We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the RSC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed in August 2009. Hotel was as you would expect of a holiday inn; clean, basic, etc. I book online on the Holiday Inn website. Breakfast was good; plenty of choice.
Great location. Only a short walk to centre of city and the RSC. Would recommend highly for a theatre break. Didn't get chance to go to the gym/pool as I was short of time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed 1 night on the August Bank Holiday weekend and paid £70 per room via the Holiday Inn website.

While the hotel is a bit dated and very impersonal (the corridors are VERY long with no pictures or plants to break up the monotony) the rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The pool is a bit small but adequate for a quick refreshing dip.

We ate in Stratford in the evening but breakfast at the hotel was pretty good, despite being buffet style for the cooked food . (Why do they bother with scrambled eggs at a buffet? They always go dry)

It's the location which makes this hotel stand out. Right by the river with attractive grounds and a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

Reception staff were very helpful and arranged a later check-out time for us with no questions, despite the hotel looking to be pretty busy.

All in all, not a hotel for a great atmosphere but certainly a comfortable and convenient base for a stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My wife and I and our two boys (3 and 6) stayed at the Holiday Inn in Stratford Upon Avon on the 19th and 20th of August 2009.

We had booked the rooms via Priority club website and the total cost was £118 for a family room plus breakfast for two nights.

On our way to the hotel I called to book us into the restaurant, I wish I hadn’t. I’m no big fan of buffets and wouldn’t have paid the £25 per head if I’d known. Stratford has much nicer restaurants to choose from. The service didn’t match up to the price either, and the place was pretty packed.

The bedroom was clean, large and comfortable. There was one sofa bed, a single bed and a large double bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The views over the car park could have been improved. Apart from that the room was good, although quite a walk from the reception.

One of the main reasons’s for staying at the Holiday Inn, apart from its excellent location, was the swimming pool. I should not have bothered, it was very small, and the women’s changing facilities were closed on the day we went swimming, and there was a terrible smell. I’ve never seen so many warning signs in a swimming pool before, and in such a small space. Even a shelf on the wall was covered by warning stickers and a large sign beside it saying “Caution shelf”.

We did have a few drinks in the hotel bar, good for the kids as it was mostly empty the two nights we where there.

I’ll mention breakfast, as we did go on the first morning and passed on the second. It wasn’t great, again another buffet. Service was up to the level of the previous evening.

So this hotel scores highly on location, and as long as you don’t eat there or expect to swim a length, it’s good value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Nice breakfast, nice staff, good location. The swimming pool was great even if a bit shallow and small but since nobody was there in the evenings, it didn't bother us that much. We recommend hiring a boat or walking along the Avon; the views are wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolA_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed last weekend as we were attending a family 40th birthday party. This hotel is obviously well used and was no doubt full. Stayed here when it was the Moat House years ago when it was much nicer and not shabby like it is now. The standard bedroom's are very tired and ours was not particularly clean as the table and some chairs had a visible accumulation of dust and the windows were dirty. The biggest complaint we had was with the breakfast. After waiting in a long queue we were then told the restaurant was full and were shown into a conference room which was set up with a buffet for a group of american students. The food was absolutely disgusting and no better in the main breakfast room. Also the toasters were not working and the coffee machines were struggling. The restaurant seemed totally understaffed and it was absolute chaos. We eventually gave up had the breakfast cost knocked offf the bill for all 3 rooms and had breakfast in the centre of Stratford.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neiltarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

A group of four friends and i stayed at the Holiday Inn for a weekend in July. The hotel was in a very good location, right in the heart of the city centre. The hotel was clean and comfortable however a little out dated with the decor. The rooms also didn't have a mini fridge in them which made it difficult for you to have drinks in your room or water etc. Overall my stay was enjoyable but i don't believe it was worth the money that i paid. I would perhaps look at a bed and breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in July with 2 adults and 3 kids (10, 9 and 6 years) in 2 connecting rooms. The adults' room had a double bed and the kids' room had twin beds and a sofabed. The decor and furnishings in the rooms were basic, and the view was useless, but very spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff were always extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and good enough, buffet style.
I was surprised to see that there is a swimming pool and gym in the hotel which I hadn't realised when we booked, but maybe that's because they don't make a big feature of it because it really is teeny weeny! On the plus side though there was only one or two other people using the pool when the kids went to splash around so it was fine for them.
There is a nice outdoor patio area off the bar looking onto the river, and riverboat trips directly from the hotel.
The most excellent thing about this hotel is the location for Stratford. It is a very short stroll to all of the toursty things, theatres, shops, cafes etc. and has a nice spot by the river. With the spacious connecting rooms and the friendly service and reasonable rates I would definitely choose this hotel again and recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_Henhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing