We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed here for one night, as we were doing a stopover to see Shakespeares house and all that good stuff. The reason I went for this hotel was purely the location which if you are in Stratford Upon Avon for sight seeing is the place to stay. It's a good hotel with all you would expect for a good nights sleep and the breakfast was suprising good too.
Would recommend highly, although this wouldnt be my first choice of hotel as I think the Stratford Q hotel is better value for money and service is much better too....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irfy835824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    859
    380
    110
    50
See reviews for
378
861
47
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed here with three friends in two twin rooms on a Saturday night and found the hotel to be excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and even allowed us to check in nearly three hours early, which was an added bonus. The location was great and we could just wander into the town within five minutes walk. The swimming pool, although quite small, was really nice and warm and we enjoyed an early morning swim before a very good breakfast. On Sunday morning we sat outside drinking coffee overlooking the river. We all agreed that it was an ideal hotel for a relaxing and enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCB27Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased.

The hotel is very easy to find from the M40 motorway and is located in a great spot, right on the waters front and within a 5-10 minute walk of the town, the main marina, pubs/restaurants etc - we found the town really nice with plenty to see and do and also took a long pleasant stroll along the river to the church where Shakespeares tomb is.

Check in was quick, as was check out - the staff were very friendly and professional. On our 2nd night there was a fire alarm at 1.30am, it was quite serious as there had been a chlorine leak in the pool, the fire brigade were called and the staff were great at organizing everyone, handing out bottles of water and foil blankets along with doing a role call - it wasn't ideal, but no one could foresee it and they handled it very well - subsequently we didn't wake up in time for breakfast the next morning and the staff at check out agreed to refund the cost of our breakfast.

We had a standard room which was spacious and modern, although I must admit for me personally the bed was very uncomfortable and even with a choice - the pillows were uncomfortable too - but thats just personal preference I suppose.

We had 2 small maintenance issues with the room which were fixed immediately with minimal fuss.

Breakfast was very nice, a buffet style with plenty of choice and well stocked. The bar prices of an evening where standard for a hotel, around £3.50 for a pint and £3.00 for a pint of coke. There was also a lovely terrace bar right beside the water edge where the river cruise boats depart from.

Swimming pool and leisure facilities were very nice, well equipped with comp towels, shower gel, hairdryers etc.

Parking was £5 per stay.

Overall a great hotel that I would choose again if visiting Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belindacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

And that really is the purpose of this review! If you're looking to stay in Stratford, keep your eyes peeled; we managed to secure a rate of £64.00 for an overnight (room only) stay. It's located right on the river with the most charming terrace bar where you can lounge on the plush outdoor furniture over a glass of wine.
Rooms are as you would expect but it's the location that wins here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked a family room. This gave us a lot of space and plenty of beds (1 double, 1 single, 1 single portable and 1 double sofabed). The room was clean, everything worked, the beds were comfortable and it was nice and quiet. The location is excellent, very easy stroll to see the sights. The food was pretty good too. All this for a very reasonable rate too. I'd definitely choose this again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We have just returned from the Holiday Inn Stratford we were made to feel very welcome when we checked in by the receptions staff and also with a few questions regarding the area. The room was spotless and very quiet we had no problems with any of the staff they had excellent manners and always pleasant. The breakfast was hot and plenty of choice. The location of the hotel is fantastic just by the river and with walking distance to the town. We went on a boat trip and also the open top bus which was good value. We also hired bikes for the morning from the Carriages on the Greenway and it was run by a really nice guy and he was very helpfull. I do have one thing that bugs me is the drink prices in the hotel we were shattered when we arrived and just wanted a meal and a drink they are very overpriced and also I had Scampi & Chips and it was not wonderfull and also overpriced but you live and learn we never ate there again or drank. But I would stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamfChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night and I had prepaid and booked 2 nights in a family room, but we had to get home after the first night, as since we had been away our cat had gone missing and it was now day 4 and I was worried as she never ventures far. Anyway I told the receptionist that we had have to check out because of this and I was prepared that we had to pay and did not think for one minute they wouldn't charge us, but she didn't. As I had prepaid and we had an evening meal and then breakfast she took the total off that for the room and I was so grateful. So even though we wasn't here long, we had an evening meal, which was buffet style and you went up and helped yourself, the children ate free and also the breakfast was the same buffet style. There was a great choice. To make it cheaper at any Holiday Inn you buy vouchers when you check in and then hand them over when you eat. You save alot doing this, than just turning up to eat. The hotel is situated right next to the river and the shops and sight seeing are a 5 minute walk. The hotel is very modern and as you walk into reception it is impressive. Also the family room was massive, 1 double bed and 2 single beds, the only complaint was that the tv was really small for the size of the room, so you could only see it if you were in the double bed! Will go back and hopefully see the sites next time and when we got back that night the cat turned up! My sister and niece had been looking for 4 days, so glad we did go home early after all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing