often as you like,however you have to get an exit ticket from the front desk each time which can take a while at busy times.
The hotel is quite large and many of the rooms feel like they're a long long way from the hotel entrance.
The rooms are standard Holiday Inn fare; good size, comfortable beds. No mini-bar, which is an advantage in my mind. The CRT TVs are starting to feel rather dated, and there's a limited selection of channels - though all the main ones are there plus radio stations.
As others have noted, the breakfast is merely average, and an entirely do-it-yourself affair. The coffee machines are a bottleneck at busy times and particularly when one or both shut down needing attention - the staff should monitor them more closely.
The majority of the hotel staff are pleasant and friendly but overall the hotel feels like it is runnng on automatic; there's no impression of any passionate leadership or sense of direction to the enterprise. I wonder whether, by virtue of their location, the hotel is busy enough not to have to try harder. That's a shame because this place could be so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,843 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing