We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a lovely hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still a lovely hotel but...”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and it still offers really nice quality accomodation - in fact, i think that the twin room was even nicer than the double we had previously.
the communal areas are well presented and on the whole the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.
my only minor moan is that £5 parking charge payable - seems a bit much when the room rate is upwards of £100!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    738
    141
    33
    26
See reviews for
231
1,248
40
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here for one night in July. Very impressed by the quality of the room and communal areas. Room service prompt and efficient. Only gripes were the stuffy room on what was a really hot night ( fan suppied quickly to supplement the ineffective aircon ) and somewhat "cool" attitude of reception staff on arrival and departure. Do you really need to charge for the parking ??!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Billyboyg

Thank you for your recent review. I can only apologise for the air-conditioning issues experienced, this is certainly not usual and I can appreciate the discomfort caused. To ensure we provide a car parking facility with availability for all of our guests we charge a competitive fee for our town centre location. I do hope that despite the situation that arose we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Check in was smooth, friendly and informative. Our room was clean and well furnished. We had booked bed and breakfast and found the food at breakfast great albeit the coffee was a little weak.
All the staff worked incredibly hard to ensure that our stay was first class. They were friendly and professional dealing with us promptly and efficiently when arriving, ordering drinks/ food and answering queries.
We travelled as a couple and wanted a relaxing 2 days away and that was that was we got.
This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel or any of the Q hotels and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Manchesterblondie

I am delighted you had a great stay and were able to relax. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Stratford to break up our journey from Manchester to Devon.
The hotel was perfectly situated, just a short walk to the restaurant, shops and the theatre.
The hotel staff has ample parking, although it is disappointing that it is not free.
On arrival the reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Our room was lovely. Very pleasant furnishings;comfy bed with soft clean linen and a good sized TV. The tea tray was well thought out - with a plug socket close by so the kettle didn't need to be moved round the room to use.
The bathroom was very well appointed, with simple plumbing you could operate without a guide -book. So often I have been drowned by the shower whilst trying to run a bath!
Breakfast was taken in a lovely room and was very comprehensive.
A word for hoteliers everywhere - Vegetarians get very excited when they see veggie sausages on the breakfast menu, only to be disappointed by sausage shaped amalgams of reconstituted vegetables and uncooked rice. Please buy soya or even better - Quorn.

The hotel has lovely grounds, is well appointed and has courteous staff - what mote could you want?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Plum09

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am please to read you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the vegetarian sausages, I will review this with the chef.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

very nice hotel,

room- nicely decorated, comfortable bed, spacious, well-lit; ensuite bathroom good. ironing board, mini bar/fridge, hairdryer too.

breakfast buffet in the morning was very good also. had all the breakfast options you could think of.

we were late checking out (we were more like 1130) but we werent hassled to check out (officially it should be 11am check-out).

only issue is paying for car parking, really, it should be included when you're having to pay over £100 a night. but i understand given its central location, 5mins walk to the shops, 10mins to the river then i can certainly expect other non-hotel residents wanting to park. maybe the hotel should look at validating guests car park tickets....?

either way, would certainly recommend the stay to others and would look at this hotel again if i needed a stay in the region.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Iank

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay, thank you for your comments. With regards to the car parking, the charge is a competitive amount based on our location to ensure that there is availability for all of our guests, however we appreciate the feedback. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Lovely hotel, with lovely staff. Booked 4 rooms for our family to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. Had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. The staff were so helpful and accommodating. We had a great superior room with twin sinks. I really couldnt fault this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and stylish. Didn't see any children around which suited us as we wanted a "grown up" weekend away. Love the Q chain. Also stayed at Cheltenham Chase. We are going back in September because we loved it so much and we only live 16 miles from Stratford!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Elaine R

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at The Stratford. I am delighted you will be back.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.
Rooms are really comfortable and well equiped.
Breakfasts (and all other meals) very very good indeed.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough... and congratulations to the GM on such a well-run establishment!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyFoodie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Fussyfoodie5

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Stratford. Thank you for your comments, the team work hard to ensure we consistently deliver a high level of service to all our guests and I know they will appreciate your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing