We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
St Annes on Sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable four night stay at this outstanding hotel. The hotel is was placed just five minutes from the shops, restaurants and the theatre. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very very clean, well maintained, we stayed in a superior twin which had everything you need to enjoy your stay and offered plenty of room to spread out and relax. The breakfasts were most enjoyable and plentiful. We also dined in the restaurant on one evening which again proved an enjoyable experience.
We can recommend this hotel and yes we will be back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LythamStAnnesonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Lythamstanneonsea

I am delighted that you had such a great stay at The Stratford and thank you for your review.

Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    705
    130
    29
    23
See reviews for
219
1,189
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel and have nothing to negative to say about my stay at all. The hotel was modern, clean and decorated in a contemporary style. The rooms were big enough in size and were well laid out, with plenty of mirrors & decent lighting. The beds were comfortable & the en suite pristine. The staff were friendly and attentive especially at breakfast and the buffet, whilst not anything out of the ordinary, was cooked well and served warm. The location is ideal with only a short stroll into the centre of town for shopping, sightseeing and visiting the many nearby pubs and restaurants. The car parking charge is well publicised on the hotel web site so should not come as a surprise to anyone. Personally I think the fee is reasonable and have come across many other hotels who also levy a similar charge. For those who see this as a negative then it may be worth knowing that the train station is almost right next door to the hotel. Overall I thought this hotel provided excellent value for the money we paid & I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallworld13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Smallworld13

Thank you for pointing out how competitive we are with the car parking charge. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location and hope to welcome you back soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Week end Stay was relaxed. 2 minutes walk from station. 5 min walk into town. Breakfasts were excellent and relaxing. Evening meal was enjoyed. Staff attentive but not over familiar. Costs well within our budget. Our second visit and will visit again. Very enjoyable stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Larry P

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and are looking to return. Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just returned from 2 day weekend break at this hotel, nice modern rooms with good en suite bathroom and queen size beds that were very comfortable,breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice.Staff were very friendly/helpful especially the waiting staff at breakfast, only 5 mins walk into town, if your eating out plenty of choice would recommend Edward Moons or if pub food The Garrick Inn (oldest pub in stratford)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Cliff W

Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed overnight at The Stratford and, overall, enjoyed the stay.

We were upgraded (without asking) from a Standard Room to a Feature Room, which was great - it was large and comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and the fresh milk (not cartons) and free drinks is always a nice touch.

Car parking costs £5/day, which I didnt like. It seems like a cynical attempt to extract a bit more money out of you. If you're paying over £100/night for a room, I think the car parking should be free. By all means charge non-guests, but it seems very 'budget hotel'.

The hotel was centrally-located and only a short walk into town - a bonus. The gardens didn't seem like a relaxing place to spend any time as the site is on the corner of two main roads but overall the hotel seemed very well kept.

My major gripe with this hotel was the quality of the breakfast - it was awful. The cooked options were either swimming in oil or looked pale and barely edible. They were clearly cheap, bulk purchased items and not up to the standard I'd expect from a 4-start hotel. The cold meat and fruit selected was small and unappealing and I think the 'homemade' muesli was straight from the Alpen box. I've honestly had better breakfasts at cheap-and-cheerful budget hotels. Again, when you're spending a lot of money for a hotel room, the breakfast should match. It falls very, very short here. The whole experience seemed to be an exercise in cost-cutting.

The breakfast was a disappointing end to a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeesterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
MeeesterB

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast on this occasion. Please be assured we will monitor this and correct any issues identified. Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the rest of your stay.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Hotel booked using Q Hotels website.

This was a two night weekend stay.

Reception:

Very speedy and efficient. Didn't need to use them other that checking in and out but they were great at both aspects.

Parking:

Secure parking is provided but at a cost of £5 per night. Why this is not absorbed into the cost of the room I will never know. Its a rip off to be honest because there is nowhere else to park. I'm sure there is some random management excuse to why this is chargeable?

Room:

We opted for a "Double guest room" which was adequate for our needs. The rooms are not big but are well furnished with good quality furniture. There is the odd poor finish here and there but on the whole, pretty good.

Bar:

The bar area is comfortable and quiet however the prices at the bar are overpriced, again I'm sure management would say that this is competitive with the area blah blah blah.

Breakfast:

We didn't stay for any other meal but breakfast. We got in there quite early so there were no queues for food. Staff were attentive and didn't seem too hassled until the place was full. Food quality was good but not hot enough for my liking.

Location:

Excellent. Within nice strolling distance to town, big plus point for us.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swordfishradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Swordfishradio

Thank you for your detailed review. I do hope on your next visit you will have the opportunity to dine with us.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Having spent the night before in the Malmaison in Leeds I knew the Stratford was up against a tough challenge. However a recent guide in the Which magazine had scored the Q chain highly so we were looking forward to our 2 night stay.
Good :
Nice welcome, great location 5-10 mins walk to centre, lovely room and on site parking (charged though).
Opportunities :
Found the bar area and general areas downstairs very bland and characterless.
Breakfast fine but long queues and very small buffet area which was over crowded on both days. An over flow room was in use but really needed its own food area. Staff hassled.
Expensive at £135 B&B but I guess location accounts for much of this. Didn't quite live up to expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colonel-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Colonel-Chris

Thank you for your feedback. We do ensure that our restaurant is open from 7.30am on a weekend and 7am during the week to ensure that all guests are able to avoid the busy period for a more leisurely experience, thank you for your suggestions we will ensure these are reviewed in line with our business needs.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing