We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay with one unfortunate minus point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent stay with one unfortunate minus point”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just back from a two night stay which ended very enjoyably. Unfortunately, my first night was less than restful: the windows of my first-floor room were directly above several large air-conditioning outlets serving the ground floor, and once I'd turned off the TV and settled down to sleep I discovered that the noise from them was amazingly loud. I actually got up and looked out, expecting to see a large lorry or similar in the adjacent car park with its engine running, before I discovered the real source.

In the morning, the pleasant chap on reception was sympathetic enough and offered me a room change. I was going to be out all day, so as instructed, I left my packed bag in the room for him to move for me.

When I arrived back at just past 1am, the desk staff were baffled by my request for my new room details: they knew nothing about it. It took three people around fifteen minutes to sort it all out, but eventually I went off to an excellent - and splendidly quiet - sleep. So the "sleep quality" rating below applies to only the first of my two nights.

As it happens, I was in a good mood and perfectly happy to wait while all this was done. But if I hadn't been, or had been particularly tired, my impression of the hotel would not have been anything like so positive.

All that apart, I enjoyed the place, the service, the decor, the size of the room(s) and the food. And the location is splendid.

Room Tip: Make a point of asking if your room overlooks the ground floor air conditioning units. And if it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert-Coules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Bert-Coules

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry about the disturbance, I have to be honest it is not something that has been brought to my attention before so I will have this investigated further. I am disappointed our communication was not as would be expected and I would thank you for your undoubted patience at that time of night. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel despite this situation.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    704
    129
    29
    23
See reviews for
219
1,186
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the room in terms of space and decoration. We chose this room for its location - a mere 5 minute walk to the centre. The breakfast whilst ample was ok, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would I go there again, perhaps not. My preference would be for something smaller and a little more intimate

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple_Basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Purple_Basil

I am delighted that you were impressed by the room size! Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here on the 2/Sept/2013 and booked last minute at a cost of £110 inc breakfast and parking (£5). The hotel is quite impressive, clean and well decorated. Our room was stylish with enough room for the two of us and included a table and chairs, iron & ironing board, fridge and tea / coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and modern with a good powerful shower and some nice complimentary toiletries
Breakfast was very nice, there was a choice of fully cooked (buffet style), cereals, fruit & continental and the service was very friendly.
If your looking for somewhere to stay as a treat I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Flep

Thank you for your recommendation. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just arrived home after a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. The room was perfect, very large and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent, a large selection to suit all tastes. All the staff were friendly and polite. Just a 5 minute walk from the town and all its amenities. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Julie H

Fab review thank you! See you on your next visit.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having stayed in this hotel before and having had a good experience I decided to book for a second stay on line. Not remembering its name but knowing it was a Q hotel I made my booking. On arrival I found that I had booked into the Stratford Manor which is out of town. We expressly wanted to be able to walk to the theatre so this did not suit us at all. Whilst we were accommodated in the Stratford quite politely, it did take a couple of phone calls and we were told we were lucky to gain the last double. We were also asked to pay £10 more which I did feel slightly peeved about. Am I being unreasonable? Surely Q hotels should spell out the distinction between these 2 hotel on their direct booking web site more clearly and honour the price we originally booked the room for.

That saying the rooms are comfortable and well presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Ruth J

Thank you for your feedback. We do detail on our web sites the difference in both location and hotel style, being in the town centre the rooms do differ in price. I am sorry that this wasn't made clear that the time. I do hope that you were able to enjoy your visit despite the initial situation.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very impressed
Initially slightly disappointed in that we'd booked by internet and asked (by internet) for a walk-in shower (wife has walking difficulties); 6 days later received a very apologetic call from the hotel - all such rooms had been requested and allocated, and they'd only just received our request from the intermediary agent - they'd had the bath side measured, 22 inches, had a step available and detachable seat, etc - we said we'd manage
But room was very good, and staff were extremely efficient and friendly
Hotel warns that late weekend breakfasts can get very busy - it was, but the staff on duty were "spot on" in terms of attentiveness and professionalism, and the breakfast range was excellent
Other hotels can learn from this one!

Room Tip: We had room 222, son and daughter-in-law had 214 - both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
tomwx

I am delighted that the team cared for your needs and you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Five of us travelled to Stratford for a weekend and found the hotel to be excellent. I had stayed there 5 years ago and it was just as good as it was then. All of the staff that we met were very friendly, more than you normally get at larger hotels. The whole hotel was comfortable, breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and good fresh food and quick service even though the dining room was full. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect as it took 5 minutes to walk to the heart of town but it was quiet so there was no disturbances at night. We would all definitely stay there again if visiting the area and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We needed three rooms for our trip and all of them were of a similar style and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Maureen W

Thanks for your review, look forward to seeing you next trip!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing