We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wednesbury
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had our Wedding (Ceremony, Reception and Evening Party) at this hotel and the title explains it all. The organisation of the event was immaculate - nothing was left out of place. The two operations managers in charge of our event - Chris and Adrian - really went above and beyond the call of duty to make our day the most special in our lives. Nothing was too much trouble, they provided excellent service, made guests feel welcome and valued. The venue was amazingly setup, it was done in plenty of time and maintained well Rooms were clean, tidy, large and comfortable (I stayed in the honeymoon suite) but other guests with us had the same experience - superior rooms have complimentary fridges with budwieser, wine, waters and milk. Breakfast this morning was totally private for our event, with continental and cooked buffet breakfast with everything known for a breakfast around! I would give this experience a resounding 1000000000/1000000000 for everything which made our day truly memorable.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter because they are all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggyboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Baggyboy2011
WOW, I am so pleased you enjoyed your day, a wedding day truly is a magical experience and I am pleased that Adrian and Chris ensured that your day was a memorable one.
It is a pleasure to receive such comments and I will be sharing them with the team, I hope we see you on your first anniversary for your return visit.
Best Wishes from all of us here at The Stratford.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    736
    141
    33
    26
See reviews for
231
1,247
40
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May, booking last minute and got a reasonable deal, especially considering the location - a few minutes walking will get you into the town centre with no effort.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing seemed too big a task for them. Very quiet dinner atmosphere due to football final being on at the same time, but the food was tasty and the service faultless. Breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary but there's no waiting for food and it is all hot and restocked promptly so can't really complain.

Only downside was when I book a double I expect a double, not 2 twins pushed together! Is a bit of a shame when you've gone for a nice weekend away with your partner! If I do ever come here again, I will take steps to ensure I get what I book.
The room was quiet, and a decent size; the bathroom was clean; no other complaints about the room.

One other gripe was the £5/night parking charge: although this is cheaper than parking in town, I do feel that this isn't very fair and this may put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
DeanWinchester
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience and apologies for the couple of things that impacted your stay. In terms of the doubles, we do have zip and link rooms that make kingsize, this is becoming more popular in hotels however we do have standard doubles and please do request this should you return.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Nothing was left to chance! The room had wonderful amenities including nice pillows, linens and substantial bath towels on a heated rack. The room was a hip, updated style with plenty of space and very clean. It had a frig for our drinks and miscellany. We imagine this is a perfect business hotel as well as a leisure spot with free internet. We were able to let everyone know that we arrived safely. The service was terrific with a smooth check-in handled by a very polite professional. Breakfast was quite inclusive with hot and cold buffet choices, fruit, cereal and anything you could think of for a morning meal. Delicious! The location was excellent being within a short walk to the heart of downtown Stratford-Upon-Avon. The hotel had a lovely park-like area which one could enjoy a picnic lunch or just coffee and a newspaper when the weather permits. This was one of our favorite hotels on our entire 3 week journey through Great Britain. Engaging history in this fun village with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrapinTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Just got home from 2 nights away with my husband and we loved this hotel. Easy to find, well located and the decoration was gorgeous!! Very modern, very clean, very welcoming. Comfortable bed, nice duvet and pillows. One downside is being charged £5 per night for parking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
JAC2116
Thank you for your post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I agree, I stay in the hotel on a regular basis and I sleep like a baby!! Thanks for the 5/5 rating, it is always nice to read that people have enjoyed their stay.
Chris Steadman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Service at this hotel, was excellent. you dont really get that in the UK when you stay in hotels, but this is by far the best experience I have had. The only issue i did have, although its only minor was they got my title wrong. Its Mr Eneh and not Ms!!!!

All round, a fantastic stay and would recommend very highly....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnaemeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
nnaemeka
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and indeed that it was 'fantastic', sincere apologies over your title!!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Good, slightly tatty hotel, the carpets have seen better days & the bedroom windows are tiny. On the plus side the bedrooms were clean & the staff were very helpful. Breakfast is the usual buffet scrum, you have to make your own toast (always a challenge at that time of day) but the cooked breakfasts were good.
Handy for the town centre, only a 10 minute walk to the RSC & the river.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
JRRKent
Thank you for your review of The Stratford hotel.
Pleased that you enjoyed the overall experience at the hotel and I can confirm we are currently looking at replacing the hotel carpets to maintain the apperance of the rest of the hotel.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Have just spent a two day break in Stratford Upon Avon and The Stratford Hotel was an excellent choice.
The Hotel was modern, clean, the staff extremely attentive and the location of the hotel ideal to do all the Shakespeare tours or simply stroll through the town or by the river. There is a large car park for which there is a charge of £5.00 per day.
We chose to include breakfast in our deal and this proved a bargain. There was a hot and cold buffet to choose from with cereal, porridge, fruit, fruit drinks and the traditional bacon, sausages, hash browns, mushrooms with choice of scrambled, fried or poached eggs and as much tea and coffee as you want.
We decided to eat in the Quill Restaurant at the hotel on the first night and found the variety of choice and quality of food excellent. The wine was a little expensive though! We enjoyed our meal so much that we decided, rather than eat out the next evening, to eat in the hotel restaurant again and were not disappointed.
The town is only a 5-10 minute walk away and only a short car drive to Anne Hathaway's Cottage/Mary Arden's.
Would not hesitate returning to the Hotel or recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJSDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
PJSDorset
Thank you very much for such a ringing endorsement and that you are so happy to recommend us to your friends.
I was delighted in particular that you enjoyed your dinner at Quills, we have recently recruited a new head chef so I was very pleased that you enjoyed his meals. With us being so close to the town centre a lot of people are tempted to go and explore but after your post we hope more and more flood to Quills.
Once again, thank you for your post.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing