We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay, made so by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay, made so by the staff”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our first impressions were doubtful that we had booked a cosy place for a winter long weekend but this was soon dispelled by the warm welcome and wonderful rooms. Despite it being very busy with a conference or possibly 2 and then a wedding on the Saturday, we found all the staff so friendly, the rooms brilliantly sound-proofed and comfy places to sit with a drink or newspaper. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with so much choice, and dinner too. The bedrooms were huge and very comfortable and the bathroom products gorgeous. But what really makes this place is the staff who could not have more helpful and friendly, however busy, nothing was too much trouble.

If I have any criticism it would be that the bedroom temperatures are set too high at 23* and would always default to that however many times you turned it down or off. And I object to paying £5 a day to park a car there as a paying guest, fair enough for people visiting for dinner or for the day I suppose but not for paying guests.

Room Tip: The superior twin room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
MrsPF

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Stratford and the team loked after you well.

Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    738
    141
    33
    27
See reviews for
233
1,249
40
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an evening in Stratford on a Friday in February. We were really impressed, the hotel was easy to find and the car parking easy. Check in was really slick and the room was well kitted out. We had a drink in the bar which was good, as was breakfast the following day. Highly recommended for a stay close to the town centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
ninjakitty

Brilliant review, so pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your stay!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

we stop on the 16 feb. very warm welcome. we were early so eat in the bar. food very nice and fresh. check in is 3 but they got r room ready and was in by 2.
booked top room. room 200. very nice. loads of room. eat in restaurant on the night. food was very good. good selection of wine. staff could not do enough for us. especially douglas.
in all very relaxing night away. definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darkes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Darkes28

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a Quills tripadvisor page too should you have time to post about the food there it would be appreciated.

Thanks for your fab review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 day trip to The Stratford with 2 other couples. Although the hotel was chosen for its car parking and TA reviews we were all impressed with the level of customer -care which exceeded all of our expectations . The reception staff (Jason and Kelly ) require particular mention but the same attention to detail was evident everywhere from the obliging restaurant staff through to the Geordie caretaker. The rooms were of a high standard again with nice little touches like complimentary water in the fridge. The breakfast buffet was extensive with additional choices like poached eggs available. My one tip would be to park your car for the duration of your trip as it would be of little use to you in the town centre where everything moves at the pace of the canal/river barges!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Norwichnigel

I am so pelased we exceeded expectations, Jason and Kelly are delighted with their mention!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We always visit this hotel in feb to celebrate our birthdays. The location of this hotel is great within walking distance to the town and retail park.
we had a superior room which offers more space the room was immaculate and exceptional clean which is what you want.
all the staff are very friendly and helpful.jason on reception was great very cheery and helpful..thanks for the birthday chocs!
ewe have found everything we need at this hotel to make a great base for our yearly weekend away

see you all next year!

Room Tip: Superior offers more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Littleboo1

See you next year! Thank you for your loyalty!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Spent two lovely nights here - great location for all the restaurants and attractions in the town - all in easy walking distance!

The room itself was a standard double and was cosy - perfect for this time of year but might feel a little claustrophobic in the summer as it had the sloped roof... However we felt extremely comfortable and didn't want for anything - in fact, having a fridge and a safe was an added bonus! Bed was comfy, lots of pillows which is great as I normally have to ask for an extra one... Room was very clean, bathroom was a real high point... Spotless and modern, the power shower was glorious after a day out sightseeing in the rain!

Breakfast was also fabulous - great selection - we stuck to the normal offerings although others were ordering from the extras menu and it all looked fab! A lovely selection of pastries as well as the full English works - and fruit - and yoghurt- and toast - and juices galore!! Tea and coffee was replenished and the breakfast staff really are delightful - Douglas and another gentleman in particular seemed genuinely interested in our plans and were really helpful! Everyone was smiling and thoughtful and considerate - couldn't do enough for you regardless of it being early morning!!

Car park was £5 a night which was made very clear - we didn't touch the car for two days as we walked everywhere so definitely didn't mind paying to have it safely tucked away (right outside our window as it happened!)

Overall we were really impressed - location, great room, friendly staff, lovely breakfast - couldn't ask for anything more! Would love to come back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GStapes1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
GStapes1990

Fantastic comments thank you. Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have just a wonderful 4 nights at The Stratford which couldn't be better placed for the centre of town. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and polite. Would have given a 5* rating had we not had to wait 45 minutes for a bar meal on our first night. Despite this would stay again at the hotel but would we eat in ????

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Christopher C

Thanks for the recommendation.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,775 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing