We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff and fantastic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed here for a theatre trip for my partners birthday. Easy to find and only a short walk from all the important things for visitors to see. From checking in to leaving staff were friendly and courteous. A slight mix up with our room service order was quickly rectified, with explanation and apology offered very speedily. Breakfast was good, with a good selection to choose from. The only slight point was the lack of beans for moisture if you don't like tomatoes on your cooked breakfast. Would definitely sty next time we travel up!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

EnglandBumble
Firstly I would like to apologise for the lack of beans on your breakfast, I am a huge fan of beans for breakfast and these are a part of our breakfast offering so I am sorry they were not available when you stayed, I will ensure they are when you return!!
I was delighted 'beangate' did not deter from your enjoyment of your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
There are newer reviews for The Stratford, A QHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel and all its staff i can say were excellent. extremely friendly restaurant staff including Richard and Josh who couldn't do enough for us, they were polite, talkative and really made our evening a night to remember. the pre-theatre idea is excellent as we were visiting the theatre that night, staff made sure we were not late to our show, and we had dessert when we returned back to the hotel that night. Our room was very clean and the receptionist was nothing but helpful when we checked in and out and asked how to get around Stratford. i would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone planning to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Michelle07_11
Thank you very much for your post and your recommendation following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I would also like to thank you for taking the opportunity to highlight both Richard and Josh for their service, we certainly have 2 budding stars there and it is always nice to receive such comments and I will ensure they are aware of your thanks.
Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed with husband and friends over the bank holiday weekend. Were able to check in to our room a little earlier than 3pm. Rooms were well decorated, clean and had everything we needed. There was ample parking and we were able to enjoy a picnic lunch we had brought ourselves in the sunshine on the front lawn of the hotel. It was no more than a 10 minute walk into the town so the hotel is well placed for leisure visitors. The bed was very comfortable, so much so we didnt want to get up. We were seated straight away at breakfast and tea and coffees were promptly served. The cooked breakfast was of good quality and nothing stood for too long. Checkout was quick and easy. Will definately stay here again if we return to Stratford.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludderz1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Ludderz1977
Thank you for your positive post following your recent stay at The Stratford.
We naturally aim for a seamless and enjoyable stay for all our guests and I am delighted that your stay was indeed that, I hope we are your choice when you do return to the area.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here overnight when on business in March. The hotel is modern and comfortable. My room was small but modern. The food was ok but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was good and location very central.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

MPMEdinburgh
I would like to thank you for your brief review of the hotel. I was sorry that food did not 'tick your box' . Hopefully on your next visit we can impress you further.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Well organised`provision for theatre goers....nice idea of keeping the dessert and coffee until later but having starter`and main before the show...I rang in advance to ensure this.
Try not to pick the most obvious time for a weekend breakfast as it gets busy but the provision stayed`good throughout.

Room Tip: Look for promotional deal that offers great value
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

JSLeey
I hope you enjoyed the theatre as much as you appeared to enjoy the hotel? Thank you for your post and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Really good hotel, great location, about 5 mins walk from the centre of Stratford. Stayed in just the standard room which still felt special! Opted for the Fridays offer, £95 with room, dinner and breakfast for 2. Great food both at dinner and breakfast. Would recommend. Only thing that was slightly disappointing was the £5 car park charge but other than that good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollys89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

hollys89
Thank you for you post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again at the hotel in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

It is indeed as other reviews, good service, clean rooms are like the hotel site nice and modern furniture bathroom fixtures etc.You feel the 4th *. Ah only weird thing no bathrobes...and empty minibar thought we were there to spend?

We stayed last night, at the same a wedding was taking place... no disturbance what so ever.... well some guest went to bed late . Who would blame them?

Good choice at breakfast all you would expect... but pass on orange juice a weird taste you would not expect here.
Also my fried egg was closer to boiled, but nice scrambled, bacon, mushrooms, vegetarian sausage. So NO big deal.
So no big complaints, they might have been overwhelmed to have to serve all guest from last night and others like us!

Good also as it is on a quiet road 5 min from the centre...

Oh and one last thing if you go over a WE on a saturday night book a table for dinner as you will run around like very annoyed headless chicken ...
And bump into quite rude front of house who without checking tells you thet she has nothing before 10pm... when at least 3 free tables are empty and one couple waiting for a table to be ready...? that's @ Grant's will never set foot there again and ended up at Carluccio's where the very busy staff still takes time to ask you if your day was nice!!

And please go to the Arden Hotel on Waterside opposite the theatre to at least have a drink that's THE expensive place in Stratford where staff are not only nice but food is good and on a sunny day you just want to stay the whole afternoon on there patio...Bliss.

Enjoy your time in Straford!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Continent69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Londoner98
I would like to thank you for your post following your stay at The Stratford.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay not only with us but in Stratford upon Avon, it is a lovely town to visit.
Jus tto let you know for future visits, reserve one of our superior or QStar rooms and robes and some niceities are placed in the fridge for your pleasure.
Once again thank you for your post.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £89 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing