We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel against which I measure all other 3 & 4 star hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Frequently stay here when visiting Stratford for theatre. Staff invariably friendly and helpful and keen to ensure guests have pleasant stay. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Good public areas with plenty of seating. Range of snacks available thoughout the day. Buffet breakfasts are varied and of high quality with constant replanishment - extra items made to order. This is the hotel against which I measure others of similar standard and price and it is rarely equalled.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2011

We came from all directions and met in the middle. Unfortunately we met here. The food was poor, particularly the bar food. Service was slow and the mangeress surly.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thankyou for your comments and I am disappointed that your experience at the Holiday Inn was not to our usual high standard.
We pride ourselves on a great nights sleep & great food and I am thoroughly disappointed that on this occasion we failed to achieve this.
Please accept my apologies and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon where i am sure you will have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We were on a road trip around England . . . The weather was snowy and roads reasonably icy . . . Meaning it was quite stressful to get here . . . BUT . . .
The location of this hotel was outstanding - and easy walk along the river and to all the attractions in the town. The rooms were spacious and clean - a place to relax comfortably.
The buffet dinner was well priced - and our eyes were much bigger than our bellies!! The waiting staff were very obliging, and happy to offer the children alternatives . . . Breakfast was really outstanding!
The pool and spa area was clean - and we liked the way there were dedicated times for children to use the facilities - that way they could splash and not bother anyone other than other children who also wanted to play - except for a couple of grumpy gym members who clearly hadn't read the kids' times . . .

Overall - we'd be back in a flash!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thankyou very much for your kind comments i am so pleased that you enjoyed your "Holiday Inn experience" we pride ourselves on making sure that our guests have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed here for my birthday. The hotel is the other side of the trauin station so i'd say a good 20-25 mins walk once you know where your going. The hotel is nearer the RSC Theater. The hotel itself has that Holiday Inn look and the staff were all friendly and welcoming. We picked up a great deal and buffet breakfast was included so 'well happy'.

Rooms were spacious benough, the bed was king size massive. The only downside to our two day stay was the Heating and Vent system was quite noisey, obviously it was winter and it was about -5 at times, so it was the only criticism. Sme great scenery and would go back perhaps in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploki29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thankyou very much for your kind comments i am so pleased that you enjoyed your "Holiday Inn experience" we pride ourselves on making sure that our guests have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

It was so close to attractions. Lovely hotel. great service. Big rooms. Good breakfast. We loved it

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyamali-Hasalaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was a good hotel. Good service with friendly interest. Lots of facilities to enjoy and large seating areas. Lovely swimming pool - nice temperature. Interesting machines in the gym (unusual weights system). Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Room service was on time. There was a loud function happening on the ground floor, which could only be heard in reception. The car park involves driving around the one way system (only takes a minute or two. Its not a big one way system!) and involves a parking charge.
Hotel is just across the road from Stratford town centre. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetwelshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed three nights midweek recently at this hotel and was very comfortable. Location is good - a few minutes walk into the town centre and close to anything you might need. Parking was good in that I only paid a fiver for the entire stay and there were plenty of parking spaces.
Room service a bit pricey but understandable and was brought up quickly.
Enjoyed the breakfast and didn't have any problems being seated.
The room itself is a decent size, just what I needed and a decent bathroom.
Didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked appetising.
Front Desk very helpful and quick to serve you and check in took no time at all.
The pool is nice and I enjoyed a swim every day but it is a bit soo small and can get awkward if there are more than just one or two of you in at the same time. Still, its a pleasant pool to swim in.
Rooms can be a bit of a trek from reception, there are 3000 + rooms though so i guess that would explain it.
The Wi Fi connection is expensive though I found, £10 for 24 hours, £2.50 for 15 minutes and £5 for an hour - however the connection is easy and speed good.
Staff friendly and welcoming.
All in all very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinklady301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,925 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,869 reviews
3.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £66 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing