We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My partner and I stayed here as a night away for my birthday, as we are saving for our wedding we wanted something reasonably priced and got a fantastic deal with Superbreak £50 for both of us inc breakfast and parking (we selected the mystery hotel option). The hotel reception was lovely and bright and airy, staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was very spacious with a huge bed, nice and clean with good facilities. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and again lovely staff. We took the river cruise which is situated just down a little path at the side of the hotel and as it was my birthday we were allowed to take on a bottle of champagne to drink along the way. We will definatey be returning to the hotel again, would highly recommend it to others oh and make sure you take the boat trip to fantastic value at £5 per person for 45 mins.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydiha2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    923
    403
    116
    56
See reviews for
406
961
50
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel is centrally located for walking into the town. We booked an executive room and were not impressed. The room was small, with various dents and scrapes on the wall, apart from the that room was well located and functional. Not sure what the standard rooms must be like, can't imagine that they could be any smaller !

What really let the place down was the swiiming pool, sauna, steam room and changing area. It was perfectly obvious that these facilities were in need of a decent clean up. The floors were dirty as was the whole facility. We left after around 20 mins and did not go back even though use of these facilities was one of the reasons we booked this hotel.

On the plus side, breakfast was swamped with guests, but the staff did a really good job of keeping the food (buffet) fully stocked with fresh hot food at all times. And the food was really rather good - well done for that.

My wife used the gym and she said it was fine, all good up to date equipment and in full working order.

So, if swimming pool/sauna/steam room are important to you, consider giving this holiday inn a miss, otherwise it is centrally loacted, but with small rooms, perhaps in need of some attention from maintenance dept.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed for two nights with two children aged 8 and 15 the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.The restaurant was lovely we had the evening buffet which was £35 for two people and kids go free under 13.The chef in the restaurant was fabulous he couldnt do enough for us and made sure my daughter who is vegetarian had something she wanted on both evenings.The hotel is in a great position for stratford with only five minutes to the river and shops.We would always choose this hotel if visiting stratford again

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank joe1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

On recent visit to this hotel were we stayed here for two nights, we found the hotel to be dated in Décor. We arrived late am the next day of our first booking due to our long journey and found the rooms to be poor in quality due to the state of the decoration of these rooms. We always make a habit of not placing our belongs in our assigned rooms until we have checked the room out fully and we discovered the following, Holiday Inn and any one arriving please check for yourselves, after going though 5 room checks at 2am in the morning.
1. Room 1113 cracked sink in bathroom and walls stained and full of repair patches in bedroom
2. Room 1093 walls again full of repair marks in the bedroom
3. Room 1101 stinky sewage smell in the bathroom carpet stains
4. Room 1003 walls in bedroom damaged and furniture not up to standard

Finally room we accepted 1001 which was in good state but unfortunately a poor view out of the window.

Also I would to remark on the breakfast area which I found to be poorly stocked up with food inadequate for the masses of people attending breakfast and severe lack of attentiveness from staff, it almost looked like the staff were dashing back into the kitchen areas to avoid helping anyone and the Asian looking man at the front desk when entering looked as though he was getting no help whilst trying to run his team of helpers.

This is sad day when Holiday Inns can pass of this hotel as a top standard hotel in Stratford-on-Avon, you are in prominent position in Stratford and you are letting yourselves down!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to here you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon.

We are an 4 star AA rated hotel which has recently undergone a programme soft refurbishment in line with the relaunch Holiday Inn Brand. Our rooms do suffer general wear and tear which you would expect however as mentioned repair works are carried out on a regular basis to ensure our rooms are fully functional and comfortable.

With 259 bedrooms we do experience periods of high occupancy and at points our restaurant can become a very busy area. However we offer a wide ranging hot and cold self service buffet breakfast which I am sure our servers were replenishing during their visits to the kitchen area.

Our monthly customer service reports highlight our team members willingness to help and anticipating guest needs to be strong points. We are sorry on this occassion we failed to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The big advantage of this hotel is location. You are 5 minutes walk to the river & the theatre and a short stroll up into the town to the shops and the attractions.

The hotel building is not the prettiest but the rooms are very clean and everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn and represent good value for money. The dated design of the hotel meant long corridors and a long walk to reception through slightly tired corridors. The buffet breakfast also provided a very good choice of hot & cold dishes.

The service was friendly and efficient throughout our stay. The leisure facilities were an added benefit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouplefromCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback to continue driving our hotel forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Been here several times as a Platinum Priority Cub Member and for me the standard remains the same.Staff efficient and friendly, rooms spacious and clean,location you cant beat if you are coming to Stratford. This hotel deals with an awful lot of people but I've never felt like just a number .
Dont expect a gastronomic delight for dinner but I can say the carvery menu with one or two extra items is top draw and value for money.
There is nothing better than a Gin and Tonic or two out in the terrace garden area overlooking the river during a nice summers evening.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martinshrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for your kind feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

After travelling 2 and half hours to get here-we were expecting great things for this 4 star hotel- we arrived via the side entrance which was very grand & clean & we had high expections- on check in- we were not told any info about time of breakfast which i thought was a bit off- when we arrived at our room on the 2nd floor- both key cards didnt work so down to reception again to have this rectifed- 2 new cards were given but only one worked!! at this point i had lost the will to live & just would survive with the one card! We had twin beds & oh my god- the bed line was white but one bed I have never in my life seen anything so stained!! The duvet cover was covered in 3 BIG stains the undersheet was the same- & to top it off in the corner of the cover was a dead mangled moth!! This was not acceptable for a "quality" hotel how housekeeping did not spot this when they made up the bed i have no idea!! Again down to reception we saw a different person who was a guy who was very sorry & would get on it straight away!.
After a trip to town back to room to find clean bedding-PHEW

Breakfast was ok if you like stained mugs & dirty cutlery!!

Improvement is needed on cleaning of this hotel in certain areas- to be honest i was very dissapointed with the standard as the location is great- i would not return until things have improved

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We will be contacting your shortly to discuss your experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing