We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room,location,restaurant and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great room,location,restaurant and staff”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We arrived 12pm on sat and the reception staff were very welcoming and pleasant. We were also pleased to hear we could have our room straight away. The room was very nicely decorated,comfy and roomy.It had all the little extras you would expect like a hairdryer,tea/coffee and toiletries but also an iron and ironing board as well as fridge and dressing gowns! The town centre is only a few minutes walk away which was great. We had prebooked a meal in the hotels restaurant which again had very friendly helpful staff and the food was gorgeous. We also eat in the restaurant the following morning for breakfast,it was very busy but the staff coped with it very well and still gave an excellent service. Their was a wide choice of food available including cooked english breakfast,fruit,cereals,pastries and cakes. Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay and would definatley recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flight52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Flight52

I am delighted that from arrival to your evening dining experience and then your breakfast the team ensured your break away was memorable. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    711
    134
    30
    25
See reviews for
222
1,203
40
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed in room 205 for a one night break. Everything about this hotel was perfect. Rooms lovely, clean and everything works. Staff just could not have been more helpful it is a pleasure to have someone attentively helping from check in, room service and phoning reception for a query and of course check out. We have stayed in many hotels and are members of the Breakaway club with Q. This hotel shows how things should be done.. Well done ...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Trussia

I am delighted that you enjoyed your break away and you chose The Stratford Hotel. Thank you for a fantastic review.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at The Stratford on Sat 11th Feb when it was freezing cold outside, but lovely and warm in the hotel. the room was clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and full of smiles and very helpful. We dined in the restaurant that night - at very short notice - and they managed to find us a table. the food was delicious and they had a great deal on which made it even more value for money.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Joanne D

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us at The Stratford. Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your dining experience I know the team will appreciate the comments.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was a bit of a luxury trip for us as we normally do cheaper b&bs when we go away. So we were delighted with our room and the service. It was almost spooky mind-reading at some points when just as I was pondering the absence of a second bath robe, there was a knock on the door and it was delivered! Brilliantly located very closely to the train station and a short walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our room in the Stratford was extremely comfortable although the walls were a bit thin! There was no turn down service and in the morning there were long queues for the breakfast and for checking out so we missed out on breakfast! The night before we had a meal in the restaurant but the food was disappointing and the service could have been a bit sharper. We were comparing this with the lunch we had the next day at the Lamb in the town which was excellent and also good value.

Room Tip: Ask for Feature Guestroom on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyaPopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
KatyaPopovic

Thank you for your feedback and review. I am sorry to learn that at breakfast time there was a wait for a table which led to you missing out on breakfast, we would certainly have been happy to extend your checkout to ensure that you could leave in a relaxed manner. I will ensure our restaurant manager is aware of the feedback with regards to dinner and that this can be monitored going forward. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and as a gesture of goodwill I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our QStar rooms, subject to availability.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My beautiful girlfriend and I recently spent an early Valentines weekend in Stratford upon Avon, and chose to stay at The Stratford Hotel. We had a wonderful little weekend break, and the hotel turned out to be a great choice.

The staff were friendly, attentitive, and always helpful. The hotel itself is modern and clean, with decent sized en-suite rooms, and it lays on a lovely breakfast of fresh and local produce. It is also in a decent location, only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. The hotel also has ample parking (£5 per night) and you can leave your car there for the rest of the day after you check out which was very helpful.

As for Stratford upon Avon, it is a beautiful little town with lots of historic buildings, plenty of places to eat and drink (Cafe Pasta being a great Italian), and is very easy to get around and explore. If you get a chance, seeing a one of Shakespear's plays at the Royal Theatre is an obvious choice. Aside from that, we went on an enjoyable town walk hosted by a very knowledgable and enthusiastic tour guide (turn up at the Royal Theatre at 2pm on Sat or Sun and the tour guide will be waiting for you to turn up and join in on the walk, and costs £6). We also visited the butterfly house across the river Avon which was a lot of fun and a good way to spend an hour.

All in all, we had a great stay in Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
TBakes

Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay at The Stratford Hotel. I am delighted that we have been able to create lasting memories for a special weekend.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel was excellent , I stopped here for three nights 6-8 february 2012, Th only thing i could fault really was the quality of the food in the restaurant at night , it was overpriced i feel for the quality i received, On one occasion i had to send my starter back , which was salted cod as the middle was stone cold , However the staff here were excellent , it was taken back swiftly and replaced with a fresh one plus a free pint from the bar , so cant moan too much , all in all very happy with my stay , and i would definately use this chain again .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCartledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Paulcartledge

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to learn there was an issue with the temperature of your starter, although I am pleased that this was resolved immediately. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing