We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept, friendly and convenient hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A well kept, friendly and convenient hotel!”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I travelled to this hotel for a conference in November, and was pleased with the ease of finding it's location and the secure, on site parking. The location is excellent, right on the edge of Stratford town, next to the river. The welcome in the foyer was polite and friendly, and the lady at reception was chatty and informative, just what you need whena rriving in a place you haven't stayed in before.

The room itself was generous and very comfortable, I stayed in an executive room and this had a large bed with good, firm pillows and a pillow menu for those with more selective tastes in where they lay their head. There was a selection of magazines and the room was well stocked with drinks and snacks at more than reasonable prices. Although there was a fairly busy main road and pubs nearby, the room was quiet all night.

The only slight negative I have is the quality of food, although this may be because we were conference delegates rather than usual guests. On the evening we had a full Christmas dinner (despite the fact that it was mid November!) including crackers and a DJ playing Christmas songs, which was slightly bizarre. The food was certainly edible but nothing to write home about, though the breakfast the next morning was a good spread with lots of choice and obviously fresh from the kitchens.

All in all, a positive experience, and I would definitely go there again, for pleasure rather than business.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Rassilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    891
    390
    113
    50
See reviews for
393
912
48
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We chose the Holiday Inn because we got a deal through the Independent newspaper, and to be quite honest, I was expecting something very bog standard and bland. But for a chain hotel, this was a pleasant surprise. The inside of the hotel is much nicer than the unprepossessing exterior and the service could not be faulted. Every member of staff we dealth with during our two-night stay was friendly, helpful and very professional.
Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed was enormous and gave a good night's sleep. The only downside in the room was the bath, which didn't drain properly, meaning that by the end of a shower, you were up to your ankles in water.
The buffet breakfast was good, with a nice selection. The bar area was a nice place to relax at the end of the day, although the drinks were quite pricey.
The only disappointment was the swimming pool, which was tiny - not really made for swimming as you were across it in four strokes. The jacuzzi was nice, though.
The location couldn't have been better - just five minutes' walk into the centre of Stratford and right next to the river.
I would definitely return to this hoyel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The Holiday Inn is in a prime location for access to the main attractions of Stratford-Upon-Avon and all the bars, restaurants and shops. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower in our bathroom was superb. We did not eat in the hotel other than for breakfast in the morning. Not a fan of full English breakfasts but when available without the hassle of preparing yourself, well, it would be rude not to. The breakfast was a buffet style and catered for every taste. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again when in that part of the country. £5 to park but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Just got back from a few days stay at this hotel. The location is excellent only a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. Reception staff were brilliant, very friendly and accommodated a move to another room straightaway (ask for a view over the river). The room was a good size and very clean with up to date furnishings, the only drawback was the shower which was not as powerful as I'd have liked but it was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

We got a deal with breakfast and it was good value. Breakfast had lots of choice the ususal cereal, fruit, pastries and full english, staff again were very friendly. Didn't eat dinner here as town was so close so walked into town every night. Communal areas were very clean and comfortable. Parking is just £5 for the whole stay, which is a bargain as you can walk everywhere and a lot cheaper than other hotels I have stayed in.

Only drawback was the pool which was very small and busy, but we didn't choose the hotel just for the pool so it was ok.

Would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lincolngirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goostrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Stayed here for 1 night over Xmas on a dinner bed and breakfast basis, it was a lovely hotel, room was big and clean and warm, food was great you had to pay £5.00 for parking which it tells you on the website but for city centre parking that was very reasonable. the hotel is right next to the river where you can get a boat trip. and across the road from the shops and restaurants and of course Shakespeare's house. Can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Spent a single night on business and felt that the layout of the hotel is particularly poor with many rooms quite a walk inside the building to get to.

Whilst this is now nothing that can be solved easily, the rooms were average, bathrooms small with a pretty poor shower. The room facilties were adequate but WI-FI wasn't free and quite expensive for a decent connection, something I feel is completely out of order in a modern, expensive hotel.

Location wise, it is easy enough to get to, but overall the hotel was nothing that made me think it was worth the expense.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon several times over the last couple of years. The hotel has consistently delivered comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and reasonable value for money. There are nicer hotels in the area, but it's hard to beat the location of the Holiday Inn. It's a quick walk to all of the very nice restaurants and pubs in town, while there are great places to run along the river in the local parks. Plus, the hotel has a very nice fitness facility with lots of equipment and a pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing