We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central for the Stratford Upon Avon sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very central for the Stratford Upon Avon sites”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

You can’t get much more central!. On an inlet to the river Avon and only a couple of minutes stroll to the Canal basin, River and town itself. Short river trips leave from the Hotel (seasonal) and the open top buses leave from the near by TIC.

We have stayed here loads of times, mainly my Wife on business, but leisure trips to!. It’s one of the better Holiday Inn’s, friendly Reception, good rooms etc, once in you could be in any Holiday Inn though. Always clean. Plenty of car parking, one fee per visit not per day. Smoking rooms are on the Second floor so we ask for a room on the 1st or 3rd floor. The corridors are really long on each floor. If you do have mobility problems do try to get a room close to the lifts.

If your rate does not include breakfast ask for a voucher at reception, you will save money. Breakfast is a buffet arrangement, the usual. Used room service on the rare occasion which is ok. With so many restaurants close by we don’t have dinner in the Hotel. The Oppo & Café Rouge are good, so is the new Strada which we visited twice on our last trip (where the Pizza hut was). For a nice lunch we go to the Crabtree & Evelyn tearooms, very nice, gluten free cakes to.

Probably score Hotel 3.5 to be honest. Sometimes the hotel is over run by conferences which makes for an annoying experience sometimes. It is a big hotel so bear this in mind. So on balance I’d score it a 3.

BTW the TIC sells a good little book detailing local walks which is really handy, some nice walks, book its about £2.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    923
    401
    116
    56
See reviews for
406
956
50
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2009

This hotel was fab!
Do not reccomend travelling on a friday as it's very busy traffic, nine miles on the other side! You have to go on the M6 busiest road in England!!! Ended up getting lost twice!
When we got there after a four hour journey, we checked in. It seems there are no double and a single rooms on the top floor! We were on the top floor, though my 10 year old daughter was on a camp bed. The windows do not open, so if it is stifling at night, you have air conditioning. The rooms are very modern and stylish, a black stile bathroom and brigt bedroom. There are flexible lights for reading in bed too!The hotel food was excellent, though I do not reccomend eating in there every night. We stayed for three nights, Friday- Monday. The food is set out carvery style, with three meats, veg, and soup for starters. You pick your own appertisers of a table, with olives, crisps, cheese etc. Then a wide range of desserts, from cheesecake, bannoffe pie, black chocolate gatoe, cream, carrot cake. All was delicious but on last night beef was very tough! If you complain, the lady gives you an executive package added on to your room. This consists of chocolate bars, juice drinks and other things! We ate in The Pen and Parchment for dinner the second night, quite small portions, not a big pub. There were coffee machines in the dining room, with cappochinos and tea, and hot chocolate and mocchiano and expresso, americano. There was a decent tv in the room, with bbc, itv and other channels. Also a tea and coffee facility in the room. I would reccomend bringing wine,with you if you want to as it is expensive in the restraunt about £18.95 for a bottle. All in all I would go again. The pool was quite clean with sauna and jaquzzi and gym, very good, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyprincess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed in August 2009. Hotel was as you would expect of a holiday inn; clean, basic, etc. I book online on the Holiday Inn website. Breakfast was good; plenty of choice.
Great location. Only a short walk to centre of city and the RSC. Would recommend highly for a theatre break. Didn't get chance to go to the gym/pool as I was short of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed 1 night on the August Bank Holiday weekend and paid £70 per room via the Holiday Inn website.

While the hotel is a bit dated and very impersonal (the corridors are VERY long with no pictures or plants to break up the monotony) the rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The pool is a bit small but adequate for a quick refreshing dip.

We ate in Stratford in the evening but breakfast at the hotel was pretty good, despite being buffet style for the cooked food . (Why do they bother with scrambled eggs at a buffet? They always go dry)

It's the location which makes this hotel stand out. Right by the river with attractive grounds and a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

Reception staff were very helpful and arranged a later check-out time for us with no questions, despite the hotel looking to be pretty busy.

All in all, not a hotel for a great atmosphere but certainly a comfortable and convenient base for a stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My wife and I and our two boys (3 and 6) stayed at the Holiday Inn in Stratford Upon Avon on the 19th and 20th of August 2009.

We had booked the rooms via Priority club website and the total cost was £118 for a family room plus breakfast for two nights.

On our way to the hotel I called to book us into the restaurant, I wish I hadn’t. I’m no big fan of buffets and wouldn’t have paid the £25 per head if I’d known. Stratford has much nicer restaurants to choose from. The service didn’t match up to the price either, and the place was pretty packed.

The bedroom was clean, large and comfortable. There was one sofa bed, a single bed and a large double bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The views over the car park could have been improved. Apart from that the room was good, although quite a walk from the reception.

One of the main reasons’s for staying at the Holiday Inn, apart from its excellent location, was the swimming pool. I should not have bothered, it was very small, and the women’s changing facilities were closed on the day we went swimming, and there was a terrible smell. I’ve never seen so many warning signs in a swimming pool before, and in such a small space. Even a shelf on the wall was covered by warning stickers and a large sign beside it saying “Caution shelf”.

We did have a few drinks in the hotel bar, good for the kids as it was mostly empty the two nights we where there.

I’ll mention breakfast, as we did go on the first morning and passed on the second. It wasn’t great, again another buffet. Service was up to the level of the previous evening.

So this hotel scores highly on location, and as long as you don’t eat there or expect to swim a length, it’s good value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Nice breakfast, nice staff, good location. The swimming pool was great even if a bit shallow and small but since nobody was there in the evenings, it didn't bother us that much. We recommend hiring a boat or walking along the Avon; the views are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolA_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed last weekend as we were attending a family 40th birthday party. This hotel is obviously well used and was no doubt full. Stayed here when it was the Moat House years ago when it was much nicer and not shabby like it is now. The standard bedroom's are very tired and ours was not particularly clean as the table and some chairs had a visible accumulation of dust and the windows were dirty. The biggest complaint we had was with the breakfast. After waiting in a long queue we were then told the restaurant was full and were shown into a conference room which was set up with a buffet for a group of american students. The food was absolutely disgusting and no better in the main breakfast room. Also the toasters were not working and the coffee machines were struggling. The restaurant seemed totally understaffed and it was absolute chaos. We eventually gave up had the breakfast cost knocked offf the bill for all 3 rooms and had breakfast in the centre of Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiltarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing