We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, few things to improve to be a 4* stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, few things to improve to be a 4* stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nice, modern hotel in good location within easy walking distance of the town centre and theatres. Arrived too late to eat before we attended a performance at the Courtyard Theatre which finished at 10.45pm. Food service at the hotel ended at 11pm and we did not get back in time. Only place still open was a fish & chip shop just down the road! I would have expected a 4* luxury hotel to have food available (even if only room service) after 11pm. Good sized, comfortable room with a large, well equipped bathroom and king bed. Excellent breakfast buffet and friendly service. Having to pay for parking was a bit much as the room rate was already quite expensive. "Gym" is very basic and stuffy but if you have time (we didn't) you can use the facilities at their sister hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Al500

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our room service offering is 24 hours a day however we do only provide light refreshments i.e. sandwiches after 11pm. This is standard for a 4 star hotel, however I do understand your disappointment if this had not been anticipated. We do ensure our car parking rates remain competitive locally through regular price point checks being a town centre hotel. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    727
    137
    32
    25
See reviews for
228
1,231
40
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Fantastic stay,we were even given a free room upgrade!! Brilliant rooms, service and breakfast. Slightly disappointed we had to pay for hotel parking though! Taxi service to the town was quick and easy. Def recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairTimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Clairtimms

Thank you for your review; I am delighted you enjoyed the upgraded room!

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, towels and bedding and room were clean, the breakfast was excellent
all the staff were very good and helpful
Its a bit of a walk to the centre of Stratford for the Theatre, if you dont use your car,
but parking it at the hotel was handy..
This hotel was updated 4 years ago and the rooms are good, but halls and passageways
were a bit old.and jaded.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldjazzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Oldjazzfan

Thank you for your review. We generally recommend that we are a 10 minute walk from the river through the town centre. It is a real benefit not to have to drive into the town centre and pay the parking fees associated with this whilst relaxing on a break away. Thank you for your kind comments and feedback.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed for one night in this well located hotel. Staff were very helpfull and ticked all the boxes.
If you are looking for somewhere that gives you full support in comfort this is your place, if your looking for a place with character and ambience then you probably need to look elsewhere, either way you would still not be unhappy with the Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Brian P

Being a contemporary hotel recently refurbished to a very high standard we don't have the Shakespearean feel that some of the other older properties may have. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We normally go to London and take in a show this time of year but due to the (Keep out of London Message!!)we decided to go to Stratford Upon Avon instead and it was a brilliant decision.We stayed for two nights at the Stratford Hotel and couldn't fault it. Lovely large room, spotlessly clean, infact the whole hotel was spotless. All staff were cheerful and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.The breakfast on both mornings was excellent with more than enough choice of whatever you fancied, I ordered poached eggs  and they were with me in minutes even though it was extremely busy.This is a lovely spotless, well  run hotel only five minutes walk from all the attractions in Stratford Upon Avon which is another story.At the end of the day you get what you pay for and this hotel is well worth the money. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel away from the road and night club, room 208 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshmanEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Welshmaneastanglia

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the town.

Annie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Can't find much to criticise about this hotel EXCEPT you have to pay for car parking. It's only £5 but even so..... The perk is that you can leave your car there after you have checked out so if you want to spend the day strolling round town and come back later - you can. Also, as in loads of other hotels, they don't give you enough milk in the room for your cuppa. I suspect they do it so you have order from room service. However, the receptionist was happy to give me a little jug of fresh milk when I ask for it. On the plus side you do get a little fridge, not a minibar, which is really useful. Huge beds, lovely shower, quiet rooms. Staff very pleasant too. Breakfast one of the nicest I've had anywhere. All in all well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wekender2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Wekender2012

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please be assured we are happy to replenish milk on request should any guest require more through out their stay. We do ensure that we remain competitive locally with our car parking charges which we monitor regularly. I am delighedt that you enjoyed your stay and do hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Six of us stayed at the hotel for two nights and from the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel extremely welcome. The staff we very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean, spacious and modern. The ambiance in both the hotel bar and restaurant were exceptional, as was the food; we were luckily enough to enjoy breakfast, snacks and an evening meal. The grounds of the hotel proved a lovely place to sit and relax during the warm Summer mornings and evenings. An excellent location for a nice stroll into Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team-4D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Team-4D

I am delighted that you were able to make the most of the grounds and the restaurant and bar. Thank you for your kind comments.

kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing